We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fortune House Luxury Apartment Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fortune House Luxury Apartment Suites to your Saves list
Fortune House Luxury Apartment Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   185 SE 14 Terrace, Miami, FL 33131 (Formerly Fortune House Hotel) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #55 of 115 Hotels in Miami
Tortola
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Shame....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The Hotel itself is in a great location its just a massive shame the staff seem to have a probem with even talking to somebody in a manner in which they deserve. Even to ask the smallest of questions they would get very defensive and in general make you feel like you should leave them alone because you are annoying them. Also after walking outside to get a taxi but realising i had left my key on the counter walked back in to find them talking about me and laughing at me me. Very unprofessional and would actually deter me from returning even though the rooms themselves where very nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    128
    57
    44
    65
See reviews for
159
60
23
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Facilities and location ware very good. The hotel is very comfortable. We lived in 2 bedrooms suite. It was very comfortable. But breakfast is too poor. We preferred to have our breakfast at our room. Breakfast, I mean quality and quantity of food and coffee. Not included breakfast is much better. The kitchen equipment was great incl. microwave, coffee machine and etc. But swimming pool area is very strange. The swimming pool is in the open roof area. It was raining that day, when the funderstorm began we tried to get into the, but we couldn't open it. It was locked. Thank God there was a man in the Gym, he saw us and open the door.

Room Tip: Two-Bedroom Suite with Bay View was vey comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevilla
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Really comfortable, clean and modern. Highly recommendable. We had an extra fifth person staying and they didn't charge extra. Breakfast is pretty good although they kept running out of plates and so we had to wait a while. Reception staff were very friendly.

Room Tip: Bay-view was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
216 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We booked for two nights at Fortune House having read some reviews that left us a little concerned about the way we would be treated by staff......

Not sure if they have changed the staff or worked with them to improve the customer relations because we had the nicest people dealing with us from the valet, concierge to the desk clerks. They were attentive, helpful and really made us welcome.

We booked a one bedroom apartment and were lucky to be upgraded to a 2 bedroom on 18th floor with views of the city and bay. The rooms are amazing, comfortable and well under priced at $117 USD (however, be aware of the hidden cost for the health club etc which are compulsory add-ons that increase the cost by approx $20 daily). We had just come from an earlier awful lodging in Orlando so this was a place to recover and relax in space and comfort. The bedding was great and so nice to have a full kitchen.

Breakfast is included and this consisted of fruit, juice, coffee, cereals, toast and eggs - more than adequate and again served by extremely friendly staff.

The pool and fitness area are excellent and given that you are paying for them - enjoy.

Room Tip: Be nice and you may get an upgrade - we always treat people how we expect to be treated and perhaps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We pulled up in a taxi to a beautiful building in a great location. We entered a beautiful lobby and were greeted by friendly staff.
When we entered our two bedroom 'suite' on the twenty-first floor the two positive things were plenty of space and a pleasant view from the balcony. Also, although we used neither the gym and pool they looked very good.
The turn-offs were many......cigarette burn marks on the kitchen counter, rust marks on the fridge, a very old stove, ratty old end-tables in the master bedroom, after asking five times for chairs for the balcony we got old small, wooden folding chairs which we never used, one toilet didn't flush properly, old tv's, drain plugs not compatible with the sinks. There could be some info on tours and things to do locally. Upon reading other reviews it seems there was a breakfast included in the price which we didn't know about. This should be checked upon making reservations.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The hotel staff was very rude. They were not very accomodating when an incident arose. They became very defensive and decided to basically ignore us and become passive agressive. They ruined our Miami Trip...

The hotel is situated in a wonderful location. The building itself is nice. However, the rooms contained old mattresses. They were very shoddy and just old.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Fortune House was a very nice place to stay at, for the most part, while visiting Miami. The staff were very professional and helpful, even though we did not get the room we originally booked. There was one particular staff member named Pamela who did everything in her power to make sure our stay was the best that it could be and even helped us out with how to get to local attractions. The 2 bedroom condo we ended up in was clean and nicely decorated and had a decent view of the city. My only complaints about the condo was that at times the water in the sink and shower did not get hot enough and there was only one little garbage can throughout the whole condo.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Aloft Miami Brickell
Aloft Miami Brickell
#48 of 115 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 254 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Miami
Hyatt Regency Miami
#49 of 115 in Miami
3.5 of 5 stars 1,968 reviews
Conrad Miami
#8 of 115 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Downtown
YVE Hotel Miami
YVE Hotel Miami
#38 of 115 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 1,203 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Miami
JW Marriott Miami
#24 of 115 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortune House Luxury Apartment Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortune House Luxury Apartment Suites

Address: 185 SE 14 Terrace, Miami, FL 33131 (Formerly Fortune House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#40 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fortune House Luxury Apartment Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fortune House Hotel is located on Brickell Ave in downtown Miami at the center of the financial district and offers fully furnished apartments to our guests available on a daily, weekly and monthly basis. Designed as an executive retreat as well as a family-friendly property, Fortune House Hotel provides its residents all the comforts of a home-away-from-home. Each apartment has a full-size kitchen, living area, bathroom, bedroom, walk-in closet, balcony, and washer and dryer in the unit, thus making it extremely comfortable for short or long term guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Fortune House Luxury Apartment Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortune Hotel Miami
Fortune House Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fortune House Luxury Apartment Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.