We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Hotel for Business” 5 of 5 stars
Review of EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% off
Ranked #7 of 115 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Outstanding Hotel for Business”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

I was in Miami mid January on a photo shoot . I have stayed at many fine hotels throughout the country, "The Epic" ranks as one of my best experiences. My clients and colleagues simply cannot say enough about this hotel! The views of the intercoastal are great, the staff was very attentive, the rooms spacious and well appointed. We all preferred the downtown location to the beach area, for business it was quieter, yet conveniently located. My hats off to the management for meeting our requests and exceeding our expectations. Because of our stay we are looking at the Kimpton properties in Dallas for our next shoot. Thanks again for a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2010
fuji680:
Thank you for taking the time to write such a fabulous contribution. Thank you also for mentioning that we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to hosting your next photo shoot in Miami.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,739
    455
    135
    68
    40
See reviews for
465
912
121
524
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (628)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

I was in Miami mid January on a photo shoot . I have stayed at many fine hotels throughout the country, "The Epic" ranks as one of my best experiences. My clients and colleagues simply cannot say enough about this hotel! The views of the intercoastal are great, the staff was very attentive, the rooms spacious and well appointed. We all preferred the downtown location to the beach area, for business it was quieter, yet conveniently located. My hats off to the management for meeting our requests and exceeding our expectations. Because of our stay we are looking at the Kimpton properties in Dallas for our next shoot. Thanks again for a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

I recently stayed at The Epic in Miami and it was truly an exceptional stay. The pool was the star and so were the employees that ran the area. They treated us very well with service and kindness. My kids 15 and 18 liked the area and hotel much better than the South Beach hotel we stayed at last year. We could walk to restaurants and shopping from the hotel and we went shopping at The Sawgrass Mills Outlet Mall.
Thanks for a great stay !

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2010
smithbenz:
Thank you for taking the time to write an exceptional contribution. Thank you also for mentioning that the pool area staff exceeded your expectations. Thank you finally for staying with us and we look forward to you return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West New York, NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

My partner and I booked our stay for 5 nights at the Epic because of its status as the #1 hotel in Miami on Tripadvisor, and because we were able to find a pretty good flight+room deal online. We didn't realize that we'd be so far from any beach when we booked--if you look at the Epic's website, it deceptively shows pictures of beaches and the South Beach area, when in fact the Epic is a $25 cab ride from South Beach or any of Miami's other nice neighborhoods (Coconut Grove, Coral Gables). The Epic is in downtown Miami, and there's not a lot to do nearby. There is the Bayside Marketplace, but this is pretty much a tourist trap with limited shopping (national chain stores mixed with junky souvenir shops) and food options, and pricy bus or boat tours. One of my main disappointments with the Epic's concierge and front desk staff is that they seemed to have limited knowledge of the options available in the Downtown area. For instance, we asked one evening about good, reasonably priced restaurants in the area for dinner. The concierge told us that "pretty much everything closes at 6pm downtown", except for fast food, expensive restaurants and the Marketplace. However, we ventured onto the mainly deserted streets one night and found a half dozen nice, inviting, reasonably priced places in the area (Ecco Pizzateca is an example). Why isn't the concierge desk on top of this? Granted, this hotel may cater mostly to rich business travellers with expense accounts who don't think twice about dropping $500/meal, but the concierge should be prepared to assist a spectrum of guests with different requests. On another occasion, I called the concierge desk but got no answer, so I called the front desk. I asked the agent who answered if she could suggest any gay nightlife spots on a weeknight. She giggled and stammered that "I don't have any idea about that" and she said she'd have a concierge call us back. After a couple of hours, we didn't receive a personal call from the concierge; instead a list was slipped under our door. This was effective (if tardy), but it lacked the personal touch of the expected phone call. Another example of a lack of sensitivity when dealing with gay/lesbian customers came upon our check-in. We were informed by the front desk agent that we'd been offered a water view upgrade, but she then said there must be a mistake because there was only one king bed in the room. Rather than telling us the room description and allowing us to correct her if this wasn't what she wanted, she assumed that it was a "mistake". Generally, the staff was friendly without being aggressive; they were there to help if you needed them. However, we had some problems with botched room service orders, including missing items. We were also a bit peeved to find out that a large gratuity was already added to the room service charge; although the people who delivered the food tried to resist taking a tip, they still took it when we insisted, and without mentioning that the tip was included. For us, the treat/splurge of our vacation was staying in a five-star hotel, so we were trying to spend within reason in other areas. If you rent a car, the Epic will charge you $35/day to park, and for us this was out of the question. If you want to see a lot of different parts of Miami, the Gray Line tour bus is a decent option; tickets can be purchased at Bayside Marketplace for $20/day. If you are only interested in going back and forth to South Beach, you can catch a $2 public transit bus, the S or the C--it's fast, convenient and reasonably safe. A word about Area 31: the food was only so-so and the portions were tiny. But the worst part of our dining experience was when our server lied to us and told us only the prix fixe menu was available because it was Valentine's Day. Having just gotten to the hotel from the airport, we weren't interested in a four-course menu with wines at $155/person. When we pointed out to this server that an a la carte menu was delivered to our table that said "Happy Valentine's Day", our server reluctantly admitted that a limited a la carte menu was available, but she said "these aren't our best dishes". When we decided to share an appetizer and order two main courses and no drinks, she became brusk and unfriendly. Only later when we ordered desserts and a bottle of wine did she decide to be attentive and friendly again. If we wanted crappy, NYC-style service with attitude, we could've stayed home. All our other experiences with waitstaff at other Miami restaurants were satisfactory to fantastic--our only bad experience was at Area 31. I feel as if I've concentrated only on the negatives, so let me address some positives. The views of the bay are beautiful, and they afford you a view of the Epic's pools below. The pools are every bit as beautiful as they appear on the Epic's website. If the weather had been warmer, I'm sure I would've spent lots of time poolside. The gym is small, but has top-notch equipment in a pleasant setting. Our room was very spacious,although the decor was fairly bland/safe modern. The beds and the bed linens are heavenly and luxurious. The room service breakfast, while overpriced, is absolutely delicious. The complimentary wine hour is a wonderful, unique touch. The housekeeping staff did a great job with turn-down service; even though we spent a lot of time in the room, we were never disturbed and upon our return, the room was always perfectly tidy.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2010
departingNWK:
Thank you for taking the time to contribute such a detailed review. Thank you also for mentioning that you enjoyed the daily wine hour, nightly turndown service and the friendly staff, there to help when needed. Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants strives to create a work force as diverse, inclusive and multifaceted as its customer base; I am very sorry about the lack of sensitivity and the service opportunities toward your preferences. Your feedback and detail will be immediately addressed. We look forward to your next stay.
Warmest Regards,
Sean McKeen
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

