We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“State of the art Hotel with old fashion luxury service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% Off + FREE Upgrade
Ranked #4 of 129 Hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersGold level
Montreal area
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“State of the art Hotel with old fashion luxury service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

We stayed at the Epic Hotel Saturday and Sunday night while we attended the Miami Boat show.

The hotel is a modern, trendy facility that offers all the first class amenities you would expect from a 5 star hotel. The Hotel is located on one of Miami's many rivers and canals and the views are spectacular from a water view room.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2011
47thanks:
Thank you for the excellent posting.
Thank you also for mentioning our first class amenities.
We look forward to your return next year for boat show.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,483
    366
    99
    53
    30
See reviews for
399
776
105
413
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

My family and I stayed at the Epic December 17-20 and the Customer Service was surperb and my Junior Suite with City view was beautiful and I will never forget my stay.
There was nothing that I asked for that we did not receive with the best smile including white chocolate hot coco at 3am in the morning!!1

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

I went to the Epic with my division for a few days in October. All in all, it was a very good experience. The rooms are VERY nice and big and NEW and all have balconies - at the end of a stressful day of work this was a welcome escape. We enjoyed the pool and the bars/restaurants, too. The conference facility itself, though, was really the best part (I realize this sounds funny but read on). After years of sitting in awful boardrooms with low ceilings and no natural light, this big, airy room was exactly what we needed. It changed the entire mood of the event to have actual airflow, to be able to step outside on a break, etc. And the food was fantastic. The only drawback was that apparently the place had had some flooding issues or something so part of the hotel was closed. I'm sure they've sorted this out by now. And the location, while not in South Beach, is fine, especially for a work-related trip (kept everyone a little more focused on the job at hand). Was about a $10 cab ride into South Beach. It's also pet friendly! After having stayed there, as well as staying at some crumbly old hotels on South Beach, I think I might even stay there again on a non-work-related trip.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2011
LJWNYC2008:
Thank you for the great posting.
I believe this is the first experience denoting the benefits of having a conference with us.
Thank you for that and we look forward to your next stay with us for leisure.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Palms, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

Just returned from the Miami Boat Show.. We have stayed in many 5 star hotels, however the customer service at the Epic, exceeds any hotel we have ever stayed in. From the front desk to the club level, it was first class all the way.. We had forgotten our phone chargers and called to see if they had a spare we could borrow, and an employee came right upstairs and GAVE us his.. We told him we wanted to borrow it to charge our phones and he insisted we keep his. The club level was worth every penny. Mark was the absolute best and made our trip worthwhile.. He even offered to print out an itinerary with the best restaurants, clubs, entertainment for our next trip... I have never encountered this level of consistent customer service, not to forget how comfortable and quiet the rooms were as well as the excellent dining... Will definitely be back.. 5 stars all the way

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2011
JanetH39:
Thank you for taking a few moments to write this incredible contribution.
Thank you also for mentioning the 5 star experiences.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

We chose the Epic hotel based on trip advisors reviews. We have been to South beach and wanted a different location just before our cruise. We had three nights water view club level. Amazing staff, amazing view and a good location. The one miss was the club level experience. The staff in the club level went out of their way to make it enjoyable....with what they had to work with. Always behind the eight ball....always rushed and under staffed. Never on time setting up the meal presentations. The food ??? If you have stayed at Ritz Carlton club level.......not even close. We paid extra for the club experience and was truly let down. I feel if we had not been in the club level the hotel would of been perfect. Get this figured out quickly and perfect score!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2011
russdorth:
Thank you for taking a few moments to tell us about your experience.
Thank you also for mentioning the amazing staff.
We will take a look at the opportunities you encountered in the club lounge and remedy immediately.
We look forward to your return and a perfect score.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

I stayed at the Epic while attending a conference. The rooms are decorated in a simple, modern style and are lovely. Mine (on the 27th floor) had a generously sized balcony with a beautiful view of the bay and the hotel's pools below. Improving on a few "little things" would take a good hotel to great: put a coffee maker in the room; audit the room before a guest checks in--mine was missing a luggage rack and I had to ask them to bring one; when someone orders a $45 room service dinner, don't make them beg for a glass of ice water, then bring them a tiny 4 oz. bottle of water; when you know your hotel is sold out, hire enough valets so the place isn't chaos, with your guests' cars sitting there completely unattended with the keys in and cars running (when I brought this to the manager's attention, he took care of it immediately and comped my parking charge, which I appreciated); perhaps most importantly, when a guest smokes near someone else who is eating in your restaurant, in violation of Miami's anti-smoking ordinance, MAKE THEM STOP.

This really is a lovely hotel and it would be very easy to fix these things.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2011
DomFrancon:
Thank you for taking a few moments to denote your experience with us.
We are so happy that you enjoyed the modern style of our property.
We will follow up on the opportunities of your stay immediately regarding an in room coffee maker (available upon request), luggage rack, water not served with your In Room Dining meal, our valet service and have all remedied immediately.
We look forward to your return with us.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

I was in Epic for 4 days when I was traveling back from New York. The hotel is very clean and well organized. I got a room on 30th floor, what allowed me to get to the Club Lounge, where they have a simple but nice breakfast, nice treats during the day and some fresh fruits after 09:00 pm.
The view from my room was not so nice as I was facing the city, but the noise isolation in my room was very good, making it a very silent room.
The gym is well equipped also and works 24 hours, what was important for me as well.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2011
Levy_Abud:
Thank you for taking a few moments to post your very nice contribution.
Thank you also for mentioning that the hotel is clean, well organized and that you enjoyed your stay on the club lounge level. We look forward to your return with us.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Miami
#3 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#3 Spa Hotel in Miami
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#4 Family Hotel in Miami
#5 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new EPIC Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Miami, a sparkling cosmopolitan destination on the bank of the Miami River where it meets Biscayne Bay. A stunning addition to Miami, this hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, epitomizes urban design while offering guests a level of style and service expected of such a resort. With exceptional amenities, breathtaking views and dining venues like Area 31, EPIC Hotel makes for an unparalleled Miami experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Priceline, Amex, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epic Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.