We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fab” 5 of 5 stars
Review of EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% Off + FREE Upgrade
Ranked #5 of 129 hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersGold level
chicago, IL
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fab”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

Came for a Conference and did not want the fabulosity to end. I had a choice between the Epic at the Conference rate of $189+tax/night vs the Marriot at $179/night. No contest at which I chose as I knew that the usual rate for the Epic starts at $400+. Ended up with a King/Waterview room on the 22nd floor and I couldn't be happier.
I expected the South Beach lux decor, vibe and ambience of the hotel and restaurants and have read the multiple reviews with superlatives highlighting the service but did not expect how blown away I was with the real thing. I have stayed at a lot of high end 5star hotels and lodgings and mostly in suites but the Epic, by far, blew all of them away. EVERYONE, from the valet, front door attendants, housekeeping, pool attendants, front desks, Area 31, etc, etc, etc and even at Zuma (though management is supposedly not directly the hotel's), every single staff we encountered were almost eerily, creepily sooo nice and were figuratively doing cartwheels for you in their offer to assist you in any way. Some of them also would carry on anecdotal conversation as if they had all the time in the world to make conversations more personal. I joked to a colleague that it felt like I was in Stepford Wives' world where everyone were so perfect but never once did the staff's approach not feel sincere or ever felt plasticky. High End Miami is known for snobby service; kudos and congratulation to EPIC for getting it totally right.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2011
fpiesiec:
Wow, Thank you for taking a few moments to post your experience with us. We are truly lucky to have such a great team that ultimately cares about genuine guest service.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,931 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,414
    346
    93
    50
    28
See reviews for
377
748
101
393
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

My wife and I just returned from a three night stay at the Epic. The hotel met and exceeded our expectations in every facet. Deservedly, the hotel is ranked #1 in Miami on Tripadvisor. I'd highlight a few points in addition to the comments made in other reviews.

Club level: We stayed in a room on the club level and I would highly recommend it. Whatever nominal difference in price per night, you will get your money's worth and then some. At the club lounge, there are five daily 'presentations' of food and fare, including a great continental breakfast (the other four are light lunch, healthy afternoon snack, pre-dinner appetizers, and a pre-bedtime snack). Tons of drinks are available at all times from bottled water to coffee to soda. In addition to the drinks and presentations, there's a great staff up there that will literally take care of whatever you want (Lucia and Raquel are the best of the best). For example, during breakfast, they will make any specialty coffee drink you want (e.g., cappuccino, latte, etc). If you come in between presentations and want something, they will get a snack for you. They also put out a nice selection of top shelf alcohol and a nice selection of wines in the evening for an open bar, so you can pop in before or after dinner and have some drinks. The staff went all out and mixed drinks beyond the realm of totally simple (e.g., a White Russian). Other perks of the club level are a dedicated concierge from 7A-11P and dedicated check out. Again, I would HIGHLY recommend the club level - it was the highlight of our stay.

Pool: The pictures on the hotel's website don't do the pool area justice. It is amazing, impeccably maintained, and well staffed. As soon as you get out there, a friendly member of the pool staff will set you up at one of the different poolside options ranging from outdoor sofas to conventional lounge chairs to yin-yang couches to day-beds. They'll bring you a glass of water with fruit and keep it replenished all day. The hotel even thinks of the little things. For example, there's a large selection of sunscreen so if you forgot to bring some or ran out, it's right there for you to use. The hotel's excellent free Wi-Fi works great by the pool, as well.

Restaurants: We didn't eat at Area 31 because the outstanding food on the club level is based on the Area 31 menu. I would HIGHLY recommend Zuma, the Japanese restaurant in the lobby. Before eating at Zuma, I would have told you that Nobu in NYC is the best Japanese restaurant. Zuma blows Nobu out of the water! Pretty much everything we had was amazing, but I'd recommend the cod, chicken teriyaki, tuna tataki, and rice bowl. The sushi is so good it makes you say "Oh, so this is what sushi is supposed to taste like." The restaurant is relatively new and hasn't caught on among Tripadvisor reviews yet, but it is extremely trendy and popular. We were lucky to get a reservation for dinner on a Monday night at the last minute, but I'd suggest reserving in advance if you're planning to go.

Staff/Logistics: Everyone we encountered from the front desk staff to the doormen were extremely helpful and very courteous. If a random member of the staff happened to be in the elevator at the same time, he/she would ask how our stay is going and whether there's anything they can do to help. We arrived just after 12PM and our room was ready. We requested a late checkout of 2PM and it was granted without a problem.

