We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So many choices. Which do we chose?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% Off + FREE Upgrade
Ranked #6 of 129 Hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersGold level
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“So many choices. Which do we chose?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

This was tough. Epic or Mandarin, Mandarin or Epic. We debated, we discussed, we had cocktails over. We chose Epic for the service, amenities (concierge level) and Kimpton in Touch. While familiar with both hotels, we found this to be the better value. The hotel was (for us) flawless. I hate to name names because i will undoubtely miss some but so many were great to us. The entire concierge level staff is dynamite. Raquel, JP, Chantel, the entire crew....Many thanks for making our 25th anniversary stay special.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,483
    366
    99
    53
    30
See reviews for
399
776
105
413
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My husband stayed here, even though we live less than 35 miles away, so we wouldn't have to fight traffic and find parking for the Miami Heat Parade. We wanted a good hotel on the parade route and we are so pleased that we chose the Epic Hotel for the occasion. You already know the Epic reviews on tripadvisor are great, so this is just one more review emphasizing just how good the Epic is. The first thing you will notice is the extreme friendliness of their very competent staff. Every single employee we encountered during our stay was a pleasure to deal with.
The rooms are well furnished, beautiful and clean! I mean really clean, which is rare these days, even at the luxury resorts. The views were great on the higher floors. I'll tell you why we moved to two different rooms during our stay. Our first room was on a requested high floor and had wonderful waterway views. We could see a portion of the parade route but we wanted a better view if at all possible. We went to the front desk and inquired about this possibility. We weren't even sure if other rooms would have better views. Well, we talked to Malik at the front desk about this and he said give him a few minutes and he'll see what he can do. We were not disappointed to find we were moved to A SUITE that had the best view ever of the parade route! We thank you Malik for going the "extra mile" for us. He actually went to the room first to see what the view would be like before moving us there. Now that is first class service! We loved our new, improved accommodation. This room had a city view which is also nice.
Next we went to dinner at the Zuma restaurant located in the hotel. We sat at the bar and enjoyed our experience. The drinks were perfect and the food was exceptional. I've thought about the ribs we had everyday since we were there.
Other things we liked about the hotel is the location. It's on the waterway, making it seem like a vacation hotel. There's a pretty walkway along the waterfront. Yet, you are in the heart of downtown Miami and can walk to several shops close by.
We loved everything, even the parade.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed for six days at the Epic in early June 2013 and found it to be a very good hotel. Our double room was spacious and had a good-size balcony, wonderful for someone who likes fresh air. The room was on a high floor, so we had a nice view and Kimpton offers free Wi-Fi that was fast, unlike most hotels I’ve stayed at. There is an open-design bathroom with a full-size tub plus separate shower. On our first night, room service brought up a tolerable club sandwich but room service overall was good, particularly at breakfast. One hotel restaurant, Zuma, a London-based outpost, featured excellent sushi, but in an odd twist, was not able to charge the tab to our room. The hotel’s pool is also excellent but pool-side food service was extremely slow. Location-wise, the Epic is close to Brickell and most major downtown Miami convention hotels, a big plus. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Just came back from a 4 night stay at the Epic. The hotel is in a great location downtown close to many restaurants and walking distance to Bayside Market. Our room was on the 28th floor with spectacular views of the water. The service is top notch and the staff go out of their way to look after anything you need. The hotel has a happy hour from 5-6pm in the lobby where you can sample different wines and the chef prepares a delicious appetizer to taste. There is also coffee and juice in the morning but Starbucks is just down the street if you prefer. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated and the beds are very comfortable. The pools are a great place to cool down and there is a patio restaurant if you want something to eat. The pool staff are very friendly and even lay out your towels for you. The Zuma restaurant is also located in the hotel. We ate dinner there one night. The restaurant is nice but a little overpriced and not the best sushi I've ever tasted. All in all a fantastic hotel definitely worth visiting again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dr K
Thanks so much for your great review. I am glad you enjoyed our great downtown location close to everything happening. Calling your stay "EPIC" makes us all very proud as that's what we strive to be all about.
Please come back soon/ EPIC wishes Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed here a year and a half ago,but I just realized I never wrote a review for it,so here it is. We stayed here as this was a surprise night stay after a 5 day cruise for my husband's 40th birthday. From start to finish it was an amazing experience.
The minute we entered the hotel, we were greeted by the front door staff with a friendly smile and a hello. The lobby was bright and modern looking decor. We approached the front desk, we were greeted with a friendly smile from the front desk reception and a welcome Mr and Mrs. ___. We were pretty fortunate that our room was ready when we got there and didn't have to wait. The room we booked was a king waterview room on the concierge level. I highly recommend it. The staff on the concierge floor were great. They informed us of all the amenities that were available to us. We didn't have a vehicle,so we asked for the nearest stores around. There was a ROSS department store not too far from the hotel. The lady at the concierge level desk was so helpful she printed a map with the walk directions for us. When you are on the concierge level the small meal presentations is included when you are on the concierge level and even the drinks were included - yes, including alcoholic ones too. The staff on the concierge level was helpful, friendly and made our stay enjoyable. The bellman who brought up our luggage was great too. He even showed us around the room and pointed out different things that we should be aware of. That was really helpful.
The room was fabulous, modern decor, clean, a very comfortable bed, a personal computer in our room was great. The bathroom was really spacious. The shower had glass stalls and the water pressure was pretty good. The toilet area was separated by a sliding door. All the fixtures, and the sink was modern too. We didn't try out the pool,but we did see it. It look pretty good. We did use the gym. I really liked it, the equipment was in very good condition ,clean and looked new, bright and inviting. We had a great time and wish it could have been a longer stay,but maybe one day. Hopefully, sooner than later.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
travelkidsanity
Thanks so much for your great feedback. I am thrilled you think about us a year and a half later. What a nice compliment. Please rest assured that we have not changed, you should come back soon. EPIC wishes / Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belize City, Belize
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We needed to spend one night in Miami before flying on to our final destination, so we decided to try Epic and we were not disappointed.

