We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud” 1 of 5 stars
Review of EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fly South w/ 20% off
Ranked #5 of 110 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Loud”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed here 4 times last fall and could not wait to leave. If you have a room near the elevator each time the elevator door opens you get a blast of loud music. And if your room is near the drawbridge you hear the traffic crossing the metal floored bridge. Apparently non guests use the pool as there were lots of locals there who were loud and crude. The breakfast is weak. It offers a buffet but nearly everytime I went they were out of several things. I was also disappointed in the cleanliness around the pool area. This may be a spot enjoyed by young people who want to stay up until 2 or later but it is not a good fit for anyone seeking a restful sleep with a good restaurant.

Room Tip: get a room that is above 20 and facing the bay, not the river or west.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,632
    419
    124
    63
    34
See reviews for
442
849
114
477
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (580)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed in the Epic exactly one year ago and loved it. I wrote a Tripadvisor review singing the hotel's praises. We were meeting up with some friends, this year, in Miami and didn't hesitate to recommend the Epic. We could have stayed at a similar standard property for a lot less dollar, but really looked forward to a return visit. What on earth has happened? Have the management changed. Something has. I now would NOT return to the Epic ever. I'll be trying the Intercontinental around the corner!! The staff are nowhere near as friendly or courteous as previously. The service is non existent, in fact I wondered if some staff had been let go? I saw some familiar faces - but not all. Pretty much all of the little touches we so loved and endeared us to the hotel have disappeared. Even the furniture in the rooms look tired. I could go into detail, but I know the Epic aren't interested - because if they are they would have addressed some issues during our stay! I did try to speak to someone but when I raised an issue at the desk - I was just told "I'm sorry to hear that". Last year the hotel were genuinely interested in hearing. Sorry guys - you've lost a guest and then some. Pity - I genuinely looked forward to going back. Disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Back in town on business and stayed here for the first time. It's a mix of business people and rich people and even residents as the first 14 floors are condos. The parking is a mandatory valet for close to $40 per night. It gets pretty crazy at dinnertime when everyone wants their car at once.

The business area was scant. There were two computers that worked fine, but a printer that was on the fritz. The front desk printed everything for me and had the belhop deliver it. Awesome service.

We ate breakfast daily at the buffet on the 16th floor overlooking the city. You can dine indoors or outdoors. The food was great. One the main floor they have a well respected Japanese restaurant but we didn't get to try it. Every evening they offer free wine from 5-6 in the main lobby. We may have tried that once or twice.

The room was clean, stylish, and quiet and came equipped with a balcony overlooking the city in my case. The flat screen TV looked 50 inches or so. Internet was pretty fast for a hotel. It had no problem loading webpages.

I plan to be back in Miami at least once in the next few months and I plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We had a one bedroom suite on the corner with a curved bedroom wall of windows, a bathroom with a balcony, and a living room with a large balcony that wrapped around the corner. Beautiful finishes. Lovely pool. Nice restaurant for lunch, great bar off the lobby with a bartender named Oscar who made interesting cocktails for me every night and a terrific looking lobby. Couldn't have been happier!

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I've never stayed in Miami Downton and I was gladly impressed, the quality and service aee really good, the rooms are big and everything is well taken care of. The area is vibrant and everything is really close! except the beach... of course

I'll definitively come back

Room Tip: look for the bay views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed at the Epic Miami from April 4th to April 9th. This place in the heart of downtown near great restaurants and bars. One of which is The River . Amazing food and oysters only 1.00 from 430 to 7 pm on weekdays. sooo gooood!!! If you are looking to head to the beach the hotel is a taxi drive out to South Beach but the pool on the 16th floor is just amazing. It was over Easter weekend and everyone was ready to party. It was great fun and recommended. Will be going again and again. Rico

Room Tip: what people don't know is every night in the lobby from 5 pm to 6 pm there is free wine for all
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Had a pleasant stay in suite that was large enough to accommodate family of five. Hotel staff was attentive and helpful. Spent one morning at the day spa. Services were excellent and reasonably priced. Rooms and common areas were up to date and well kept. Hotel located in the city about 15 minutes from south beach.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka N, General Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Fall5:

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us how great your stay with us was. We love hearing great compliments like this. Our suites truly do give you and your family the space you desire. I am also happy to hear how convenient you found our location. Downtown is fantastic because there are a plethora of local areas to hang out in, or you can be in South Beach in 15 minutes. We are all glad you enjoyed your stay and can't wait to roll out the red carpet for you on the next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Miami
#4 Business Hotel in Miami
#4 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#4 Spa Hotel in Miami
#5 Family Hotel in Miami
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new EPIC Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Miami, a sparkling cosmopolitan destination on the bank of the Miami River where it meets Biscayne Bay. A stunning addition to Miami, this hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, epitomizes urban design while offering guests a level of style and service expected of such a resort. With exceptional amenities, breathtaking views and dining venues like Area 31, EPIC Hotel makes for an unparalleled Miami experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epic Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.