We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice accommodations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2835 Tigertail Avenue, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #65 of 130 hotels in Miami
Westlake Village CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice accommodations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

the price was more reasonable than other places I looked at. The rooms were spacious, and kitchen functional. I didn't use anything but the refrigerator. The shower curtain was too short though, and I had a hard time keeping the water from going outside the tub while I was showering. Huge closets, much more that I needed for a long weekend. This building used to be apartments many years ago, my grandfather actually had an apartment in the same complex 16 years ago. Had breakfast one morning, and loved the waffle iron and fresh batter to make a waffle. I would recommend if you are looking for a place not in the middle of town but within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa R, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Dear mom2twoboys44,

First I would like to thank you having taken the time to write a review for our Hotel. We here at the Residence Inn pride ourselves in providing guest with all the functions they would have at home. I am most pleased that your stay with us was so enjoyable. I hope if you plan to come back to Coconut Grove that we will be your first choice in hotel. If I can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Once again thank you, and we look forward to your return.

Melissa Reiner
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    64
    36
    25
    11
See reviews for
59
40
17
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

stayed here once before and came back. this hotel is a little older, so it needs a little upgrade, but it has an apartment feel which is nice if you have to stay for an extended stay.
breakfast is nothing special, but it's free, so no real reason to complain.
the best part about this hotel is the location. just five minutes south is the grove shopping mall.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa R, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Dear MsStru,

First I would like to thank you having taken the time to write a review for our Hotel. We greatly appreciate our guest, and enjoy having repeat guest come back to our property. We have recently made some improvements to our breakfast variety, and to our Happy Hour variety. I invite you to come to our property again and try them out. If you do plan to return again please contact me directly so that I can assist you with the reservation. Our property will be undergoing renovations in the next year, so we very much appreciate this kind of feedback. If there is anything that I can assist you with please do not hesitate to contact me.

Melissa Reiner
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

We had a gathering of 5 siblings and our 95 year old Mother. The staff was incredible nice and attentive to all of us but especially our Mother. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. There were lots of restaurants nearby and a variety to accomodate our tastes. It even allowed Mom to go back to the room after a lunch or dinner and we could quickly get to downtown for business or Miami Beach for some fun. The location was so incredibly convenient. We all look forward to coming back again next year.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa R, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Dear Warren C.
Thank you for your review of our property! We greatly appreciate reviews from our guest, and hope that you will come back to visit us again soon. If you need any assistance with future reservations please feel free to contact me directly. Once again thank you for choosing our property, and for taking the time to write a review for us.

Melissa Reiner
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

I cannot believe this is really a Marriott. The outside is embarrassingly hideous. The inside is dated and appears unclean. A/C works great. Noise level is extremely high. Traffic and drunk partiers everywhere. Breakfast is a joke. I think we got the worse room in the house. We had to bend over to go in the doorway which was under a beam located next to the tiny pool (which had no lounge chairs). Location is excellent but I feel like this is Marriott's forgotten child.

Room Tip: Don't book at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa R, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
Dear Heather,

We thank you for your response. I apologize that our hotel was unable to meet your expectations. As a Marriott property we pride ourselves in customer satisfaction and are disappointed when we are unable to meet our customers expectations. Please feel free to contact me directly at 305-285-9303 I would really like to discuss your stay with us.
Thank you again for your response, if there is anything I can assist you with please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Melissa Reiner
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Dirty rooms, mismatched lines, old stained towels, broken window in BA, paper-thin walls, mold on bathroom ceiling,unknown orange substances on shower ledge near window, Didn't sleep due to partiers by pools, kids running around & screaming, people on floor above us, contacted front desk staff several times then Miami Police because of noise and worse activities. Problems went unresolved.

This is the 5th Marriott property we have stayed at in the Miami area over the past five years. We stay in various hotels (Marriott is always our #1 choice) a minimum of 45+ days/year. Please save yourselves the headaches and loss of sleep. There are MANY better Marriott's to stay in during your business and/or pleasure trips in the Miami area.

Room Tip: Do not here as they overbook. Many rooms being renovated; many more need serious work!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa R, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
Dear CoachSue,

Thank you for your recent comment. I apologize for these issues that your experienced. Being a service driven industry we hope to provide all of our guest with above average experiences. If there are any issues that were not rectified while you where with us please call me at 305-285-9303 so that I may address directly with you, and my staff.
Thank you for having stayed with us. I look foward to hearing form you soon.

Melissa Reiner
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Overall hotel is clean and staff is wonderful. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite and it was plenty of room. Both rooms were nicely furnished as well as the living room and kitchen. The room was not very soundproof though. Traffic on the street below as well as children in the exterior hallway could be easily heard. The only other issue was that the air conditioner seemed to be small for the unit. It worked hard the entire stay and only cooled the room to about 75 deg F. The garage below was nice and gated for security. Movie theater, comedy club and a nice assortment of restaurants within walking distance. I have stayed at several hotels in the area and probably will stay here again for the price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa R, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
Dear ibskine,

I would like to thank you for your recent comment about your recent stay with us. If there is any thing I can assist with please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 305-285-9303. I look forward to hearing from you.

Melissa Reiner
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

This is one of the worst Marriott properties I have ever visited. The location is excellent for access to Coconut Grove. If you are visting to party at Cocowalk and will simply be walking back to your room and passing out, this place serves its purpose.
The only reason I gave this property 2 stars was due to the gated parking, without that I would have had a totally sleepiness night. The rooms are tired, worn down, and the bed (a double) sleeps awful. The exterior is just gross. Rundown, shady characters, and a complete lack of maintenance. The walls are PAPER THIN. I was awoken by a party going on next door at 5am and could literally hear every word of the conversation as if I was in the room with them. The staff is apathetic and unbecoming of any other Marriott property. I'm not one to complain about hotels, check my reviews, but unless you get a FANTASTIC deal, or are a broke spring breaker or college student, you can do better.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa R, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
Thank you for your recent comment. Our property was last renovated in 2007, and our scheduled to have a renovation start in 2012. I would hope that you would come back to visit us again so that we can provide you with the exceptional service and standards we as Marriott property can provide. Please do not hesitate to contact me at 305-285-9303, I look forward to hearing from you.

Melissa Reiner
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove

Address: 2835 Tigertail Avenue, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 130 hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Marriott, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove Hotel Miami
Residence Inn Coconut Grove
Coconut Grove Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.