We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fine Kimpton hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% off
Ranked #6 of 112 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
milan, italy
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
132 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Another fine Kimpton hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

Excellent and friendly service, elegant rooms (on the smallish side, though), exceptional views. Breakfast wasn't top notch. But then again a good value for money choice, if you get a convenient rate.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2009
lucaerrante:
Thank you for taking the time to write your fantastic contribution. We love short and concise feedback which mentions both friendly service and service excellence. We look forward to your next visit with us at the EPIC.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,651
    427
    127
    66
    34
See reviews for
446
863
114
488
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
beatricepugzilla
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2009

Just left the hotel this AM - From check in to check out my exerience was FANTASTIC at the Epic. All of the concierges working on the Club Level are absolutely wonderful. Gene was truly impressive and a wealth of knowledge and an all around great guy and Jullian (I think that is his name) runs a very close second - but I have to say that everyone was TOP NOTCH. I am currently trying to find another reason I have to come to Miami as soon as I can so I can once again stay in the Epic.
I travel at least 3 weeks a month for work and EPIC is now the number one of all hotels I have styed in this year in the US.
WOW - and I will be telling my Company's meeting planner in case other folks in my Company need a hotel in Miami.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2009
beatricepugzilla:
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such an awesome contribution. It thrills us to hear that you enjoyed your stay on the club level and that you received impressive service. Gene and the team will be recognized for exceeding your expectations. We look forward to your return visit at the EPIC and your companies visit as well.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2009

Stayed in the Epic for my sons wedding which was on The Biscayne Lady. The boat docked right next to the hotel. What a joy to be able to walk out of your hotel and board and return right back to your hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2009
dunstac:
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful contribution. Congratulations on your sons wedding and thank you for choosing the EPIC for such a momentous occasion. We love to share in creating life long memories. We hope to see you on your anniversaries.
Warmest Regards,
Sean McKeen
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2009

My friend and I went for a girl's weekend and were very disappointed. The hotel is a high rise, and we were given a room on the 18th floor. Unfortunately, they failed to tell us that construction was taking place on the 16th floor. Instead of moving us to a higher room, they offered to buy us a meal. The service was hit-or-miss. The restaurant staff could not have been nicer; however, others were less accomodating. The cleaning service basically made the beds and picked up the towels. They'd leave room service trays in the room, didn't wipe down tables, etc. All-in-all, not a great experience for the cost.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2009
akearns:
Thank you very much for the contribution. I sincerely apologize for the noise complaints, the housekeeping opportunities and for the way the matter was handled. In no way is this the level of service we intend to deliver or how we expect our guests to feel. All items will be rectified immediately. I hope you allow us another chance to create the experience you were expecting.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

After a morning fraught with endless line-ups and silly airline delays, after an overly long shuttle ride from the airport - arriving at Epic was heaven. Check in took all of 1 minute. We checked out the beautiful room - with a bathroom to die for! Double sinks, rainforest shower head, deep soaking tub. Ahh. Having a computer with internet in the room was very convenient.

We decided to relax by the pool. Even though it was a windy day, staff ensured we were in the sun but out of the wind. After a few hours of lounging and having a nice lunch by teh pool we returned to our room for a short nap - sadly that turned into a 2 hour nap which caused us to miss the wine reception. DH was so comfy he refused to leave. We ended up dining at Area 31 - great food, good service.

After a good night's sleep, we decided to explore around the hotel a little. Not a bad walk along the waterway to Bayside market.

Check out was great - staff even lent us a stapler to attach our cruise tags to the suitcases!

This is the first time I felt I got my money's worth at a hotel. Great service, super staff, very clean rooms.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2009
bunnyette:
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a beautiful and warm contribution.
Thank you for mentioning the great value and the great service.
We look forward to your return visit with us at the EPIC.
Warmest Regards,
Sean McKeen
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paducah, KY
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2009

Let me start by saying we have stayed in several Kimpton Hotels around the country and every time our stay is top notch. Our one-night pre-cruise stay at the Epic Hotel was no different. Originally, I booked through the Kimpton website for a city view room at an AAA rate. Decided at the last minute to check Hotwire to see what was available and save a few $$$$. I was pleasantly surprised to receive the Epic.

From our arrival (being given cold water and towels) to the check in, everyone we encountered was extremely friendly and courteous and not in the "I have to" forced sort of way. Loved the decor and ambience of the room and the large bathroom. Also loved the computer in the room. Free Internet if you are an InTouch member.

Considering this was book via "Third Party." I expected the good old "Third Party" sort of treatment from the staff and receive an inferior room. Nothing of the sort. We did stay with a city view but what a gorgeous city! I was particularly impressed that the check-in person knew about my allergy to cats and dogs (this is listed on my Kimpton InTouch membership profile and not sure how they were able to cross reference since this was a Hotwire reservation) and made sure that we were placed on a pet-free floor. Very much appreciated!

My son wasn't feeling well so we decided to order room service instead of going down to the restaurant. They also made him something that wasn't normally available during that time period, which again we appreciated.

Had a chance to view the exercise room and pool areas -- very nice.

We have decided from now on whenever we cruise out of Miami, we will be choosing the Epic once again because it was so close to the Port of Miami. That was just the icing on the cake! We are also looking at returning to the Epic for a weeks-long vacation and being able to enjoy the hotel. No problems here. I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2009
jdvmd:
Thank you so much for the top notch contribution. We are so happy that we were able to accommodate for your allergy those are the reason we have Kimpton Loyalty profiles. We hope to create experiences based on your preferences. We are also happy to read that we made a special meal for your son when he wasn't feeling well.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2009

That's what my dictionary definition of "epic" says.....and it does...by a long long way. I can confirm what the other reviews have said so won't go through it all again. All the staff were great........but the concierge Andres was truly outstanding in his work for me before we arrived, and his care and consideration for when we did arrive, made it completely special....an epic guy.

Not everything is flawless but the flaws are so minor and the teams so keen to remedy that they get forgotten in all the good things. Nothing is a problem and they are very mature in the hotelkeeping skills.

The location on the Miami River is spectacular...you will be loathe to leave the hotel, but there are things near if you fancy a walk. Mary Brickell village is 10 mins away and is a pleasant place to pass an evening.

Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2009
Dorsetblue:
Thank you so much for the heartfelt contribution. Thank you for mentioning Andres and his outstanding service. We look forward to your return.

Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Miami
#5 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#5 Family Hotel in Miami
#5 Spa Hotel in Miami
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#7 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EPIC Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Miami, a sparkling cosmopolitan destination on the bank of the Miami River where it meets Biscayne Bay. A stunning addition to Miami, this hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, epitomizes urban design while offering guests a level of style and service expected of such a resort. With exceptional amenities, breathtaking views and dining venues like Area 31, EPIC Hotel makes for an unparalleled Miami experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epic Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.