We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible stay, Non-trustworthy” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fortune House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Fortune House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fortune House Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   185 SE 14 Terrace, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%
Ranked #94 of 130 Hotels in Miami
UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Horrible stay, Non-trustworthy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Nice rooms, crazy and aggressive staffs, total discomfort, overpriced and hidden charges – Avoid this hotel and avoid nightmares.

The staffs are un-helpful, only duffer girls, make severe mistakes in reservations and repeatedly. You have serious threats to your stay at this hotel (search for my website specially made for this hotel. Search by name of this hotel). They threat for police if you don’t change room. I will never go again. Peace of mind is more important than anything else.

There are also several hidden charges. I paid more than $200 per night while the final price was shown $159 per night on Expedia. So you will always have to pay $50 to $100 per day extra for different mandatory stuffs that you never enjoy. I am going to charge back for damages and sufferings.

I didn’t understand first, why this hotel has got just 111 good reviews out of 211 and 100 negative reviews on Trip Advisor. It was remarkably half of the visitors who had bad experiences and majority of them had terrible experiences. But now I understand the reviewers completely.

Hotel is big but breakfast room is very small. A/C in restaurant is too cold and staffs don't agree to change temperature as they have manager's order. We got sick. Breakfast has no variation at all. So we had 11 days exactly same things or less to eat. Tea, milk etc with free breakfast need to be paid extra. Only water is free (strange).

Internet was much irritating as every 1-2 hour I needed to login. So you can't receive emails while sleeping and also can't use live help or you can’t receive calls if you use skype. Internet was also below the average speed.

You can't stay there even 5 minutes as they will bother you to move on. Even for pick-up or drop off they will ask you $7 every time if you take longer than 1 minute at their lawn. And mind you, you must pay everytime you come.

Reservation staff named Bruna forgot to extend my room and next day I heard that for 1 day I will have to go somewhere else as the hotel was fully booked for a wedding. They could have notified so that people who are for longer period could keep in mind. We were sent to some very bad one manned hotel and the Girl Thailmi reserved the room by that hotel on wrong date (one day earlier). So we faced surprices because that hotel was also fully book. the receptionist at that hotel after my requests managed one room. When came back to Fortune House, got worse room until I objected. We had to pull-up our luggage (4 suitcases) ourselves because nobody helped for 1 hour. Flight got cancelled due to Sandy and extended the stay but next day heard that the staff (Victor) again forgot to extend rooms. They compelled to go out or go to worse room. Bruna Threatened for Police if we don't leave the room because owner was coming to stay in that room (??). It was really terrible. If you want to 'enjoy' your Miami, don't go here.

Now I understand why more than half of reviews (112) on Tripadvisor are negative.
I would give -10 if it was possible. Except room there was nothing that was honest or professional. We lost 4 days in changing rooms every time. Staffs threatened for police and compelled to change rooms. 3 times rooms were not extended and we got problems. This is really a mis-managed hotel. There is nothing good to count. And what can I do with room if I can't stay there peacefully.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    89
    47
    40
    59
See reviews for
118
52
18
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I had my reservations about this place, but it was a positive experience. First, let's get a few things out of the way, we went on a short weekend cruise for the weekend, and stayed here a few days as a staycation with some friends. Whatever the check in time is, 2 or 3, they mean it, our room was not ready before 3, which was actually kind of annoying. We went to south beach, had lunch, did a little shopping, came back, and that room still wasn't ready. And $20 for valet - yes I get it, going rate in Miami, still super annoying.

Anyway, we finally get into the room, and it was nice. We had one smaller room, and one larger room, both with their own bathrooms, main room with TV, full kitchen, and little dinning table. The view was gorgeous, overlooking the water and the Four Seasons hotel next door. Location was nice, quick trip over to South Beach, not too many restaurants in the immediate area (that we wanted to eat at), but overall good experience. Really nice gym and pool area - the hotel is really a condo with residents, but I guess they rent out rooms as well. Front desk staff very helpful, I would stay here again, it was a good experience.

There was even a washer/dryer in the unit, and a restaurant downstairs, our rate included a free breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Get a room with a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in two 2 bedroom apartments both were different but really good, the location is great just walk up and round the corner across the road and the free rail is there that takes you around a lot of Miami.
There were 8 of us in ages from 23 to 80 and everyone enjoyed our stay there, if you don't want to stay on South Beach this is a great option would stay again, breakfast we only had 2 mornings but it was fine.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortola
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The Hotel itself is in a great location its just a massive shame the staff seem to have a probem with even talking to somebody in a manner in which they deserve. Even to ask the smallest of questions they would get very defensive and in general make you feel like you should leave them alone because you are annoying them. Also after walking outside to get a taxi but realising i had left my key on the counter walked back in to find them talking about me and laughing at me me. Very unprofessional and would actually deter me from returning even though the rooms themselves where very nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Facilities and location ware very good. The hotel is very comfortable. We lived in 2 bedrooms suite. It was very comfortable. But breakfast is too poor. We preferred to have our breakfast at our room. Breakfast, I mean quality and quantity of food and coffee. Not included breakfast is much better. The kitchen equipment was great incl. microwave, coffee machine and etc. But swimming pool area is very strange. The swimming pool is in the open roof area. It was raining that day, when the funderstorm began we tried to get into the, but we couldn't open it. It was locked. Thank God there was a man in the Gym, he saw us and open the door.

Room Tip: Two-Bedroom Suite with Bay View was vey comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevilla
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Really comfortable, clean and modern. Highly recommendable. We had an extra fifth person staying and they didn't charge extra. Breakfast is pretty good although they kept running out of plates and so we had to wait a while. Reception staff were very friendly.

Room Tip: Bay-view was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We booked for two nights at Fortune House having read some reviews that left us a little concerned about the way we would be treated by staff......

Not sure if they have changed the staff or worked with them to improve the customer relations because we had the nicest people dealing with us from the valet, concierge to the desk clerks. They were attentive, helpful and really made us welcome.

We booked a one bedroom apartment and were lucky to be upgraded to a 2 bedroom on 18th floor with views of the city and bay. The rooms are amazing, comfortable and well under priced at $117 USD (however, be aware of the hidden cost for the health club etc which are compulsory add-ons that increase the cost by approx $20 daily). We had just come from an earlier awful lodging in Orlando so this was a place to recover and relax in space and comfort. The bedding was great and so nice to have a full kitchen.

Breakfast is included and this consisted of fruit, juice, coffee, cereals, toast and eggs - more than adequate and again served by extremely friendly staff.

The pool and fitness area are excellent and given that you are paying for them - enjoy.

Room Tip: Be nice and you may get an upgrade - we always treat people how we expect to be treated and perhaps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fortune House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortune House Hotel

Address: 185 SE 14 Terrace, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 130 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fortune House Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fortune House Hotel is located on Brickell Ave in downtown Miami at the center of the financial district and offers fully furnished apartments to our guests available on a daily, weekly and monthly basis. Designed as an executive retreat as well as a family-friendly property, Fortune House Hotel provides its residents all the comforts of a home-away-from-home. Each apartment has a full-size kitchen, living area, bathroom, bedroom, walk-in closet, balcony, and washer and dryer in the unit, thus making it extremely comfortable for short or long term guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Fortune House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortune Hotel Miami
Fortune House Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fortune House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.