We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Viscious Valet and Awful Check In Staff - Shameful” 1 of 5 stars
Review of EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% Off + FREE Upgrade
Ranked #6 of 129 Hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersGold level
Florida
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
360 helpful votes 360 helpful votes
“Viscious Valet and Awful Check In Staff - Shameful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

As someone who travels 180+ nights a year this hotel's mismanagement and mean spirited staff are simply shocking.

First, I arrive the hotel shortly before 3pm and the driveway is impassable. To add insult to injury the valets who are retrieving cars cut me off not once, not twice but three times so I cannot advance up the drive. Real classy. Nobody evens blinks at me or offers to help me with bags when I exit my car and while I carry my 3 bags into the hotel. All I had was a valet ticket stuffed in my hand and gruff man tell me in poor English the overnight parking charge is misprinted on the ticket and actually costs $37. Oh the grace...

Second, they inform me they have no rooms ready but some guests get a room as I step away and watch. After 45 minutes and my checking back a few times the issue is resolved.

Departure day I call the valet, retrieving my car was painfully slow to start. The familiar story plays out. Nobody evens blinks at me to offer to help with bags, fine that is now expected. The driveway is jammed that is expected to. THEN ALL HELL BREAKS OUT. The valet retrieving my car cannot open the trunk so he stands and watches me do it. Another colleague then stands next to me as I begin to load my bags, why HELP? Then, the original valet asks if I speak Spanish. I say no. He runs away as he speaks no English. Another colleague then returns with yet a third colleague asking me to go back to the cashier. I say that I have paid and checked out (my Florida resident rate includes parking). He then starts yelling at me accusing me of not paying and will not release my car. I show him my hotel bill. Not satisfied he accosts me further like I am some common thug. I tell him the hotel wasted 45 minutes of my time yesterday, not to mentioned just trying to park. I tell him to get me a manager. The so called manager an unimaginably aggressive and rude person further accosts me and demands I show him the bill I just presented. I tell him I have had enough as 3 valets accost me like I am a deviant thug. I had just paid the prevailing rate that includes parking and they treat me like I am a criminal miscreant. Furthermore, I spent over $700 at Zuma Restaurant on site the night before.

Finally, after detaining me, my car is released and he promises to bill me. Really, I paid the rate!!!

I have never seen such a low class thug minded outfit in my life, in 12+ years of heavy travel and 1000+ hotel stays.

The staff are poorly trained and want not more than to scalp the guests while providing non-existent service. I will add to the rooms have limited soundproofing and I heard all manner noise all night long.

FYI valet also try to upsell nice cars for parking on the parking deck, for an extra $40

This is hotel is an epic failure while utterly hostile with guests, so STAY FAR AWAY. There is a new Marriott across the street, the Conrad, Four Seasons, Viceroy and Mandarin Oriental are all near and all 1000% better.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
FlyOneWorld
Thanks for sharing your experience. Sorry about the experience you had with our busy valet and the miscommunication with the Front Desk in regards to the included parking. I will personally look into the issue thanks to your valued comments.
We hope you will give us another chance to demonstrate what EPIC is truly about.
Sincerely,
Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,483
    366
    99
    53
    30
See reviews for
399
776
105
413
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Drogheda
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed 2 nights here in April. Despite the fact we have prepaid for the room it took us over 40 minutes to check in.The hotel does not accept debit cards for some reason. Found the staff at reception incompetent and very unhelpful. Also the walls in the rooms are quite thin so you can hear the adjoining rooms.

