We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorites!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% off
Ranked #7 of 113 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of my favorites!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My husband & I stayed at the Epic for 2 nights last week & we could not have been happier. The staff was amazing! They made us feel so welcome & at home, every request we had was addressed immediately. The rooms were beautiful & clean. We travel often & we would certainly return to the Epic when we are in Miami.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Laurel I
Thanks for posting your comments. We are thrilled to hear that you had an amazing time and our staff made you feel like home. We are looking forward to your next visit. Please return soon.
EPIC wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,698
    437
    133
    66
    36
See reviews for
452
884
119
509
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (609)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Modesto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

In March of this year I decided to retire and travel around the US in our new 42' 5th wheel trailer. We were so excited to leave California and spend a good amount of our time down in the Florida Keys. We left in April and just returned last week in August.
While we were camping in Key Largo a few weeks, we decided to venture up to Miami for 2 days and visit some very close friends. Since we stayed at the Epic Hotel last year we thought we would give it a try again. To say the least we we so delighted with the staff and hospitality, the ambiance, the scenery, the room, the food and frankly everything about the hotel.
Our friends joined us one afternoon for lunch downtown and although they live in the area they had not had the pleasure of experiencing the Kimpton standards. When they drove up they were a little bit apprehensive about having their old toyota parked, after all they were amazed at the beautiful cars that were pulling up to the round drive. They were greeted by some very sweet guys that directed them into the front desk area. Once there, they inquired about waiting for us until we came down from our room, the front desk clerks were very impressive to our friends. While they waited they were offered something to drink. We even received a phone call from the front desk letting us know we had someone waiting. Wow, now that is service!
We will be headed back to Miami in March for a cruise and we will arrive a few days early to stay at the Epic. As well, we will be attending a few Giants games in the next month in San Francisco and always stay at a Kimpton property.
Keep up the good work Epic staff and we will keep coming back!!!

Room Tip: Over looking where the yachts park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Laurie1986
Thanks for your wonderful and detailed review. We are grateful for your loyalty to EPIC and thrilled that you even brought your friends to visit this time. We are glad our staff always goes out of their way and provides a genuine and attentive service.
We are looking forward to your next visit. Please return soon.
EPIC wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel is Beautiful and clean. The rooms are spacious with modern decor. The view from the balcony was Amazing! The staff are friendly and provide great customer service. The hotel is located in a great location and is accessible to the major Highways. I was especially please with the Housekeeping service, very prompt and accommodating. My boyfriend and I would most definitely stay at this Hotel our next time in Miami.

Karema N

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny, great view from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Karema N
Thanks for your wonderful review. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and found our service, especially from our Housekeeping team, friendly and efficient.
We are looking forward to your and your boyfriends return. Please come back soon.
EPIC wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful property with tons of amenities but the front desk staff could use a little customer service training. The valets are good but they too can be a bit pushy if you are not in a flashy, high price car. The buffet breakfast is great and the staff at the restaurant are all superb! All in all I did enjoy my stay and would recommend to friends and family. Oh and the infused water that changes daily is a nice touch.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Flawdgrl
Thanks for sharing your feedback with us on Tripadvisor. We are sorry to hear that our front desk and valet staff was not as outgoing and attentive as you deserve it as our guest. We are happy you enjoyed your overall stay and appreciate that you recommend us to your friends and family. We are looking forward to your next stay.
EPIC wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Epic two nights before our cruise and one night after. I shopped a lot of other hotels and liked that all of the rooms have balconies since we are both smokers. We had a city view which was beautiful, water everywhere and it overlooked the causeway, it was fun to watch the boats go through it. The room was spacious, very clean, comfortable bed, his and her sinks and a large rain shower head. The first night we got in late a decided to stay on the property so we went to Area 31 for dinner and drinks. Right away Lauren the manager came up and started talking to us and really made us feel welcome. The bartenders Ryan and Douglass made us some very exotic mojitos like blueberry coconut and cucumber jalapeño and cucumber watermelon. Lauren made great suggestions for dinner and we had a wonderful time talking to all of them. Then it started pouring down rain, we tried to tough it out but it was raining really hard so we headed back to the room. Lauren gave me a towel from the pool area to wrap up in before going inside. The next morning Gene at the concierge desk gave us great information on things to do and how to get there. He even sold us our tour tickets right there to make things easier. He gave us exact directions, answered every question and really took his time. We toured Miami all day and of course ended up at Area 31 again. Ryan recommended a great seafood place just a short walk down the street called Truluck's . He was right we loved it. When we checked out Monday morning thee front desk person called to the guys standing out front to get us a cab to go to the cruise port. Again great service! When we returned from our cruise, it was 9:00am, We wanted to drop off our bags until we could check in at 3:00pm. Marcus took our bags and told us that we might get an early check in time. He waited behind us with our bags while we talked to the front desk staff and they did have our room ready. Marcus led the way to our room and even offered to bring us ice. The front door staff at Epic are always ready to meet your needs, whether you need a cab, need directions, or just need someone to open the door.