I would stay again if the price is affordable. This is a fabulous hotel, but it is not on the beach, but it is on a "bay." Great service. Restaurant was expensive and location is so-so, so make sure you get a car. Great if you don't want to be too much in the mix of south beach, but just 5-10 min from it.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2010
missdai:
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great contribution. Thank you for mentioning the fabulous property and the great service. We look forward to your return visit.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, PA
Level Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

After staying at another property for a business meeting, my wife and I spent three days and two nights at the Epic because it was ranked #1 by Tripadvisor. The property is first class, and the hotel staff offers superb attention and service. It was obvious to me that the restaurant and bar are operated by an outside concession. The food quality is good but not great, and the restaurant service is relatively inattentive and unskilled, especially in comparison to the superb manner in which the Epic is otherwise managed. The property is a short walk from the Bayside specialty retail area and many other downtown attractions, as well as a short taxi ride to almost everywhere else; so the disappointing food service can be avoided. The mattress was softer than I prefer or expected, but it was not such a problem that I complained or lost sleep. The exercise room offers a variety and reasonable quantity of cardio and weight training equipment, but it felt crowded in the AM. The two pools are beautiful with exceptional service and skyline views; and even though I am a beach lover, they are more comfortable than a beach. Although the Epic is expensive, it is an outstanding property and I have no regrets about staying there. I do hope that the food concession is either changed or forced to improve their standards to better match the overall quality of product and service that I otherwise found at the Epic.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2010
DaveMechanicsburg_PA:
Thank you for taking the time to write such an outstanding contribution. Thank you for mentioning the hotel staff and superb attention. We look forward to your return visit.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

Highly recommended place to stay, comfortable beds, great restaurants, great nightlife on the weekends.

Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2010
Mrperryjr:
Thank you for taking the time to write such an excellent contribution. Thank you for recommending our property to others.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Downtown
Viceroy Miami
Viceroy Miami
#15 of 115 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 1,123 reviews
Conrad Miami
#8 of 115 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Miami
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#6 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#8 Family Hotel in Miami
#8 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EPIC Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Miami, a sparkling cosmopolitan destination on the bank of the Miami River where it meets Biscayne Bay. A stunning addition to Miami, this hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, epitomizes urban design while offering guests a level of style and service expected of such a resort. With exceptional amenities, breathtaking views and dining venues like Area 31, EPIC Hotel makes for an unparalleled Miami experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epic Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.