Room Tip: Stay in the Marriott!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Iceman200600
Thanks for sharing your experience. We take honest comments form guests like you very seriously.
We always try our very best to have the room ready upon arrival, so sorry that we were not able to deliver this time. If you would give us the opportunity to come back, I will be happy to guarantee you a smooth check and a quiet room.
EPIC wishes, Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in March and I must say, the experience was fantastic. Unlike many other hotels in the US, this is a new property and the difference really shows. Must also commend the staff for excellent service from the concierge to the servers in the restaurant. Good location, easy to reach the beach with a short taxi ride, all in all a great hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Shubhang_23
Thanks so much for sharing your experience. I am very happy to learn that you enjoyed our staff and our great downtown location close to South Beach.
Please come back soon. EPIC wishes .
Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed here one night before a cruise. The hotel is downtown. It is an ultra modern Japanese inspired design. It is stunning. The rooms are comfortable and spacious. The bathroom was beautiful and very spacious with a water closet, double sink, jacuzzi tub, and very large shower. The pools are gorgeous and warm, and while we were there, live music played poolside. They had very nice pool cabanas for rent. A bar was also very close if you wanted a drink. There was a safe in the room, which alleviates the theft concerns that are often present in Miami hotels. The hotel restaurant was nice and the food was good, though it was overpriced, but that should be expected. It was a little bit of a walk to downtown's central dining area, but we walked it with our 6 year old, so it wasn't too far. The only reason I didn't give the hotel a rating of five is because of two issues we had while staying there. The first was the shower was dirty. The second was that the hotel staff banged on our door over an over, and then called our room at 2 a.m. to give us a mini bar keythat we had not requested. We don't know if it was a prank or mistake, but my daughter and I weren't able to go back to sleep. The next morning we called the manager and he was very apologetic but couldn't refund our room cost because we had booked through expedia. He did comp our meals at the hotel restaurant, though, so we felt like he tried.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the water or the bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Stacie R
Thanks for sharing your experience. I am so happy you enjoyed our downtown location, the design, our lovely bathrooms with double sinks and the pool. So sorry about the the housekeeping opportunity with the shower. I already have that adressed thanks to your valued comments.
Please come back and visit us soon. EPIC wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My GF and I spent a couple nights on Christmas 2012 at the Epic. Great service from the get go with nice and helpful valet and bag boys. We arrived fairly early in the day, so our room was not ready yet. We had to wait for a couple hours, so we went to lunch. A while later we walked back, the man at the reception apologized for the inconvenience and upgraded us to a ocean view room.
Beautiful and clean rooms, with a very nice view of the port and river. Quiet and clean.
The pool area was also beautiful, however, the sun was only there from around noon until 4pm.
As with most US hotels, the restaurant was nothing special. Roomservice was ok, breakfast was ok, and the Christmas dinner buffet on the 25th was ok. Nothing spectacular here.
Check-out was a breeze, but we noticed they charged an extra night, which was easily fixed with a phone-call back home. Human mistake.
The best hotel I have stayed at in Miami and I hope I will have the opportunity to stay there again.

Room Tip: The ocean view is beautiful. Ask to get as high up as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Fredde86
Thanks so much for your great feedback. I am so glad you got to enjoy our beautiful clean rooms with great views. We take a lot of pride in our staff and they will be happy to be recognized through comments such as yours.
Please come back soon. EPIC wishes.
Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Booked this hotel via our company. It is all very nice, fancy. Nothing to push back on (except maybe the music at the pool which was waaaay too loud on saturday afternoon).
The value for money is great.
Given the location it is a perfect place for people coming to miami for business, but for those looking for a holiday place it's probably better to stay in south beach.
Of note:
- large rooms, clean
- nice pool and gym areas

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed at the Epic for a long weekend. It was fabulous! It began with being greeted by the impeccably dressed bellman and valet. Everyone was very professional and courteous. We had a beautiful balcony room, facing the pools below. It was so beautiful and comfortable, we spent an entire evening on the balcony enjoying cocktails, taking in the views of the river and the buzz of the city. In the morning, breakfast at the hotel restaurant was exceptional, as well as the following morning's room service breakfast. Lovely hotel, great location! Will return again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Miami
#3 Spa Hotel in Miami
#3 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#4 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#4 Family Hotel in Miami
#5 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new EPIC Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Miami, a sparkling cosmopolitan destination on the bank of the Miami River where it meets Biscayne Bay. A stunning addition to Miami, this hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, epitomizes urban design while offering guests a level of style and service expected of such a resort. With exceptional amenities, breathtaking views and dining venues like Area 31, EPIC Hotel makes for an unparalleled Miami experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Amex, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epic Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.