Room Tip: Get a bayside room on Friday night if you don't want to hear the music coming from Area 31.
See more room tips
Green Features: The to go coffee cups are decomposible and the trash cans are divided for recycling.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Amy M
Thanks for your great review. We are thrilled that so many of our employees went out of their way and made a lasting impression. It makes us happy that each time you stayed you had a wonderful and fun time.
We are looking forward to your next visit. Please be our guest again.
EPIC wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is so beautiful and clean. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable they make you feel at home. The hotel is located right in the middle of everything and is accessible to all Miami has to offer. Great experience, me and my boyfriend loved it!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Tracey H
Thanks for your amazing review. We are thrilled to hear that that our staff provided a caring and attentive service and you felt like home while you were our guest.
We hope you will visit us soon again.
EPIC wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Readington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My girlfriend and I decided to book a small vacation in Miami and this hotel was recommended by a client of mine. My friend had gone to Miami a few times (always stayed in downtown South Beach) while this was my first time and we both loved our stay in this hotel. It's about a 15 minute cab ride from South Beach and I liked the fact that it was kind away from that scene as this place was classy, modern, it's also very new. The rooms were spotless and the customer service always exceeded my expectations.

I liked that this hotel does a wine happy hour everyday at the lobby from 5-6pm. They switch it up everyday and it was also a nice time to meet other tourists staying at Epic.

Also if you like fitness, you will love their 24 hour gym which has a nice mix of weight and cardio machines, all new equipment. They also offer classes which I didn't get a chance to take but they had a nice selection.

They do have a nice breakfast selection (like an all-you-can-eat style) with omelet and waffle station. We decided to treat ourselves to a big breakfast the day we had to head back and it was SO WORTH IT!

Also make sure to check out Zuma which is a restaurant/lounge part of Epic. We had gone for lunch (order a bunch of small plates so you can try a little of everything!) and went back one evening for drinks. Both occasions were fantastic!

Often times when you go to a place like Miami, you are guaranteed a great vacation, but choosing the right place to stay can make or break it. I'm so thankful someone recommended this place and I'm happy to do everyone the same favor and tell people to book this hotel! You will love it! :)

Room Tip: Higher floors have the nicest view, so don't hesitate to request it :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Stylebymeli
Thanks for your wonderful and detailed feedback. We are glad your friend recommended EPIC for your stay. We are centrally located, close to restaurant, shops and South Beach nightlife, but ‘far away’ from the ‘scene’, to guarantee a good night’s rest and tranquility during the day. We are glad you joined us for our evening complimentary wine hour and visited ZUMA restaurant during your stay.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
EPIC wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Miami
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#5 Family Hotel in Miami
#6 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#7 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EPIC Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Miami, a sparkling cosmopolitan destination on the bank of the Miami River where it meets Biscayne Bay. A stunning addition to Miami, this hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, epitomizes urban design while offering guests a level of style and service expected of such a resort. With exceptional amenities, breathtaking views and dining venues like Area 31, EPIC Hotel makes for an unparalleled Miami experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epic Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.