We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“May 1-3, 2015” 2 of 5 stars
Review of EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% off
Ranked #6 of 111 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Miami, Florida
1 review
“May 1-3, 2015”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Dogs barking on floors, concierge lounge was a joke with cold food/coffee, room service forgot items then took forever to get delivered, and woman scheduling groups was very disorganized and didn't seem to have clue as to originally submitted itinerary. Location is nice .. Several restaurants and a Whole Foods just blocks away (which was perfect for actually buying a hot cup of coffee). Room was pretty and view nice over water. Nightlife great but bar service outside by pool was horrendous ... 19 mins to get 2 beers with 4 Bartenders/2 waitresses and only 6 customers. Terrible.

Room Tip: Don't pay for concierge access until they have made major changes. No hot food (cold oatmeal Fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,639
    420
    125
    65
    34
See reviews for
442
855
114
479
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (585)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

During our holiday trip to USA, we stayed at this amazing hotel for 2 days in Miami. I wish we could have stayed more, because It was literally awesome! Honestly I was not expecting that much when I reserved it from booking's website but when I saw the hotel with my eyes I couldn't believe it! I is such an amazing hotel, easily comparable with bellagio or Ceaser's Palace in Las Vegas in terms of luxury. It faces the river and luxurious yachts, the world's most famous cars line up at the door and many events are held everynight. They also have an amazing pool and bars with beautiul view. Employees are also very cheerful and fun, they wear unique uniforms too!

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachwood, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Many people have had great experiences here. Unfortunately we were not among them. The room was fine-no complaints there. In fact it is the first time we had notified a hotel about an early arrival and the room was actually ready (10:30 AM)!! However when we went to try and get breakfast in the restaurant, we were told that breakfast was over, despite a lot of food on the buffet still being out and available. We arrived on a Friday, and Friday evening there was live music by the pool, which are room overlooked.as well as the intracoastal. This persisted well in to the early morning hours and made sleep difficult. On both Saturday and Sunday, there was a DJ at poolside blasting loud, pounding music all afternoon. This was loud enough that even with noise canceling earbuds, I had trouble listening to my own music and/or a book on tape. Other than these issues, we found the hotel to be clean, the staff friendly and attentive and responsive. It's location provides easy access to south Beach which we went to for dinner Friday evening. Trying to get back in to the hotel was nearly impossible. It took us 20-30 min to go 1/2 block just to get in the hotel's driveway. Evidently this is a weekly occurrence. Unless you are in to the downtown "hip" miami scene, avoid the weekends. Great local restaurants within walking distance.

Room Tip: Water view was superb with great view of intracoastal.
See more room tips
Green Features: Great that they participate in this but don't make a huge issue of it. It is done quietly.
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka N, General Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Mark K:

Thanks for taking the time to reach out to us at EPIC. I am glad that we were able to accommodate your early arrival. It's always exciting when we can take care of your needs so easily. I am however disappointed by how intrusive the noise was. It should not be so loud that you can hear it in the room. I will be following up with the DJ to address the volume so that this does not happen to another guest. We hope that you will come back again and let us prove to you what an even more EPIC stay feels like.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Epic is the perfect property to stay at when wanting to turn a concert at the Arsht Center into a Staycation! One of the great benefits was being able to walk from the Epic to the nearby People Mover and being dropped off with a short walk to the Arsht Center. Their conceirge clearly directed us where to catch it. Didnt have to deal with the traffic or parking! Our Room was on the 29th floor and WOW / what a room and what a view! Everyone at the Epic we came into contact with was helpful and friendly. Had appetizers and mojitos beforehand at their outside Pool Bar and it was convenient without having to go anywhere else. Only complaint was that we only had a one night stay/ next time we will stay the whole weekend!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka N, General Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
TvlforGood:

Wow, what a perfect review, thank you so much! We are just delighted by everything you wrote. It really is so convenient to be this close to the Arsht Center. Miami night's filled with theatre are the best. We can't wait to welcome you back for a weekend retreat next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had originally booked a room at another hotel when our travel agent recommended The Epic Hotel for our pre-cruise stay for the night and we were so glad we listened to his advice. We arrived just after 6pm. and had missed the wine hour but luckily we had added on the club level access. After checking into our water view room, we decided to head up to the 29th floor to unwind from a busy travel day with cocktails and a bite to eat. We were greeted by the club level concierge who handed us an envelope containing hotel information and entertainment options in and around the hotel and Miami itself. We originally planned to stay for a cocktail before heading off to dinner, but the views and service were endless so most of our evening was spent here soaking up the hospitality and the Miami vibe.
After dinner we retired to our well appointed room for the night. Once you open the door, you are greeted with Miami chic flair. From the marble tiled bathroom complete with a separate water closet, double vessel sinks, large soaking tub as well as a large shower complete with a rain head. The king sized bed was extremely comfortable and perfect for watching the evening news on the huge lcd tv. The office/desk area was complete with internet connections and plenty of outlets for charging your personal electronics. What really pushed this room over the top were the water views from the expansive balcony. We were sorry to leave the next morning but will definitely be booking The Epic Hotel again but only this time we won't make the mistake of only staying for one night!!!

