We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shiny” 4 of 5 stars
Review of EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Upgrade Offer
Ranked #4 of 131 hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Shiny”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Glass, marble, and chrome. But still comfortable, very much due to the staff. I've stayed here many times and have never been treated anything but special. And I'm here on business, so I'm not a big spender, but it doesn't seem to matter. Don't be intimidated by the "beautiful people" coming and going. Just enjoy your little slice of the good life!

Room Tip: Though the rooms overlooking the bay and the pool have great views, you also have the noise of the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Shoppinggirl353
Thanks for your nice words. We are glad that each time you visit EPIC you feel comfy and getting pampered by our employees. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon. Please be our guest again.
EPIC wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,848 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,361
    328
    82
    50
    27
See reviews for
354
697
95
376
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My latest stay at the Epic was an example of the lengths the Kimpton staff will go to make the customer happy. Arguably one of the most beautiful properties in the Kimpton hotel chain, the Epic Hotel has proved itself a winner. Not at my best this visit, I arrived early to the hotel. Although assuming my room would not be ready, I had not dressed for Miami from New England. Seth M, one of the premier front desk staff members at any Kimpton I have stayed at (includes over 30 of them!) bent over backwards to allow me to 1) change into beachwear from travel-wear with no time limit while he monitored my luggage, 2) gave me a clothing bag for my change of clothes to store and called me when my room was ready later in the day. The next day, Seth took care of a few erroneous charges, that were gone within seconds before checking out. He and the rest of the staff amazed me when they took care of cleaning my room the following day late in the evening because I pressed the do not disturb button instead of the clean my room button. They abided by my incorrect wishes, never disturbing me, and Berthe of the service staff cleaned my room late night with a smile and a respectful demeanor. I do have status with the chain, but I am always so pleased to see all guests treated with such care! The onsite spa, infinity pool and bay view are all stunning. Thank you Epic.

Room Tip: Ask for a bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
tennis0101
Thanks for your amazing review. We are thrilled that our staff, especially Seth and Berthe made a lasting impression and provided amazing guest service. We appreciate your compliments EPIC being one of the best Kimpton properties you have ever visited and we are glad you enjoyed everything our hotel has to offer, from Exhale Spa, to our pool area with stunning views and our signature restaurant AREA31.
We are looking forward to your next stay.
EPIC wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I just spent the weekend at the Epic with my wife and we had a great time. The hotel is a little of the beaten path but you can walk to wherever you need.
The hotel itself is beautiful and the room was fantastic. We had a great balcony over the bay and had great views of Miami. The service was great and they couldn't do enough to help us out.
One complaint is that we had a room with an adjoining door. The noise from the room next door wad very loud especially at 1 am. The sound proofing is pretty bad. We mentioned it to the manager the next morning and he suggested to ask for a non-adjoining room next time. He gave us a credit on some bar charges which very nice.
The pool wad also great except one of the 2 pools was closed. There was a dj at the pool most of the day which added to the Miami vibe; it was a lot of fun.
Breakfast was also great.
Watch out for valet parking. It's $37/night but you don't have many options.
We will definitely stay there again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
safman16
Thanks for sharing your comments from your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear about the noises from the neighboring room, but we are glad our staff was rectifying it before you left. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our friendly and caring staff as well as the entertainment at our pool area on Saturdays.
We are looking forward to your next stay with us.
EPIC wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This hotel is an oasis set amongst the hustle and bustle of down town Miami. We were there for business and once that was finished we didn’t bother to leave the hotel – it had everything one could ask for. If you can pay the extra to be at the Club Level do so as it’s worth it. Floors 29 and 30 are only for Club guests, the views are incredible, your own balcony is very private, there is a private lounge and the concierges are friendly and professional.
The pool area is spectacular to say the least with Area 31 nearby you can always have a fabulous cocktail to enhance the experience.
If you want to see all the beautiful people; enjoy a meal at Zuma on the ground floor.
With all the beauty and facilities that such an amazing hotel has to offer it still wouldn’t be worth anything if the staff wasn’t as they are. From housekeeping, reception, concierge to super valets - the management must be congratulated on their staff who are all absolutely professional, helpful and friendly,. We hope to visit this delight on a regular basis.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
susan h
Thanks for your wonderful review. It makes us happy to hear that you stayed longer at EPIC after your business meeting and enjoyed the personalized and attentive service our club level offers. We appreciate your nice words regarding all our other amenities and we are looking forward to your next stay.
Please return soon.
EPIC wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Modern hotel in the city of Miami, the décor is clean and modern. The staff was attentive. There are two restaurants. Zuma is a Japanese restaurant and Area 31 is described as fresh seafood. Unfortunately, I arrived at the hotel late and when I went to Area 31 at 9:45, I could not get anyone to notice me (closed at 10:00) so I used in-room dining which was good. The rooms are clean and again, modern in décor. My only complaint is they are somewhat small, hence the 4 star rather than 5 star rating for the hotel. It is also a pet friendly hotel, and unfortunately, there was a yappy little dog that awakened early in the room next to mine.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
alvinmc67
Thanks for your comments. We are sorry to hear about the restaurant experience and would like to sincerely apologize for not providing you the service you expected and deserve as our guest. We hope that you will be returning to EPIC in the future. Please note, that even we are a pet-friendly hotel, we have ‘pet-free’ floors available for our guest. Just request one next time you make your reservation or when you arrive at the hotel. We are looking forward to your next visit.
EPIC wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

