We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% Off + FREE Upgrade
Ranked #7 of 129 Hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersGold level
Laurel, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is an amazing hotel. The service was great. The hotel is pretty busy, but the staff does a great job of making sure they get to you in a timely manner. The room was very big and I enjoyed sitting on my spacious balcony and watching people at the pool. There are two pools but one was closed for renovations and even still, it never got really crowded. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a luxurious experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
jsmith_757
Thanks for your great review. It makes us happy to see that you had a wonderful experience at our hotel. We appreciate you are recommending us to other customers. Please be our guest again.
EPIC wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,511
    369
    104
    54
    30
See reviews for
404
788
106
425
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I stayed at the Epic for 3 nights for a wedding-the staff was kind and efficient. The rooms are nice and have both a shower and soaking tub. The hotel hosts a wine hour from 5-6 pm nightly and serves a red wine, white wine and sangria. Spacious rooms with a balcony-ours overlooked the pool area. There was a DJ at the pool area sometimes. Only one pool was in service during our visit. Unfortunately, our room was right off the elevator so we could hear the "bing" sound early AM/late nights. A note about the bathroom faucet, if it is operated in the middle position to use warm water, the pipes would make a squealing sound, all one has to do is to adjust to warmer or colder to get rid of the noise. We were able to hear other guests pipes early in the AM when they departed so that was a little annoying. All in all, if visiting Miami, I would choose Epic again but ask to be away from elevators.

Room Tip: Don't get a room near elevators, if you're looking for quiet there is a DJ that plays poolsi...
See more room tips
Green Features: Reuse of linens is encouraged and there is a bin for recyclable products.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
MsPerfection
Thanks for sharing your comments from your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback regarding our bathroom faucets and will definitely take a look at them to improve upon. However, we are thrilled that you had an amazing stay and enjoyed the wedding hosted in our stunning ballroom.
We are looking forward to your next stay.
EPIC wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liege, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The title says it all, the Epic in itself is gorgeous, the location is perfect, in the center of Downtown Miami (very upscale neighborhood but also safe and quieter than Miami Beach), you're a few miles away from all the tourist spots (Miami Beach, Coconut Grove, Coral Gables,...). As we were there for our anniversary I mentioned this fact in my email exchanges with Ms Sayers and she kindly upgraded us to a waterview room ! The room itself was spacious, spotless clean with a balcony and a great view of course. The staff was exceptional, very courteous and professional. We had the chance to get a breakfast included rate and I have to say we didn't regret it, the breakfast items were numerous, of high quality and in abundance. Also the fitness center has a lot of very modern equipments from TechnoGym.

I would not stay anywhere else if I come back to Miami !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
voronwe2007
Thanks for your wonderful review. We appreciate that you selected EPIC for your anniversary and are happy to hear that you had an amazing time and enjoyed your upgraded room. Thanks for your compliments regarding our breakfast buffet with healthy choices and a large variety of chef’s made waffles and omelets.
We hope you will be visiting us again. Please return soon.
EPIC wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Modern, contemporary and minimal, rooms spacious and views fabulous. Staff the very best, I have worked and stayed in some of the best properties but this was excellent. Exceptional service standards at all levels, Gene the concierge was exceptional, I tend not to highlight staff but he was so professional.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have balcony, maybe ask for rom to front of property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
160Kevin_b
Thanks for your amazing review. We are thrilled to her that you found our service exceptional and that especially Gene stood out.
We are looking forward to your next visit.
EPIC wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubingen, Germany
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The EPIC is a very modern and very stylish hotel. Everything is spacious - the room, the bath room and the balcony. And everything is very, very clean. The valet do a great job - and i mean it! The car was ready within minutes after each call. And we stayed around 4th of July - so it was busy.. Luggage was also taken care of perfectly. We enjoyed a stunning view. What's actually most impressing to us, was the more than excellent mini bar - that was filled with everything one could possibly whish for. All kind of snacks, drinks and other useful stuff. I like that very much! So at night we could enjoy the truly EPIC view while enjoying a glass of quality red wine. The breakfast was excellent - lot's of delicious food to choose from. The staff is kind - but esp. the young man taking care of our check out at the front desk made our stay perfect as we had a perfectly timed and truly great conversation. So one leaves with a smile, what supports a good and successful day and makes you want to come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Alex_and_Kathrin
Thanks for your awesome comments. We are happy to see that you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed all our amenities, from our great breakfast buffet to our organic minibar offerings and of course stunning views from your private balcony. We appreciate your compliments with regards to our valet and overall staff service. We hope you will be returning soon.
EPIC wishes, Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

4 of us stayed here during the start of July 2013.. we had previously stayed in Miami a few months prior to this trip but a bit further out.
Loved the hotel, it was really modern and stylish, very clean!
The staff were so kind, opening doors for you asking if you needed water by the pool, even putting your towels on the bed for you. The rooms were big and modern, The beds were huge and there was a mini bar full of alcohol and sweets etc. bit expensive but theres enough there for everyone's taste if you needed anything- down point would be if you were to buy anyfood/water you wouldn't be able to fit it in the fridge because its full of drinks!

The prices in the hotel for food are quite expensive but there's a 5-10 minute walk along the marina to Bayside, where there's plenty to choose from in restraunts and bars.
The hotel is near a bakery and a walgreens supermarket, also subway and other food places.
If your looking at ways of getting around theres a few cheap or free options- The trolley and tram which are a 2 minute walk from the hotel are free. Theres a lynx bus which you need exact change for or you cant get on- as we found out when we didn't have change!
Theres taxis which come straight up to the hotel door also.


I would definatly stay here if we returned in the future, we were all really happy and sad to leave!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Laurie R
Thanks for your wonderful and detailed review of EPIC. As you described it, we are conveniently located in the Brickell/Downtown area, with lots of bars, restaurants, diners and shops around us. If you like to go for a stroll or morning run, nothing more relaxing than doing so along Miami River or Brickell Key. We are glad you had a great time and happy to see that you would love to return soon. We are looking forward to welcoming you back.
EPIC wishes, Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Epic from the 4th of July through the 7th.
The stay was fantastic. From check-in to check-out we experienced exceptional service from every level of the staff. Our club level one bedroom suite was amazing.
The entire club level staff made us feel as if we had been at the hotel dozens of times.
We rented a Deluxe Cabana on Saturday and Oscar treated us like royalty. I swear he is the hardest working employee in the hotel.
I highly recommend this property...We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
lumpy69
Thanks for your fantastic feedback. We are happy you celebrated the 4th of July at EPIC and felt pampered and well cared for by our staff, especially by Oscar. He is truly amazing.
We appreciate you recommending us to other travelers. Please be our guest again.
EPIC wishes, Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#3 Green Hotel in Miami
#4 Family Hotel in Miami
#4 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#4 Spa Hotel in Miami
#5 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new EPIC Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Miami, a sparkling cosmopolitan destination on the bank of the Miami River where it meets Biscayne Bay. A stunning addition to Miami, this hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, epitomizes urban design while offering guests a level of style and service expected of such a resort. With exceptional amenities, breathtaking views and dining venues like Area 31, EPIC Hotel makes for an unparalleled Miami experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epic Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.