Room Tip: High floor water view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka N, General Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Mikesa1721:

You should have stayed longer! I absolutely loved reading your description of our hotel rooms, we could not have said it better ourselves. Nothing makes us more giddy than to read about a stay like this. The Club Lounge is such a convenient add on. Between the concierge service, 5 meal presentations, and bar in the evening, you never need to leave that room. We are so glad that your travel agent recommended giving us a visit. Let us know whenever you want to come by again, we can't wait to have you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I love Kimpton Hotels and have stayed at Kimptons in many cities. The Epic is one of the largest and most beautiful Kimptons. It is similar is being very customer friendly with good food and a nightly free wine hour. The hotel is downtown and sits on Biscayne Bay. There are city view and water view rooms. Our room overlooked the water. The room size was very large and the bathroom had double sinks, which helps when a couple is both trying to get ready. Breakfast in Area 31 restaurant was very good. We also had a great lunch there. We plan to return. The only negative is the driveway in front of the hotel that gets overly crowded. It takes a long time to get cars out of valet.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the elevators since they are loud. We had a water view room, but the upper floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka N, General Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Elliot S:

We just love this review. It's always great when we get to welcome our Kimpton Loyalists to our property. You know best what Kimpton is like, so your compliments mean so much to us. We are also so glad that you loved the size and views from our rooms. We really are lucky to have our location on the water. We can't wait to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I only got to spend one night at the Epic Hotel- Miami and all I can say is Wow. It was pure decadence. The views are out of this world. This was my first time to Miami with a couple of friends for a 50th Birthday and I can say that I will be back and I will definately stay at the Epic. I requested a water view on an upper floor and it did not dissapoint. From the minute you pull into the driveway, to the moment you walk into the beautiful lobby we were treated so well! The valet was quick, the bell service was great too. The Bell stayed with us through check-in (which was super fast) all the way to our room so we didn't have to wait for our luggage. The registrar was very friendly and informative along with giving us cards for complimentary drinks! The lobby had beautiful works of art (punk buddahs) and looked very comfortable. We requested a room on an upper level and we got it. The view from our balcony was breath taking! It was hard to leave the room! We went to Area 31 on the 16th floor for drinks later in the evening. You could see the yachts on the river below us. Off in the distance you can see the docks with South Beach all lit up too. There was a complimentary wine hour earlier in the evening and the wine was very nice. After having drinks in the bar (for which we met some really interesting people staying at the hotel) we went up stairs to get dressed for dinner. And I do mean dressed. The hotel is quite upscale! I do wish we had known that reservations at Zuma were necessary. We got to the restaurant at 9pm and there was an hour long wait- so make reservations when you check in! After walking along the waterfront and exploring the lobby some more, we actually ended up going back to our rooms and never went back for dinner. We spent the rest of the evening on our balcony just enjoying the views of Miami. We ordered room service coffee for the next morning and the server arrived promptly at the time we requested. The next day after check out we ended back up at Area 31 for lunch and it was the best meal we had during our vacation. I had the ceviche and grouper sandwhich. I'm hooked now. It was delicious. Our server was very imformative and helpful. She even arranged to have our car waiting for when our lunch was over. I can't say enough about our stay at this hotel. Don't get me wrong, it wasn't inexpensive but since there were 3 of us sharing the cost it was very do-able.

Room Tip: Upper floor was great but not necessary. I would definately reccomend paying extra for the water vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka N, General Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Tava R.

This review was an absolute pleasure to read. We could not be more flattered to hear all of these fantastic comments. Everything seemed flawless, from your time in the lobby, check in, your room, and the restaurant. This is exactly what we love to hear. Also, it sounds like the birthday celebration was a blast too. We love being a part of these exciting events. We can't wait to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Miami
#5 Family Hotel in Miami
#5 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#5 Spa Hotel in Miami
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#6 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new EPIC Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Miami, a sparkling cosmopolitan destination on the bank of the Miami River where it meets Biscayne Bay. A stunning addition to Miami, this hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, epitomizes urban design while offering guests a level of style and service expected of such a resort. With exceptional amenities, breathtaking views and dining venues like Area 31, EPIC Hotel makes for an unparalleled Miami experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epic Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.