We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel we've stayed at!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% Off + FREE Upgrade
Ranked #4 of 130 hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersGold level
laguna hills
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The best hotel we've stayed at!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

So much to say here but I'll try to keep it short. Amazingly friendly staff. They make you feel special and well taken care of. The nicest person we encountered was Farah. She upgraded us to a Bay view room, gave us two complimentary items from the mini bar (has snacks) since we don't drink and won't enjoy the complimentary wine hour at 5pm. She sent hot chocolate to my room at 11pm when I was craving it and asked where I could find a local cafe. She had this "we can do anything for you" attitude that made us feel heavenly. When I called the front desk about negotiating valet price, the staff member asked me "what do you think is reasonable?" I gave him my answer and he said "okay, it's done." The valet service was great also. We called from our room when we wanted our car and by the time we got downstairs our car was ready. The hotel provides lemonade and ice tea from 2-4pm. The decor is very modern and comfortable. They have a lounge area downstairs w/ this really cool microsoft computer (kind of like a Ipad..not sure what it's called). My husband and I sat downstairs for a bit just enjoying the view and playing on the computer. The pool area was beautiful and relaxing. The staff person set us up on loungers w/ towels and water. The spa is free for hotel guests. The gym is very clean and modern w/ individual tvs for each machine. The spa has a Hammam (kinda weird but nice feeling), a quiet room, and a detox chamber (not co ed). The detox chamber was kinda dingy though and took awhile to heat up. Otherwise, everything was absolutely amazing! Oops, forgot to mention the complimentary continental breakfast every morning (although we slept in and only used it one day).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2010
nadiashahmalik:
Thank you for taking a moment to write such a fantastic contribution.
Thank you for mentioning the amazingly friendly service.
We look forward to your return stay with us.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,948 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,425
    351
    93
    50
    29
See reviews for
369
744
99
389
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010 via mobile

First time to a Kimpton hotel & The Epic didnt let us down. We came here on our Honeymoon & found the hotel to be excellent in service & quality. The only 2 downside were the continental breakfast, very good; but the same everyday. The price of the car park is $32 per night, it's the only thing that's overpriced in the hotel.

The food is great from their main resturant Area 31. Drinks are a little over priced, but thats quiet common in Miami.

The concierge was great, arranged a hire car, several trips & gave us discount vouchers too.

Overall, a great Hotel!!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2010
Jezza2010:
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great contribution.
Congratulations on your recent wedding and thank you for choosing us to spend your honeymoon. We hope to see you again each year on your anniversaries.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

The positives

This hotel is beautifully appointed, the room was excellent and had decent views.
The pool staff were excellent
Food and drink prices were reasonable

The Negatives

The pool is undergoing maintenance work during the week therefore suffers from contants tile grinding noise and dust for most of the day. The workers laying the tiles are the slowest in history and a small house could have been built in the time that a few tiles were laid. Not in the least bit relaxing.

Poolside meal of Cuban Panini was sub standard, fatty pork and frazzled fries, not good. Also reuested a Burger via a room service which was undercooked causing me stomach cramps, again not good

Thursday 7th had some sort of event outside which mean extremely loud music played till around 11pm (DJ and Percussionist), not the worst thing to occur but after a day of being at the pool with the tile grinding noise there for 8 hours it was too much noise for one day.

Friday 7th - Went for a drink on the terrace at 6, in the space of a half hour not one member of staff took an order from me, just kept walking passed me, eventually I went to the bar and requested a drink (Corona). The girl serving then disappeared into the restaurant as there was none in the bar. After 5 minutes she eventually returns with 2 glasses of White Wine (who for I dont know as no one else was at the bar), she sees me mutters Corona under her breath and then disappears for another 5 minutes, 40 minutes after getting to the bar I now have a drink (hooray). The bar wasn't busy and its apparrent they were short staffed as the girl was the only one serving, at the same time she was delievering food to tables so I'll not blame her too much but the hotel has to take note, customers having to wait 40 minutes to get served is not good service. In the space of 3 hours I managed to get 2 drinks in total.

Saturday - some idiot in another room decides to start playing loud dance music from their room at around 1:30=2 am, not the fault of the hotel and not sure of the hotel had it stopped as it seemed to stop after about 30 minutes.

Sunday - Downpour of rain meant the outside terrace wasnt really an option, went to the bar downstairs on the 1st floor to discover the dont open Sundays, what sort of hotel doesnt open their bar on a weekend???)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2010
JK57:
Thank you for taking the time to write to us about your experience.
Let me first sincerely apologize for all the inconveniences which occurred through out your stay with us. We will address all the Food and Beverage opportunities immediately. I am a bit surprised that the pool team did not discuss the option of spending the day at the private resident pool with you. We do mention all pertinent renovation information on all major websites. From August 9th to September 2nd we will be performing preventative maintenance on our pool deck again and will also be offering as we were two weeks ago the option to utilize our private residents pool deck; which has great sun in the afternoon. I will be in touch personally immediately to apologize. Thank you again for your experience.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

