We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wedding guest” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2835 Tigertail Avenue, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #60 of 131 hotels in Miami
Edison, New Jersey
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“wedding guest”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

this hotel should be taken off the marriott list as it gives them a black eye. The hotel was holding a block of rooms for a wedding and when I called for a reservation in that block I was told they were all gone, this was 30 minutes after the groom checked his list and told me that 7 of the 20 rooms had been reserved. After much discussion they "gave" me a room at the discounted rate, but never admitted their error. The hotel which is allegedly going through remodeling, at a snails pace, is in a section of town that requires the use of security gates on the parking lot. My room resembeled an aging hollywood actres.s who is spray painted with make-up and then tries to play a teenager.The mattress had the traditional dent in the center from too much use. The digital TV signal was so bad that the listing card provided alternative analog stations. These rooms were not in the "main" building so access to breakfast was across the parking lot which contained the pool. The pool was was the circumference of a kiddy pool but 3 1/2 feet deep.

Room Tip: You can choose a good room by selecting a different hotel, this hotel is not worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa R, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Art B,

I apologize that you had some many issues during your stay with us. We have reviewed your concerns and I am unable to find that the issues were reported to the hotel during your stay. If they were reported to the Hotel Staff we would have been able to correct them and provided you with a better stay overall. Our property spent 3 months renovating the Lobby area which has now been completed. Our pools are each 15,000 square feet, and though smaller than a large full service hotel we do have two of these pools to facilitate our entire hotel. I also apologize that your room was not to the style that was acceptable for your stay. I can say that we are going to be renovating our hotel rooms this year. I thank you again for having taken the time to post a review for our hotel and I hope that we are able to serve you again in the future.

Melissa Reiner
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    64
    33
    24
    11
See reviews for
59
37
16
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Well located, friendly staff, clean... Those are the basics, and this place fulfills them. The breakfast has plenty of room for improvement, as does the reliability of the in-room wifi. However, all in all, if you know what to expect, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The location is nice but the hotel is just okay. The rooms are a bit outdated, although they were doing some updates to the lobby when I was there, so maybe they will be updating the rooms at some point too. Also, just as an FYI (and maybe this is common of hotels in Florida), you walk outside to get to the rooms from the lobby, but it is secure outside of the hotel (gated). I was just surprised by the heat that consumed me when I opened the door to my room as I'm used to indoor hallways. Was also quite annoyed by the shower as the dial turned the opposite way to heat up, even though there was actually a diagram that showed the normal way, so it took a while to figure that one out. Overall it was okay. Internet connection was not fabulous, but it worked.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Had an early morning appointment at the Spanish Embassy in Coral Gables but wanted to take the family for a quick Miami Trip, thrilled we found the Residence Inn in Coral Gables. Location is perfect, out of the craziness of Miami in its own little world near Coco Walk and tons of shopping and wonderful restaurants. We tried the 2 bedroom suite with Kitchen and wished we were staying longer. Very comfortable and large, plenty of room for a family. Parking is charged apart from the room, but at least there is never a problem finding a spot in their nice garage! Such a nice change when visiting Miami, I dont think we'll ever do the airport hotels again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights in a studio suite. Staff is very cordial and friendly. Breakfast buffet is ok.
However, the hotel has an oldish atmosphere and it is not suited for business people, or guest requiring a consistent Internet connection. After many hours with the staff (physically in my room) and with the tech support on the phone, it worked more less ok... in summary, out of the 5 days: 4 evenings, and 3 mornings my work's VPN kept dropping down. Then my wife was planning our day on her iPad and the connection was so unstable we had to go t the Starbucks to finish our planning. Other point, the bed mattresses are quite old.
I guess, you get for what you pay, but in this instance, they do advertise the Internet connection, which is a must today.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The room was clean. We were greeted outside by staff member who introduced himself and welcomed us. He took our luggage from the car into the hotel. The receptionist was very helpful. She offered us a bigger room at no extra cost. We were treated very well. It was a good beginning to a great vacation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland Heights, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Our stay at your hotel was fabulous. We were treated like celebrities. Our rooms were full size suites with two bedrooms just like an apartment, very spacious with all the amenities. Sam Kelly and his staff were very accommodating and made sure that our stay in Miami was special and memorable. Sam went over and beyond the call of duty to please all of us. We will never forget him or his staff and look forward to coming back to Miami again and staying at the Residence Inn in Coconut Grove. Much love to all of you!

Charlene A.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove

Also Known As:
Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove Hotel Miami
Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove Hotel
Residence Inn Coconut Grove
Coconut Grove Residence Inn
Address: 2835 Tigertail Avenue, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.