Check in was seamless, I did a request for a higher/club level floor, which we did receive; the view was breathtaking. Room size was good; comfortable for two persons with two medium sized suitcases and two carry ons. There was more than adequate space and we were not tripping over our bags.

We received prompt help with our bags from the taxi to our room.

We had room service breakfast the next morning. This was delivered promptly and the food was good as well.

Check out was easy. We called for help with our bags and the gentleman arrived in less than 5 mins, and quickly called a cab for us. No complaints with the service we received. Everyone was pleasant and helpful.

My only small complaint is that the some of the towels appeared to be dingy, a bit "well past the sell by date". In all it was a good experience and more than likely we would be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
AsheleB
Thanks for having chosen us and for your feedback. I am very happy you had such a great experience with our Front Office, the restaurant and the room. Please come back soon.
EPIC wishes / Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Best trip to Miami ever, from check in to check out, if you like customer service, this is the place. Just got back from a weekend stay and I am still talking about how great the service was. Everybody from the valet to the front desk made sure your stay was enjoyable. Large bathrooms with a soaking tub...Can't wait to go back. Free wine from 5 til 6....

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor, all views are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
TBBuc99
Thanks so much for sharing. I love your comment " If you like customer service, this is the place". We take a lot of pride in our employees and take care of them, hearing your comments makes me very proud.
We can't wait to have you back. EPIC wishes / Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Miami
#3 Spa Hotel in Miami
#3 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#4 Family Hotel in Miami
#4 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#5 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new EPIC Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Miami, a sparkling cosmopolitan destination on the bank of the Miami River where it meets Biscayne Bay. A stunning addition to Miami, this hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, epitomizes urban design while offering guests a level of style and service expected of such a resort. With exceptional amenities, breathtaking views and dining venues like Area 31, EPIC Hotel makes for an unparalleled Miami experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Amex, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epic Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.