We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disapppointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Miami Marriott Dadeland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Miami Marriott Dadeland to your Saves list
Miami Marriott Dadeland
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9090 S. Dadeland Boulevard, Miami, FL 33156   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #57 of 129 Hotels in Miami
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Disapppointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2007

I booked this directly on the Marriott site. Upon arrival, I was informed by the desk clerk that I had been "upgraded" to the concierge level. I thought "nice". Went up to room, where I found the concierge desk three feet from my door. The entrance to the room is right off the elevator in the area where the concierge sits and they serve food. Not even down a hallway. What followed was loud groups of people coming up to get their refreshments and talk. Very loud talk. And every time my wife and I exited the room, all heads swung toward our room as we opened the door. Very uncomfortable feeling, although the bed was very comfortable. Bathroom was microscopic, and room for only one person at a time. For 200+ per night, I don't think this property is worth it and I would not stay there again. The hotel looks very tired and is obviously an aging property. The bell staff was very nice though. You have to use them to park your car (17.00 per day extra) because there is no self parking other than a garage next door.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    122
    64
    18
    12
See reviews for
57
43
25
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2007

Stayed here for business for 3 nights. Way overpriced ($200+/night during my stay); there is no self-parking - only valet in the parking garage was available which is $17-19/night. Hotel staff were nice and helpful. Hotel exterior & interior looks nice. My room was on the 14th floor; had a nice view facing downtown Miami. Internet access in room was not free; had to ask for a refridgerator, which was old and made a weird noise. Room was a little older (carpet & walls), but clean. Bathroom area was okay. Location was good and near a number of restaurants; also, the Dadeland mall is down the street. Alot of construction (new condos & high rises) in the area was going on during my stay. Did not visit any of the amenities. Would not stay here again because of the price paid.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Price & costs for everything (parking, internet in room, etc.), no free breakfast
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2007

My family booked three rooms at the Marriott Dadeland. We were part of a wedding party of over 40 out-of-town guests and the bride & groom had chosen this hotel due to proximity of the wedding. The check-in process was chaotic and we did not get into our rooms until 2 hours after normal check-in. I had booked the rooms 2 months in advance and the hotel knew about this wedding at least 8 months in advance. Furthermore, I had called 24 hours before to check on the rooms and request early check-in due to the hectic wedding rehearsal schedule that day. The excuse given for the late check-in was that we wanted our rooms on the same floor. I think that is was poor planning and prioritizing on their part. To add insult to injury, one of my family members was charged $250 for smoking in their. room. We were not told about this fee when I called to make reservations and requested smoking rooms; when we checked in; not posted on their website. However, there are tiny cards with fine print in the rooms to let you know! Ironically, two other members of our party smoked in their rooms and they were not charged the fee. So...smokers beware of the Marriott chain in Florida! By the way, I did look up the Florida Non-smooking Law and the penalty is $100. I guess Marriott needs the extra revenue to "recover" the room. In addition, you can hear other guests using the bathrooms from other rooms. Upon checking out, I was given the wrong keys to the car by the valet. From a world traveller and Miami native, I recommend that you stay away from this hotel! Try the Hampton Inn nearby.

  • Liked — Room service was good.
  • Disliked — Disorganized, noisy rooms and surprise fees.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2006

I am currently staying at this Marriott and I booked my stay for six nights. I am very, very satisfied and even more surprised that this Marriott is very nice. Their staff is very professional and courteous. The service is amazingly great and the food at the restaurant is very good. They have an amazing Sunday Brunch that will entice all cultures.

  • Liked — Amazing location
  • Disliked — Not enough food selection at the Concierge Lounge
  • Tips/Secrets — For great taxi service call Luis [---]
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2006

The rooms and lobby of this property are fine - not overly good or overly bad. I must warn you not to host an event here under any circumstances! I host 20 events per year at hotels around the US and Canada. this is the worst property i have ever had the misfortune to deal with.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nbaker7952
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2006

This is a great hotel, good looking and well kept, unfortunately the area it is in although it seems safe is undergoing alot of construction at the moment and is clearly going to be something better in years to come.

There is a mall that you can see from the hotel but it is a 10 minute walk across a busy street unless you take the complimentary shuttle. Problem with the shuttle it does'nt come back and get you so you will probably have to walk at some point.

The mall has a bit of everything and a great food hall which was beneficial as a single traveller.

The hotel offers free internet access in the lobby which makes life alot easier for people like me that use the net frequently.

The rooms were very clean and of a good standard, the staff were freindly and helpful however, I lost my passport on the metro mover in downtown Miami and although the staff assisted me in getting a few numbers for embassies etc they failed on the basics of where to get photos done etc (even though there was one next door!).

The hotel is well connected, free shuttle from the airport and a train station attached to the hotel whcih can get you downtown in 20 minutes.

Felt quite safe here and would probably use the hotel again as first choice, a very welcome choice from staying Downtown.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2005

I stay at this hotel frequently when I travel for business. Some of the rooms are particularly unique...there is a suite on the top floor (the Presidential suite, maybe?) that is like a small apartment..it has a pull down bed, which is interesting. Some of the rooms on 7 (pool level) are nice if you are a smoker...you have a sliding glass door out to the pool area with a small private iron table..you can eat breakfast out there which is very pleasant..although poolside rooms can sometimes feel a bit humid and chloriney. The service is excellent, and the food from the restaurant is great. I recommend ordering room service, especially the fruit basket dessert which is served in a lovely, crunchy praline basket. Delicious! If you do want to get out of the hotel, there is a wonderful Italian restaurant within walking distance on US1 (Dixie Highway. Ask the concierge..they'll know.

Stayed November 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Miami Marriott Dadeland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miami Marriott Dadeland

Address: 9090 S. Dadeland Boulevard, Miami, FL 33156
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#46 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Miami Marriott Dadeland 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Miami Marriott Dadeland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miami Marriott Dadeland Hotel Miami
Marriott Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miami Marriott Dadeland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.