We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fortune House Luxury Apartment Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fortune House Luxury Apartment Suites to your Saves list
Fortune House Luxury Apartment Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   185 SE 14 Terrace, Miami, FL 33131 (Formerly Fortune House Hotel) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #55 of 113 Hotels in Miami
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

I booked the Fortune House hotel for a one night stay because I was going on a cruise the next day. The Condo was so clean and cozy and everything from the flat screen to the bed to the furniture was updated. My son who is 2 years old just loved the place. The staff was accomodating and friendly and the breakfast buffet in the morning was spot on. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 29th Floor. Really great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    122
    57
    44
    63
See reviews for
155
59
23
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walkerton, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

location was horrible but the price and rooms were great

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HERSHEY, PA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

We stayed here for a month bc it was a good rate for a monthly stay. My husband had 1 last rotation at the hospital before we moved to a new city for his job. We chose this place bc we have a baby and needed a place with a kitchen, washer and dryer and some space since Id be home with baby most of the time. Its a decent location. It is a little further down brickell, away from Mary Brickell Village and all the action, but its still a quick 10 minute walk. Right next to the metro mover which will take you into downtown, bayside marketplace and marina, American Airlines area, etc.

First the good: they have a great front desk staff and reservations receptionists. They were VERY respectful and helpful, and TRIED to accomodate my discerning taste. But their hotel is just not equipped to do so (okay Ill wait till the cons). Its also nicely equipped with everything you need (dishes, pots/pans, towels linens -but I used my own comforter). There are balconies so you can step out for fresh air, and its on Brickell right by the water so if you get an east facing room you have a spectacular view (but you ave to pay a lot more for those rooms). Brickell is a great location for business with many restaurants that deliver or you can walk to easily.

Cons:
Very old and outdated units (walls, finishings, flooring, ceiling, bathroom and kitchen VERY OLD and unappealling.) Very old also translates to mold in bathrooms, peeling paint, peeling counters, and rusty toilets and appliances. The dryer does not work. I moved to a different room and it didnt work in either room.

The rooms are all different, so its very inconsistent! The first room i was in was NASTY and not maintained at all. The second room was the same exact floor plan but it was a bit fresher, had better furnishings, and laminate wood floors, and fresh paint so it looked better. But the kitchen and bathroom was still really old. Both rooms I saw insects. The second was better; didnt see a roach but saw some silver fish and little black things (baby roach?) Thats enough for me to never stay again. I hate insects. Pets are allowed so you never know what those stains are on the couch or mattress.
The bathroom had no towel bar or shelved to palce our wet towels on- very inconvenient! Theres one over the toilet but then your towel will fall into the toilet. The shower curtain had mold on it.

I think the hotel needs to set a standard in all the rooms (they are owned by private owners so each is different in furnishings and maintenance). For example, itd be nice if they ALL included blackout shades, new toilets and shower/sink fixtures. They should all have freshly painted walls, rather than some peeling and dingy, and some decent. Its really luck of the draw. If th hotel wants better rating they should a) get some serious pest control, what a TURN OFF for guests. b) standardize basic finishes and expectations.

We had a terrrible view of the parking garage because we had a northern exposure. The second room was abit better since it was a higher floor so we got more sun.

All in all, if you dont mind outdated and not so clean furnishings and finishes in a unit and the occasional insects, its a good place to stay.
Oh ya, they DO include wifi in long term stay, but its terrible, keep s disconnecting and is very slow. If you need for business, do not stay here. it will frustrate you. Business center downstairs is $10 for half hr, or some ridiculous fee like that.

Room Tip: ask for eastern exposure, with newer furnishing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saco, Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

I was very concerned with the different reviews and what I was actually going to see at check in but I must say that I was very pleased. Large/clean rooms, easy access- all around good hotel for the price. The only down side was the dining area/bar- pricey, not great service but there are plenty of options near by

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

All the benefits of a great location and decent rooms are negated by the utterly dreadful service.

The air of the front desk staff is of complete disdain towards the paying guest. Some examples:

- it took 5 hours and 4 visits to reception to get bedding for our 3 year old's bed;
- and 3 trips to the front desk to organise car hire;
- of 3 taxis requested, 1 didn't turn up, 1 was 30 mins late and only a 3rd was on time;
- we were double charged for valet parking, and billed twice for the hotel room itself;
- on multiple occasions front desk staff made telephone calls mid-conversation

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

I stayed at Fortune House for one night Feb. 25 before a cruise. I booked directly with the hotel and got the best rate. I booked the least expensive one bedroom unit and we got placed in a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom unit on the 9th floor. it was in excellent condition, looked like it had just been upgraded and remodeled. Everything was new. Big flat screen TV on the wall, fast free wifi internet. I had asked them to comp us the breakfast buffet and they did. I did not use the kitchen or washer/dryer.

Location was good for walking to Mary Brickell Center for dinner, and to stores to pick up liquor to take on the ship. We also walked to the Metro train to visit Vizcaya in the morning before going to the ship.

if I was to ever spend more time in Miami on a vacation or business I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, NE
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

This hotel had the same qualities as a motel 6, nothing fancy and just OK. The furnishings were well worn, the floor and walls showed definite wear, the kitchen was nothing fancy. However, it worked for us. We needed two rooms, and the price was very reasonable. The location was great for going on a cruise the next day. The restaurant and entry were very nice and clean. I think next time I would spring for something a bit nicer. If you are looking for something utilitarian, this is it. Just think Motel 6 with bigger accommodations.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Fortune House Luxury Apartment Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortune House Luxury Apartment Suites

Address: 185 SE 14 Terrace, Miami, FL 33131 (Formerly Fortune House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fortune House Luxury Apartment Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fortune House Hotel is located on Brickell Ave in downtown Miami at the center of the financial district and offers fully furnished apartments to our guests available on a daily, weekly and monthly basis. Designed as an executive retreat as well as a family-friendly property, Fortune House Hotel provides its residents all the comforts of a home-away-from-home. Each apartment has a full-size kitchen, living area, bathroom, bedroom, walk-in closet, balcony, and washer and dryer in the unit, thus making it extremely comfortable for short or long term guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, getaroom.com and Travelocity so you can book your Fortune House Luxury Apartment Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortune Hotel Miami
Fortune House Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fortune House Luxury Apartment Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.