We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% Off + FREE Upgrade
Ranked #6 of 130 Hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersGold level
Redding
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

Reserved the Epic for business travel and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The staff was professional and attentive without being overbearingly polite. Extra pillows, no problem. I upgraded my room, spacious with wonderful view. After a long day of meetings, nice place to tone down the day and relax. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2011
cocccinea:
Thank you for your outstanding posting.
We appreciate your kind words and we look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,450
    362
    99
    53
    30
See reviews for
393
762
103
406
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

Ok. I admit it. I'm a Kimpton addict. I've had wonderful experiences before. I've bought the package. I expect the best.

But this is Miami. Culture shock if you figure this Kimpton is going to square up to those hotels in NYC, Chicago, DC...

To be sure, the service, attentiveness, friendly and inviting attitude of this staff is absolutely consistent with other Kimptons. As this was my first journey to Miami, I relied on the expertise of the concierge and desk staff and they were marvelous, spending many minutes with me in conversation about how to navigate the city. Ditto the cleaning and pool staff. If you are looking for amazingly good service, then this is your spot.

Why can't Kimpton transport DC, or Chicago to Miami? I must be too old to appreciate the "clubbing" experience...Sit outside at the entrance..take in the costume sprawl and everything that is of excess. You will find it here..

Our room was, well, nice. King, with a view of the river, and you can peek at a portion of South Beach with binoculars. Smaller than DC/Chicago rooms, but OK. I get the Ar t Deco thing they are trying to avoid, but play into. Curtained window from the bathtub...

Since this is a partnered living space (residents + visitors), you can't stay on the lower floors, so you will be somewhere between sixteen and thirty (those last two floors reserved for those of you who wish to delve into club-level status). Be prepared to keep your room key with you at all times. The elevators demand you swipe your key before proceeding up.

16 is the magic floor---spa/pool/fitness. I will have to say, the pools (there are 2) are amazing...warm and inviting. The staff ever attentive to provide towels and locations for you to spend quality time just chillin'. What's best? The pool stays open. A late evening swim was so relaxing, under a cloudless night. I manged to order pizza and salad and ate and swam and enjoyed. (Pieducks, if you are curious)

So what was different? This Kimpton is dislocated...you can't walk out of the front door and expect to get most basic services. It's a three block walk to Starbucks (the only coffee place operating on the weekends), and downtown Miami is, well, still sprouting. Yes, it is safe to walk, but you will have to do that if you'd like a morning Joe other than that which is supplied in the lobby. (Flagler Street does have some interesting eateries--but not on the weekends) You will be a 10 dollar cab ride away from most places that would offer nifty restaurants (and about 30 if you plan to trek to South Beach).

But this is Miami. As I was leaving, a photographer was shooting some kind of ad that was either for the hotel, or Porsche. Two models, in ridiculously wool outfits were riding into the hotel in a hot red convertible. It was fun watching this scenario play out, as the legions of cars transporting regular guests were interrupting the flow of this "shoot." It was just another example of the kind of distraction that makes Miami, well, Miami. Oh, and on that jaunt to South Beach, Lil Wayne was sashaying down Ocean Drive with his entourage. Golly, my trip was complete!

I would consider this a great place to stay if you have Miami business. If you are trying to catch a deal so you can steal off to South Beach...well...reconsider...

One other thing.. I choose not to bring my laptop because there is a computer in every room! But be prepared to wait. The internet connection is SLOW and you need patience if you are accustomed to FAST. The wireless (if you have your own device) works fine.

This is a Kimpton that is a stranger in a strange land. It struggles with the conflict.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2011
mr8tch:
Thank you for taking a few moments to post you experience with us.
Thank you for mentioning the attentive, friendly service.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

2nd longish business stay. 1st stay was during opening when service was paramount because hotel was sorting through final construction

2 years later it is a solid 3 star priced as a 4 or even 5 star. Staff is extremely pleasant and accommodating which is the norm for Kimpton .. make sure and ask for higher floors and lower room numbers .. rooms 1 through 8 or 9 have great views .. all rooms have balconies .. the hotel is immediately adjacent to a drawbridge and it opens and closes frequently 24/7 with loud clanging .. both nearby Hyatt and JW Marriott also experience the same noise so caution on either of those properties as well.
The immediate walking area is a bit dicey and walks in the evening are best restricted to park areas because the 'downtown' section is rife with begging homeless and rundown shops and restaurants HOWEVER if you want local color it's there
Epic uses what is now a standrard plastic card key system in elevators and it is very inconsistent. Unlike the usual in and out make sure you hold the card in the slot for a second or more or it will NOT work..
This is NOT a vaction property ..unless you like being off the tourist path.
And it is a an excellant choice for business stays

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2011
raven40:
Thank you for your posting.
Thank you also for recommending our property for business travelers.
Service will always be paramount for us.
We look forward to better serving you on your third visit soon.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

I don't know what else to say. this hotel is fabulous, clean, excellent service, you feel like you are in the lap of luxury at a reasonable (but not cheap) price. I will definitely make the Epic my hotel of choice in Miami. I don't think you will find a better hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2011
Buglo:
Thank you for taking a few moments to post your amazing experience with us.
We appreciate that you mentioned the fabulous, clean hotel and excellent service.
Thank you also for the recommendation.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

I've never stayed in a hotel like the Epic. For one thing, it is both a hotel and a residence. I'm told that's very common in Miami, but I'm not familiar with that business model. Secondly, it's cool and hip, and has a very modern design. You'd never mistake it for a Hyatt or a Marriott -- which isn't to say anything negative about those hotels; just saying that the Epic in Miami is unique.

We only stayed one night, the night before boarding a cruise ship. The room's design is unique and elegant. Check-in, check-out and bell service were very good. View from our balcony was terrific.

We did have to really work to find a place to have a cocktail at 4:00 PM. Upon check-in we were told that there is a Wine Hour beginning at 5:00. There was confusion surrounding that, as well. Being from Las Vegas, we're not used to having to hunt to find liquor!

The hotel was very clean and close to the Port of Miami, so I would recommend it for people needing a hotel the night before your cruise.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2011
KBVegasNevada:
Thank you for taking a few moments to post your unique experience with us.
Thank you also for mentioning the arrival and the departure experience and our modern design.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal area
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

We stayed at the Epic Hotel Saturday and Sunday night while we attended the Miami Boat show.

The hotel is a modern, trendy facility that offers all the first class amenities you would expect from a 5 star hotel. The Hotel is located on one of Miami's many rivers and canals and the views are spectacular from a water view room.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2011
47thanks:
Thank you for the excellent posting.
Thank you also for mentioning our first class amenities.
We look forward to your return next year for boat show.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

My family and I stayed at the Epic December 17-20 and the Customer Service was surperb and my Junior Suite with City view was beautiful and I will never forget my stay.
There was nothing that I asked for that we did not receive with the best smile including white chocolate hot coco at 3am in the morning!!1

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#3 Green Hotel in Miami
#4 Spa Hotel in Miami
#4 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#5 Family Hotel in Miami
#6 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new EPIC Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Miami, a sparkling cosmopolitan destination on the bank of the Miami River where it meets Biscayne Bay. A stunning addition to Miami, this hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, epitomizes urban design while offering guests a level of style and service expected of such a resort. With exceptional amenities, breathtaking views and dining venues like Area 31, EPIC Hotel makes for an unparalleled Miami experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Jetsetter, Travelocity, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epic Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.