We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, but a couple of small things could make it even better!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% Off + FREE Upgrade
Ranked #6 of 129 Hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersGold level
Scotland, UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good hotel, but a couple of small things could make it even better!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I should really start by saying, this is a lovely hotel, great decor, great rooms.

Valet parking @ $37 isn't cheap, but i guess most hotels aren't in downtown Miami.

Big Plus point - the free wine each evening from 5-6pm, really nice touch.

Big Minus point - No coffee making facilities in the room, if you want a coffee in the morning, you can get it in reception in the morning. I found this really odd (i have never experienced this before).

The other slightly disappointing thing for me was how un-attentive the door staff could be at times, seemingly more interested in the glamorous cars which were out front of the hotel ! One other slightly disappointing thing was the lack of AV interface with the TV in the room & HD Channels, both of which seem to be pretty standard in most hotels these days!

Nice pool area & it was nice having a balcony too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
LittleBoyBlue
Thanks for taking the time and sharing your comments with us. We appreciate your feedback with regards to our TV and AV interface, as well as the attentiveness of our front door staff. Please accept our apologies for not meeting your expectations in these areas. We do offer coffee and tea in our lobby each day, as a service to our guests. However, should you prefer to make your own coffee, we are happy to deliver a coffee maker with a selection of organic coffee to your room, just let us know next time you return.
We are glad you had an overall enjoyable stay and we are looking forward to welcoming you back.
EPIC wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,451
    362
    99
    53
    30
See reviews for
394
763
103
405
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stay in the Epic about once a month during my trips to Miami. The staff whether they know me or not are always fantastic and willing to go out of their way to accomodate me. 9 times out of ten i have an upgrade awaiting me when i arrive. the views from the hotel are fantastic and Area 31 and Zuma are hotspots. I would recommend this hotel and venue for business or pleasure and give them the chance to stretch for you and you will not be disappointed. If you by chance have to wait outside for a cab, there are always beautiful boats, cars and women to admire. some of the best scenery in all of Miami.

Room Tip: i always want a room on the water side overlooking the miami river.
See more room tips
Green Features: all or the rooms have recycling and you are encouraged to reuse towels.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Steven W
Thanks for sharing your wonderful comments from your stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that each time you visit our staff takes good care of you and you enjoy our ambience and vibe at EPIC.
We are looking forward to your next visit.
EPIC wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I consider Epic my home away from home due to my business travel, but when I arrived my birthday iiweekend, the Epic Team completely BLEW ME AWAY! Once I checked in, my friends and I were greeted with champagne and an amazing upgrade!!! I must admit, my guests felt like rockstars...amazing view + stellar service = EPIC TIME!!! Thanks again for ALWAYS exceeding my expectations! See you my next visit!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
K H
Thanks for your amazing comments. We are thrilled that we ‘blew you and your friends away' with our service and attention to detail. Glad to hear that you had an unforgettable and fun birthday, with bubbly and an upgraded suite. We are looking forward to your return. Please come back soon.
EPIC wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This Hotel was spectacular! Every year my friend and I celebrate our Birthday's with a Kimpton Hotel. This one was perfection. Upon arrival we were greeted by the front desk staff with Happy Birthday's and a glass of champagne. They quickly changed our room to a more pleasing room. Once upstairs we received a knock on the door with a surprise Happy Birthday Huge Chocolate Chip Cookie(it took us 2 days to eat). The customer service was to die for. The pool area was fabulous. They placed out towels out, came around with fresh water several times, even brought out a little fruit snack. This was pure luxury. The wine hour was always great. The Concierge Gabriel topped it off. He made reservations for my friends birthday at Trulucks. He made sure she had a fabulous Happy Birthday Dessert surprise at the end. Thank you Epic for making our Birthday's an Epic event!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Nique536
Thanks for sharing your wonderful comments from your stay with us. It makes us happy to hear that you celebrated your birthdays in epic style and you enjoyed the special attention provided by our staff. We truly hope to welcome you back soon, but for sure for your birthdays next year.
EPIC wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

In a nutshell -- swimming pool for hotel guests was too insane with loud music all afternoon -- we managed to go through to the (better) owner's side pool.
No locks on the bathroom doors - really?
Ready for this?................ the valet gave me the wrong car...... same make and model but..... are they parked by price tag?
We're not going back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Doctorl13
Thanks for taking the time and sharing your feedback on tripadvisor. We are saddened to hear about your experience and sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced and for not providing you the service you expected and deserve as our guest. We truly hope you will be giving us another chance and returning as our guest.
EPIC wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curacao
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The Epic Hotel was a delightfully new break from my normal " nerar the airport" routine when passing through Miami. While quite familiar with the new, uber-chic Miami depcited in movies and TV, I had no idea how vibrant a real it is - until a single night at the Epic Hotel, conveneintly located near the intersection of Biscayne and Brickell. Future overnights and longer stays will certainly be at the Epic - great staff, very multi-cultural and happening crowd...

Room Tip: Chhose one of the high floors for wonderful views...
See more room tips
Green Features: They certainly go out of their way to observe eco-freindly practices (albeit not sustainable)
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
BusinessTraveler5931
Thanks for your amazing feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you were pleasantly surprised with EPIC’s modern design and vibe. It is great to see that you will consider us for future stays. We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.
EPIC wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

If you have any questions or needs look for the manager Seth Campbell. Certainly he will take care of your trip with special attention.
The hotel is amazing. Zuma fantastic. Breakfast very good and cheap. Facilities all so good. Excelent location.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Luis_rmangini
Thanks for your great comments. We are thrilled that you had an amazing stay at EPIC and that Seth, our Director of Front Office was very attentive and hospitable. We hope your travels will bring you back to Miami soon again. We would love to have you back as our guest.
EPIC wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#3 Green Hotel in Miami
#4 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#4 Spa Hotel in Miami
#5 Family Hotel in Miami
#6 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new EPIC Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Miami, a sparkling cosmopolitan destination on the bank of the Miami River where it meets Biscayne Bay. A stunning addition to Miami, this hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, epitomizes urban design while offering guests a level of style and service expected of such a resort. With exceptional amenities, breathtaking views and dining venues like Area 31, EPIC Hotel makes for an unparalleled Miami experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epic Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.