We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip, found Epic through tripadvisor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 8 more sites!
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Upgrade Offer
Ranked #4 of 131 hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersGold level
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great trip, found Epic through tripadvisor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

We picked the Epic because of its #1 rating, and we weren't disappointed in the least. We found the hotel staff very pleasant, the hotel had a cool design vibe. They gave us an upgrade. The bath was amazing with separate shower and bath, and separate commode room. We loved the sliding doors and spaciousness. At breakfast, Juan was welcoming each day of our stay. Jose the manager was a great host. Traveled with husband and young adult daughter. Also the location was convenient although the parking was expensive. In and out valet was fast and courteous; there was no rush & we had time to arrange our car for nature excursions to Everglades, beach and shopping.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2011
olive11:
Thank you for taking a few moments to post your experience with us.
Thank you also for mentioning a few of our employees by name.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,854 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,364
    330
    82
    50
    28
See reviews for
354
699
96
377
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

My family took a little extended vacation to Miami last month and the Epic was a fantastic choice. Located more in the business district, the hotel's style, ambiance and dedication to service charmed us all! Its certainly the first time I've stayed in a hotel and remembered the name of the houskeeper, Elizabeth, who was fantastic every morning. The hotel itself is extremely stylish and clean and the rooms were impeccable. The area surrounding the hotel is probably not the best area in which to go out at night but the nearby Bayfront Park had interesting shopping... The Miami Heat arena is within a 10-15 minute walking distance too so not too bad. This location is definitely not anywhere near South Beach so people expecting a nearby beach are SOL. It was 37 degrees when we were there so that wasn't a problem for us.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2011
jillv1701h:
Thank you for taking a few moments to post your stunning contribution.
We are so happy to hear that you remembered the name of your room attendant Elizabeth.
That is truly amazing. We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean Mckeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

I was in Miami for a conference. I usually stay at the W or Hilton. This was my first stay at EPIC. It was great. Everyone was super nice. The front desk staff were extremely helpful-Jessica was there most of the time and was always pleasant. The conceirge was great every day. I used the running map and ran several days while I was there. I didn't meet any employees that weren't going out of their way to be nice.

The room was nice and the balcony was great. There is a computer and complimentary internet in the room, which was very nice. The location was great for me. The conference was across the street-(I didn't know until the end that there is a walkway under the road by the water to the Hyatt). The hotel was within walking distance to a lot of places. I went to the Heat game one night and walked. Evidnetly there is also a wine event, but I wasn't aware of it. It was also nice there were apples at the work out room. It was a nice snack after a run.

The only negatives I can think of were the workout room was temporarily located in a very small room. I ended up not using it b/c it was so small. And the ice machine on my floor wasn't working so I would go up a floor to get ice. Otherwise not much to complain about. I didn't have a car so didn't use valet.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2011
DavidandKim:
Thank you for taking a few moments to post your fantastic contribution.
Thank you also for praising the employees.
Our fitness center is one hundred percent operational again. My apologies for the inconveniences. We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

Ok, I am a big fan of the more intimiate guesthouse/bb type hotels... EPIC is grand, huge, luxorious and yet still a boutique. The staff was awesome and the service we encountered was impeccable (specifically by the pool),.. we were constantly getting water refills and even got some fruitkabobs.

The rooms were comfy, cozy and the beds were cloudlike. I loved that although it was a city view, once you closed the sliding door all of the noise disappeared. :)

The ONLY negative is the overnight parking... @ $32... THATS INSANE! Guests should be able to park for free... afterall, they are spending money in your hotel...

Area 31 Breakfast was good and plentiful :)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2011
gzysuperstar:
Thank you for the awesome contribution.
Thank you also for mentioning the impeccable service.
We look forward to your return with us.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

During check-in, the front desk was pretty impatient; so we gave up trying to get an upgrade to a room at the club level. The janitors are friendlier than that receptionist. Our water-view king premier room is good in size and has good sound-proof features that shields away both street and hallway sounds. However, it lacks common amenity supplier such as mouth wash and shower cap. Parking is $32 per night but getting a valet has been difficult early in the morning. The gym equipments are moved to the Kid’s room which is a bit small and crowded.
The hotel is a bit disappointing given that it is about $300/night.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2011
smichw:
Thank you for taking a few minutes to send us your detailed posting.
We are saddened by the opportunities that you encountered throughout your stay with reception, valet, vanity amenities & our temporary fitness center. We truly appreciate your feedback; both reception and valet have been reviewed & addressed; mouth wash and shower caps are offered upon request & our fitness center has been renovated and is fully functioning as of today. I will follow up with you personally to assist regaining your faith in our product & services.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George's, Bermuda
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Epic Hotel in November during the Thanksgiving holiday time. From the moment we walked in the door we knew we were going to LOVE this hotel. The staff were EXTREMELY friendly and helpful and the rooms were AMAZING. We couldn't have asked for a better hotel to stay at after having come off a wonderful cruise vacation.
I highly recommend the EPIC hotel to anyone going to Miami. Our experience with this hotel has led us to only want to stay at Kimpton properties no matter where we travel in the future.
STAY AT THIS HOTEL. Its all around value for money and will truly make you re-think how a hotel experience should be from now on. Absolutely wonderful!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2011
BourneTravellers:
Wow, that was a great contribution & recommendation, thank you so much.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, IL
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

Came for a Conference and did not want the fabulosity to end. I had a choice between the Epic at the Conference rate of $189+tax/night vs the Marriot at $179/night. No contest at which I chose as I knew that the usual rate for the Epic starts at $400+. Ended up with a King/Waterview room on the 22nd floor and I couldn't be happier.
I expected the South Beach lux decor, vibe and ambience of the hotel and restaurants and have read the multiple reviews with superlatives highlighting the service but did not expect how blown away I was with the real thing. I have stayed at a lot of high end 5star hotels and lodgings and mostly in suites but the Epic, by far, blew all of them away. EVERYONE, from the valet, front door attendants, housekeeping, pool attendants, front desks, Area 31, etc, etc, etc and even at Zuma (though management is supposedly not directly the hotel's), every single staff we encountered were almost eerily, creepily sooo nice and were figuratively doing cartwheels for you in their offer to assist you in any way. Some of them also would carry on anecdotal conversation as if they had all the time in the world to make conversations more personal. I joked to a colleague that it felt like I was in Stepford Wives' world where everyone were so perfect but never once did the staff's approach not feel sincere or ever felt plasticky. High End Miami is known for snobby service; kudos and congratulation to EPIC for getting it totally right.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2011
fpiesiec:
Wow, Thank you for taking a few moments to post your experience with us. We are truly lucky to have such a great team that ultimately cares about genuine guest service.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Also Known As:
Epic Hotel Kimpton
Address: 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Miami
#3 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#3 Business Hotel in Miami
#5 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new EPIC Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Miami, a sparkling cosmopolitan destination on the bank of the Miami River where it meets Biscayne Bay. A stunning addition to Miami, this hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, epitomizes urban design while offering guests a level of style and service expected of such a resort. With exceptional amenities, breathtaking views and dining venues like Area 31, EPIC Hotel makes for an unparalleled Miami experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Amex, Venere, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.