We hope the staff at the Epic keep up the excellent work. We will most certainly return on our next trip to Miami!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2011
Jonshazam:
Thank you for taking a few moments to post this outstanding contribution.
Wow, thank you for all your praise.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

The reviews here on TripAdvisor made the decision to book the Epic pretty easy, and they didn't disappoint. I'm not sure what else I can add --- I experienced the same fabulous service, beautiful room, and overall top-notch feel of the place that everyone else has. I wish the lobby level lounge had been open, but otherwise was completely satisfied. I'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2011
lagunadallas:
Thank you so much for the great contribution. My apologies regarding the lobby bar; we are concepting a Spanish tapas wine bar that will open right around Easter.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

We have returned from a quick trip to FL and stayed in this hotel whilst in MIA. The hotel is very nice and staff very professional. it well deserves the number one spot

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2011
mchlbianchi:
Wow, Thank you for the nice affirming contribution.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

We used this hotel as a pre cruise hotel, think cost maybe £360 ish for the night, worth every penny, we booked club level, 30th floor, waterside views, absolutely stunning. We arrived midday, straight to the pool where we were greeted with complimentary wine, wine and more wine. The pool area was gorgeous. Then up to shower and get ready for the evening ahead, we went into the club lounge, which had an open well stocked bar (premium drinks),(complimentary) and a selection of delicious food,(complimentary) we sat on the balcony outside until dark, it was fantastic and we wanted for nothing. The next day, we went to breakfast in the club lounge (again complimentary) and had champagne and OJ. smoked salmon, cream cheese and capers (yum what a combination)there was lots of other stuff, again sat on the balcony and watch the world go by. (Fanatastic) I didn't want to leave. ( in fact other than tipping, we struggled to spend money, EVERYTHING on club level was complimentary. As the Americans say, AWESOME hotel. Check out and taxi to the port was immediate. Definitely will go again.... Well done Epic, you've got it right.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2011
duxidot:
Thank you for taking a moment and posting your awesome experience with us.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roslyn
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

I took my spouse to the Epic to celebrate a special birthday. Her priority was a great view from her balcony and they delivered.. I recommend Room 3003.

For her birthday, they gave her flowers and a birthday cake without our asking.

The staff in the club lounge was fantastic. If you didn't see what you wanted in their food presentations, they tried to get you something you would.

Everyone seemed to know our names. When you came back from a tour or activity, they asked how you enjoyed. They made you feel like more than just a customer.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2011
mrttort:
Thank you for taking a few moments to post your fabulous contribution.
Thank you also for mentioning the fantastic staff.
We look forward to you celebrating your next special event with us.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

We were thoroughly impressed with The EPIC before we even arrived. We'd booked a club-level king room with a water view. Weeks before our arrival, I emailed the hotel requesting a quiet room, away from the elevator and club lounge (after reading a review here) - our request was fulfilled promptly with a kind email stating our room had already been selected. What we loved when we arrived (1/14-1/17):

- super friendly & courteous staff (not the least bit pretentious)
- beautiful decor in lobby, common areas and rooms
- large room and bathroom
- free computer/internet
- large balcony & beautiful view of river/port
- very quiet room
- great pool & gym

We booked the club level primarily based on reviews on this site. JP welcomed us in the club lounge Friday, and he was great - had wonderful recommendations for restaurants and things to do around town. Lounge had a nice selection of light appetizers and drinks/cocktails (if they didn't have it, they went and got it). Two new concierges Saturday morning, who were also courtous and attentive - one got us into Zuma (the new, "it" restaurant, located in the hotel) that night.

However, the club level lost some of its lustre as the weekend progressed. Perhaps the hotel chooses not to fully staff the club lounge during certain weekend hours, but we oftentimes found it completely empty - the club conceirge appeared to have been assigned to multiple tasks throughout the entire hotel (i.e. front desk, free wine hour). I understand this from a business perspective, but if we pay an extra $30/night for the service, we'd like to have someone available when we walk in - or at least maybe a note telling us they'll be right back? In general, it was nice to have snacks & drinks during certain times of day (continental breakfast was decent), but I don't think we'd do it again unless the weekend service was improved a bit.

Despite the club level's slight deficiency, it was more than made up for by the service provided by Mark. Wow - this guy was great. Upon bringing us anything, he immediately asked "what else can I get you?" While we were there, he worked at both the pool and club lounge - always greeted us personally, offered us restaurant recommendations, and generally made us feel very pampered.

Would definitely recommend a stay at The EPIC, and we'll be back...maybe just not on the club level.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2011
ChicagoKJC:
Thank you for taking a few moments to post this almost perfect contribution.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and will be back.
Thank you for recognizing JP & Mark they are amazing a creating a personalized guest experience. We truly appreciate your feedback regarding our club level staffing; we will remedy this opportunity today.
Again we look forward to your return with us.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Miami
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#3 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#3 Spa Hotel in Miami
#5 Business Hotel in Miami
#5 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new EPIC Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Miami, a sparkling cosmopolitan destination on the bank of the Miami River where it meets Biscayne Bay. A stunning addition to Miami, this hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, epitomizes urban design while offering guests a level of style and service expected of such a resort. With exceptional amenities, breathtaking views and dining venues like Area 31, EPIC Hotel makes for an unparalleled Miami experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Amex, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epic Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.