I stayed at the Epic with my husband & two young children (7 & 4) recently at the start of our summer holiday. None of us could get over how friendly and helpful everyone was & how welcome we were made feel. The kids were asked their names by staff when they first met and from then on were always greeted by name with a smile. Nothing was too much trouble and we truly felt like VIPs the whole time we were there.
We had a huge one-bedroom suite, which was amazing! It had everything we could need during our stay and was immaculately clean. Housekeeping was never visible and yet the room was cleaned and turned down each day to a very high standard.
The pool area was stunning and again spotlessly clean. The choice of two pools meant that we didn't feel our kids slashing around was disturbing any of the other guests. Both were monitored constantly and again anything we needed was to hand.
We ate in Area 31 and couldn't fault it. The food was fresh and very well prepared, service was excellent. The kids also found it interesting being able to watch the chefs at work in the kitchen.
We have stayed in a lot of hotels but even my husband who travels a lot with work argrees that this is one of the best we have ever stayed in. I would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2010
sol1905:
Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic contribution.
We truly appreciate hearing about your experience and we love the recommendation.
We look forward to your return the next time you visit Miami.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenos aires
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

Hello, I have been staying in this hotel till its opening in Dec08. Its has improved in many areas and others are worst, but the fundamental thing it´s that the Management worries about their guests and that its always a good sign. Our last stayed (Jun2010) was very good, the room, the staff, the breakfast, the spa, were perfect, but we found the gym cleanliness a disaster and that´s why I mark very low the hotel this time. I found improvemnts at Area 31 were we´ve dinner with friends 1 night and Zuma it´s a great restaurant but the kitchen smells a lot.
This last time I was hesitating between the Epic and the Mandarin, so we went twice to the Mandarin to visit and to eat and I think we made the right choice. The Mandarin is a beautiful hotel, very well decor, but the location of the Epic is better and the gym and pool are larger.
So in downtwon Miami this is my choice !!.
Hola, me he alojado en este hotel desde que inauguro en Dic08. Ha mejorado en algunas areas y empeorado en otras, pero lo importante es que al Administrador le importan sus huespedes y eso es un buen signo. Esta vez encontre todo bien, menos la limpieza del gimnasio, que era un desastre. A mi me encanta entrenar y si bien el gimnasio cuento con cleanex para que cada cual limpie los equipos, lo que encontre en muy malas condiciones fue la limpieza en general. Area 31 esta mejor, el menu muy bueno y rico y Zuma me gusto pero la cocina larga mucho olor en el ambiente y eso me molesto. En este viaje estaba indecisa entre alojarme en el Epic o en el Mandarin, entonces fui a conocer el Mandarin. El hotel esprecioso, ubicado con una vista increible a la bahia de Biscayne, pero encontre que en cuanto a ubicacion, gimnasio y pileta el Epic es mejor. Depsues de 6 estadias el Epic sigue siendo mi eleccion en el downtown Miami.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2010
blueBuenosAires:
Thank you for returning to the EPIC. We truly appreciate you choosing us as your home away from home in Miami. I sincerely apologize for the cleanliness concerns in the fitness center, they have been addressed. The goal of all our employees here at EPIC involves exceeding all our guests’ expectations; it is not only the managers who care dearly about our guests. If you don't mind I will send you a quick email; regarding your next stay; it would be my pleasure to coordinate your reservation and insure that we exceed your expectations.
I look forward to your next stay with us; hopefully you will have a few moments to touch base in person.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stouty01
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

We recently stayed in the Epic while on honeymoon and from the moment we arrived after a long flight we felt like we were in heaven. The staff were incredibly welcoming and friendly. We arrived just in time for free wine hour which is a really nice touch. contary to other advice about downtown Miami we found it very pleasant and safe and walked to Bayside every evening for drinks and found the Epic to be in an excellant location.

Our room had a great view and we can see now what people meant about the comfy beds.We had room serivce for breakfast one morning and it was superb. The Epic was first of four hotels we were to stay during our vacation and it really set a high standard. also the pool area was amazing just like in the pictures and we spent a lovely morning in sun there. We dont have any complaints and wish we didnt live so far away so we could visit there more often....!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2010
stoutyo1:
Thank you for taking a few moments to write such an amazing contribution.
We look forward to your return stay with us.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

My company set me up at this hotel for three nights and it did not disappoint! I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. I was working during the day close by but enjoyed every moment I spent at this hotel. First the front door entry started with a nice hello and smile, check in went smoothly. The room was exceptional, large, clean, amazing decor with a very clean Miami hip style to it. My fiance was with me and we just loved it. We want to remodel our bathroom in our home the same style...we had room service a couple of times the food was awesome! We will definetely be back to enjoy a weekend trip with our little Pom Pom. Kudos to The Epic....

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2010
shlvallejo:
Thank you for taking the time to contribute such an excellent contribution.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Miami
#3 Spa Hotel in Miami
#3 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#5 Family Hotel in Miami
#5 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new EPIC Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Miami, a sparkling cosmopolitan destination on the bank of the Miami River where it meets Biscayne Bay. A stunning addition to Miami, this hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, epitomizes urban design while offering guests a level of style and service expected of such a resort. With exceptional amenities, breathtaking views and dining venues like Area 31, EPIC Hotel makes for an unparalleled Miami experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Jetsetter, Amex, Venere and Otel so you can book your EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epic Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.