We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is in an excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2835 Tigertail Avenue, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #66 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Greenwich, Connecticut
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Hotel is in an excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

As previous reviewers have stated, this hotel is older. I am not sure how old but I would say circa 1960s. The cleanliness for an older facility is up to Marriott standards. We stayed with a free category 4 certificate from Marriott, so we did not pay for the room. We did pay $20 for parking which was secure. The area surrounding the facility and parking is very secure with locked gates. By the way, the Ritz Carlton is across the street, so the location is excellent. We walked downtown to Jaguar, an excellent restaurant, for dinner and it was about a 15 minute pleasant walk. After dinner we walked to the nearby yacht club and up past the Ritz, about a 30 minute walk. The breakfast was very good. The staff was attentive and very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan R, General Manager at Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank You very much for your comments and for staying with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Please make sure to come back and see us as we are renovating our guest rooms this summer and I am sure you will be impressed with the finished product.

Sincerely,
Dan Rutan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    70
    33
    28
    11
See reviews for
66
40
18
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Well kept residence inn for long term stays. Rooms complete with refrigerator, stove, pots and pans, coffee maker, sink and dishwasher. Ironing board in room too. Very nice rooms. A good cost saver is that breakfast is free and that Tues-Friday beer/wine is provided with hot snaks during the dinner period. Washer and Dryers are available. Note that 20 dollar per day parking is charged separately from room bill. Its a nice place for the value.

Room Tip: Choose rooms to the right as you enter the hotel. They are border to the parking lot and are away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan R, General Manager at Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,
Dan Rutan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

This totally unpretentious hotel offers all the comforts one can imagine and more. It is comfortable, clean, and the staff really try to make their guests feel welcome. If your travels call for a stay in Coconut Grove, I highly recommend this place. I would rate it higher than some hotels of the Marriott Autograph Collection! (They also serve a great buffet breakfast that was included in our room rate).

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan R, General Manager at Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank You so much for your comments and for staying with us. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again


Sincerely,
Dan Rutan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Our stay here could have been much better. Had to ask twice for everything as English was a second language although most of the staff were friendly. Ran out of food half way through at Managers Reception each evening we attended. Bananas and oranges were available the first day for breakfast but after that only a few oranges each morning, we had to go to the grocery store for fruit. The cut fruit was melon everyday. A nice touch was the baby red potatoes.
Our room...lots very small ants in the kitchen. Kitchen was dirty with hair on floor among other stuff, stove top dirty from previous guest. Internet was slow. TV would cut out for 5-45 seconds constantly while trying to watch a show, showed front desk a video of it and they said sorry, try the higher channels?
Area around the hotel appeared nice but every morning 3-4 police officers enjoying breakfast buffett made us wonder about the area.
I would probably not stay here again if other choices were available.
The first picture illustrates the frustration of our experience at the hotel (pic is funny though).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan R, General Manager at Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank You so much for your comments and for staying with us. I apologize that you had some issues with your request, and assure you that your comments will be used to educate our staff to properly follow through with request. You will be please to know that we are renovating all of our guest rooms so the room issues will be become void during that time. As a Marriott Hotel we strive to provide our guest with superior service, so that we become their home away from home. Thank you again for taking the time to post a review for our hotel, and we hope to be able to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Hello
Its a well kept hotel that used to be an apartment complex. So dont expect your regular Residence Inn Hotel here.
Service was great, a bit expensive for what the hotel has to offer, a few issues with no working tvs, etc but nothing to worry.

My main observation is that the Hotel is not a newly built Residence Inn but a renovated Apartment Complex transformed as a Hotel, which for a $160 nightly rate, I was expecting something else

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan R, General Manager at Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank You so much for your comments and for staying with us. Although our hotel is a conversation it is like many Residence Inn's offering extra spacious guest rooms, kitchens in every room and complimentary breakfast as well as social hours.. You will be please to know that we are renovating all of our guest rooms in 2014 and hope you will return to give us a try.

Sincerely,
Dan Rutan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portimao, Portugal
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

The room was fine, typical of this type of hotel. The main disappointment was finding that the pools are basically in the parking lot, little to no vegetation, surrounded by buildings so as to get no sunlight and certainly not heated. So much for taking swim in Miami!

Breakfast was also typical of this type of hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan R, General Manager at Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank You so much for staying with us and for your feedback. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations but I am so sorry that our pools fell short. We do have two pools and one may be exposed more than the other to the sun, however,I would say that they are located in courtyards of their respective buildings and not in the parking lot.

Thank You again and we certainly hope to see you on your return visit.

Sincerely,
Dan Rutan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

This was just about perfect for me, loads of space, everything you needed and everything worked. The breakfast was good, relaxed atmosphere. Only downside was that parking was a little expensive. From now on, I will always stay at a residence inn if I can, I liked it so much.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan R, General Manager at Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank You so much for trying us out!! We are so pleased to hear that you liked us so much that you are now a Residence Inn convert.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Sincerely,
Dan Rutan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove

Address: 2835 Tigertail Avenue, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove Hotel Miami
Residence Inn Coconut Grove
Coconut Grove Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.