For my first visit to Miami, I didn't want to feel that I was getting ripped off by staying near South Beach, and I also really wanted to have access to a premium pool experience. Luckily I found that and much more at EPIC.

The lobby and common spaces are all impressive and ipeccable. The evening wine hour was great because you could take your glass outside the lobby and watch boats pass along the canal into the bay. The pool area is amazing and while you may need to shift to maximize your sun exposure, there were plenty of chairs to relax including some really fun pods that you could takeover when it wasn't too packed. The pool definitely will have a DJ on Saturdays that cranks up the volume, but it added to a fun youthful vibe. And since the pool is several stories up, there's typically a breeze that can keep you cool when your reasonably priced frozen drink and snacks don't do the job.

The room was great for sharing with friends since they have balcony's and very spacious bathrooms in addition to well equipped rooms. Since it's Miami, we didn't do much but sleep in the room, but the beds were super comfortable, and we never heard any noise from other rooms. Housekeeping did a great job daily and the elevators were fast. I loved even how en route you could take a break and get some flavored water and fruit any time day or night.

The only trade off to EPIC is being downtown/Brickell area instead of right in Miami Beach. The taxis to all fo the hot spots were never more than $20-30, so sharing with a few friends made it very afforable since we spent LESS THAN HALF per night of a lesser quality room. With the extra money we saved, we were able to really celebrate in style and make sure the party never came back to our room. Given the top quality service from the hotel always able to greet us and treat us well, it felt great overall to be there.

Room Tip: Higher floors and a view of the canal are great! There really isn't a bad view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
upgrademe81
Thanks for sharing such amazing comments from your stay. We are thrilled that you and your friends enjoyed everything EPIC has to offer. We are glad you had fun at our pool area, with a relaxing yet great vibe on weekends, as well as our hosted evening wine hour.
We hope you will be selecting our hotel again when visiting Miami. We are looking forward to your next stay.
EPIC wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drouin, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at this hotel and enjoyed every minute of it. Free tea & coffee in the mornings in the reception and free wine for one hour in the evening. Hotel very clean and beds very comfortable. Did not eat in the restaurants as expensive but plenty of eating places outside hotel and very reasonable

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Bill G
Thanks for sharing your great comments. We are thrilled to hear that you had a fantastic stay and especially appreciated our complimentary coffee and tea service as well as our hosted wine hour each evening.
We hope that your travels will bring you back to Miami and our hotel in the near future.
EPIC wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Also Known As:
Epic Hotel Kimpton
Address: 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Miami
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#3 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#3 Business Hotel in Miami
#5 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new EPIC Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Miami, a sparkling cosmopolitan destination on the bank of the Miami River where it meets Biscayne Bay. A stunning addition to Miami, this hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, epitomizes urban design while offering guests a level of style and service expected of such a resort. With exceptional amenities, breathtaking views and dining venues like Area 31, EPIC Hotel makes for an unparalleled Miami experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, Amex, Venere, getaroom.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.