We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying at the Epic truly is Epic!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% Off + FREE Upgrade
Ranked #5 of 130 hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersGold level
Hoboken, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Staying at the Epic truly is Epic!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

I stayed here with my husband for two nights prior to leaving on a cruise. The hotel is located a short drive from the Port of Miami and South Beach! We loved this hotel! The service was amazing! The staff was so attentive and professional. Even down to calling you a cab, and bringing you cold water as you waited outside - there was always someone nearby to make sure your needs were being attended to. The hotel also has a great "happy hour" each evening with free red and white wine and sangria, which was a great way to wind down after a long day at the beach! Our room on the 25th floor was spacious, beautiful and clean! The bed was so comfortable, and it also had a terrace with a great view of the city and the water! Also, the rooms have free internet access. I could go on and on about how much we loved this hotel. Our only regret is not staying longer! We had an amazing experience here, and we will definitely be returning to this, and other Kimpton hotels in the future!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,930 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,414
    345
    93
    50
    28
See reviews for
377
748
101
392
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
phoenix, az
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2009

I love Kimptons, and that was the reason I booked my stay at Epic, but I must say, for the first time ever, a hotel has exceeded my expectations. The rooms at Epic are simply gorgeous, and the service is amazing. Whatever it is, you just have to ask for it, and the staff make it happen.

The hotel is within a short walking distance of Key Brickell, a most charming little island with a walking/jogging trail boasting incredible views of the Bay. There are plenty of great restaurants nearby. I didn't rent a car and walked everywhere, and felt very safe. I caught a city bus to South Beach, and that was easy and comfortable, and for $2 you can't beat it!

I skipped breakfast at the hotel and instead went to Starbuck's two blocks away. There is also a CVS on the same block,which is super convenient.

The only negative experience I had was at the restaurant - Area 31. While the service is still very friendly and attentive, the food is not good, and menu selections are very limited. There is no ambiance whatsoever. The restaurant gives you the feeling of being at a bus station. On the other hand, the simple lunch time menu at the pool is great and very reasonably priced. And they really go out of their way to serve you.

Don't miss the wine reception/social hour 5-6 p.m by the pool. It is hosted by their concierge staff, who are super gracious, friendly and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

We stayed at the Kimpton for one night after a long flight from the UK (about a 15 minute drive from the airport). The hotel is amazingly plush and glamourous, but the location in the heart of the business district leaves it feeling a little bleak and impersonal. I would definitely recommend it for a one or two night stay, but not for a longer holiday - all the action is down on South Beach, which unfortunately is not walking distance from the hotel.

On the plus side, the rooms were beautifully decorated, spacious and comfortable with free internet access , amazing views and a lovely bathroom. The 16th floor swimming pool is wonderful, again with stunning views across the bay - however, it can get very windy so worth bagging one of the private pool cabanas to shelter from the wind.

Cocktails from the bar were large and expensive - we didn't eat in the hotel, but walked to a local restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanmckeenmiami, Resort Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2009
gingerwife:
Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We are happy that your review noted amazingly plush facilities and beautifully appointed rooms. Developing our concierge team to create personalized, guest experiences are paramount. The next time you are in town for a short stay; please allow us to create a unique experience in vibrant downtown Miami. There are plenty of new hot locales; perhaps you needed a few recommendations.
Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to your return.
Best Regards
Sean McKeen
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima - Peru
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

Great hotel!!! I stayed there for two days and the experience was unique. The room was huge and clean, with a great view of the bay and the pool (18 th floor). Also it had a computer with free internet an TV plasma. The bathroom was stylish and had a glassless window through to the bedroom, had a rain shower and a tub.

I didn`t go to the restaurant so I didn`t have the opportunity to try the food.

I defintely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dc
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

Fantanstic. Every person has a smile on their face. Every person has a desire to service you. Every person wants to make a difference in your stay. This hotel tells a great story. It is the BEST.
Great location, Great views, Great food, Great service, Great people, Great rooms

This location has it ALL---

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treasure Island, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2009

When my husband was booked on the Heat basketball gig and we got our confirmation for the hotel booking, I said "The Epic? What is an "Epic"? I've never heard of them." So I checked out the website. It sure looked nice, but I had not been and I didn't know anyone else that had been, so I really didn't know what to expect. From the moment we arrived, tired from the 5 hour drive, we were truly treated like royality by every staff member we encountered. Valet, Bell and Check-in were smooth, swift and friendly. Before we knew it, we were in our gorgeous room with a bucket of ice and a breath-taking view. We cleaned up in the soaking tub and spacious shower and then sat on our balcony to take in the cool Miami night. It didn't take long until the bed called to us to sink into it's luxurious softness. I have to say it was one of the best nights sleep I have ever had!! The next day as we left to walk down to the Arena, we asked directions from one of the staff. As he walked us down to the street to see us in the right direction, he asked us how our room was. We told him how lovely we thought it was and he asked if we had a coffee-maker. I told him we didn't and that we would love to have a coffee-maker in the room since we had already had to order two pots of coffee...it being one of our favorite drinks. A couple of hours later, after we had gotten back from our walk, our coffee-maker arrived - along with a lovely hand-written note and a plate of fruit. We were so stunningly touched by this. We are both well traveled and we travel quite a bit with my husband's job - but we have never had such friendly and personal service at any of the other hotels we have stayed in. The staff at the Epic really go above and beyond - and are the reason we will make a point of returning. While the hotel itself is really beautiful, it is the staff that sets it apart from all of the others. It was an absolutely Blissful week-end that we spent at the Epic. There IS still at least ONE hotel that understands that SERVICE makes all the difference in the world in a time when so many other hotels seem to have forgotten this important fact. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta Ga
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2009

I travel a lot with my job, so it takes an impressive hotel for me to do a review. Epic hotel was not only beautiful, but the service was amazing. We never heard the word no. From a lint brush to making copies to taking two buckets of ice to a meeting offsite with us (if we promised to return them), they accomodated every need. And Area 31 was an amazing restaurant. The food was delish!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Miami
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#3 Spa Hotel in Miami
#3 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#5 Business Hotel in Miami
#5 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new EPIC Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Miami, a sparkling cosmopolitan destination on the bank of the Miami River where it meets Biscayne Bay. A stunning addition to Miami, this hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, epitomizes urban design while offering guests a level of style and service expected of such a resort. With exceptional amenities, breathtaking views and dining venues like Area 31, EPIC Hotel makes for an unparalleled Miami experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Amex, Agoda, getaroom.com, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epic Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.