We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% Off + FREE Upgrade
Ranked #6 of 129 Hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersGold level
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

we did spent 4 nights in april and this hotel is very nice. A bit far from south beach but I was there for business. nice staff, nice pool. clean and wonderfull room
dinner at the restaurant was very good

Room Tip: ask for city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Gillesracine
Thanks for sharing your experiencen with us. I am glad you came to enjoy our beautiful clean rooms, the staff and our amazing pool located at the 16th floor.
Please come back soon. EPIC wishes.
Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,448
    362
    99
    53
    30
See reviews for
393
762
103
404
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We booked the Epic for a 2 night post cruise stay based on the reviews we found on TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed. The staff was attentive without being intrusive. The room was large and comfortable. The hotel had a feel of luxury about it without snootiness - we'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Gillesracine
Thanks so much for having stayed with us especially based on trip advisor reviews. I am very happy to learn that your experience was nothing short of what you had come to expect from the reviews you have looked at!
We are truly located just at the right spot to combine us with a cruise. Considering our staff attentive without being intrusive is a very nice compliment, that's how we feel service should be.
We are looking forward to you coming back. EPIC wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I was first introduced to Kimpton Hotels about five years ago when the Epic opened in downtown Miami. Everyone was so helpful and attentive and I felt so welcome that I thought maybe it was because it was a new property. I think I just completed my eighth or ninth visit to the Epic last week and nothing has changed. From housekeeping to the concierge and from the bell men to the front desk staff no request is too big or two small. The pool area is hopping both day and night and the staff there always makes me feel like part of their family. Some even remember my name. It doesn't matter how busy they are, the staff is always available to help or give direction or just to answer a question. Kimpton properties are all I look for whenever my family travels and that is because of the Epic in downtown Miami.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, General Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
sharonwhite333
Thanks so much for sharing. What a nice review! I am so happy to learn that you have become not only a regular with us at the EPIC but also with other Kimpton hotels. We truly care about our staff and want them to care about each of our guests right the same way. We appreciate you noticing and sharing it.
We can't wait to have you back! EPIC wishes.
Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed there for 4 nights last week, then moved to a famous hotel for a treat for our last two nights in Miami. Well, had we known then what we know now, we would stayed for the 6 nights at the Epic. Nothing wrong with the 2nd hotel we stayed in, just that the Epic was absolutely perfect. We stayed with our young son but fitted very well into the mixed crowd staying there (business, bachelor/ette weekend, etc). The decor is awesome, the view across the Bay onto Miami Bach stunning, and all the staff first class. I have read below that a customer was astounded with the wait for their car in the valet parking. Actions have since been taken as they informed us right from day one to give them enough time to get our car - great job on their part to be so pro-active. Will definitely stay there again if we plan a trip to Miami again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
M H
Thanks so much for sharing. I am so glad you loved the decor and the ambiance of our hotel.
Being considered absolutely perfect certainly doesn't get any better.
Please come back soon! EPIC wishes. Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carleton Place
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed here with 2 other couples over the Easter weekend for our annual superclub and it was a great place for us all to meet. The rooms were clean and except for lack of a coffee maker were well appointed. The products and the bathroom were lovely. Sleep quality not great due to the amount of traffic in Miami and Brickell but maybe a city dweller would not notice. We had a balcony overlooking the canal. A great view and a nice balcony.

Pool area is awesome but the service is too slow. We waited 20 minutes and so went to Club31 (?) and had a cocktail there with some bar snacks. Service was still slow and surly and for some reason we could not charge to our room....but the snacks were good. Cocktails mediocre

The gym is great, small but very well equipped and the spa staff very nice.

Coffee is available at the front desk at limited times in the morning. It was weak and cold...and accompanied by big line ups...often empty..better to walk out to a great coffee shop...like Eternity
Coffee Roasters

Internet...you must become a Kimpton member so they can send you junk email and it is spotty

Valet very slow but very friendly

Overall a 4/5

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony over looking the water...however there is music until about 11 pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Diane78
Thanks for your review and for sharing. I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed our views and the pool area. Sorry about the wait you had to encounter at our busy pool. Upon your your next visit, we will be happy to provide you with a complimentary coffee maker in your room.
Please come back soon. EPIC wishes
Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This was our pre cruise (Azamara) hotel In downtown Miami we were on the top floor(30) a stunning room almost an apartment ,huge bathroom / shower room -just super -great balcony and panoramic view ,looking down at the swimming pool on the 16th floor.
Great lobby superb staff and private parking for your multimillion dollar yacht on the door step.
The only let down was a poor effort at a burger from room service.the charge started at $31.00
and ended at $48.00 inc taxes delivery charge service charge etc.

Room Tip: go with Azamara this was an unexpected upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
junbry
Thanks for sharing and for having stayed with us prior to your cruise. I loved to hear your comment about our 'super great balcony and the "superb" staff.
Please come back soon. EPIC wishes.
Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed in Kimpton on our last night of a two week holiday in Florida prior to flying back to the UK from Miami. From the moment we drove up to the door, to when we left the next day the service was slick and impressive. The reception area is gorgeous, as was our room - on the 28th floor with fantastic city views. The bath was enormous with a blind to pull up so you could enjoy the view as you soaked. It also made a good serving hatch and my daughter played shops which kept her very happy! The pool area is great and has the option of a heated or cool pool. We ordered breakfast from room service and it arrived on time, hot and accurate despite being a very complicated order with two kids. It was pricey but it meant we could make the most of our brief time in Miami.

The location is ideal - just round the corner from Bayside with its lively bars and eateries. It's also near the station for the city bus tours so we managed to fit in some time at south beach and the art deco area and take in the sites despite being in town for less than 24 hours.

Reception kept our luggage and valet parking kept our car so we were free to explore. We got back to the hotel at 5ish and were handed a complimentary glass of wine before collecting our car and luggage, and quckly changing into something to suit the cooler climate back home. We drove off at 5.30 and were at the airport by 5.40! Perfect.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
dizanddan
Thanks so much for sharing. I believe one word "wow" has said it all, we want our guests to come back because of our great product, our friendly,professional staff and last but not least our location. It makes me very proud that we have succeeded on all terms.
We can't wait to have you back. EPIC wishes.
Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Miami
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#4 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#4 Spa Hotel in Miami
#5 Family Hotel in Miami
#6 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new EPIC Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Miami, a sparkling cosmopolitan destination on the bank of the Miami River where it meets Biscayne Bay. A stunning addition to Miami, this hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, epitomizes urban design while offering guests a level of style and service expected of such a resort. With exceptional amenities, breathtaking views and dining venues like Area 31, EPIC Hotel makes for an unparalleled Miami experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Travelocity, Amex, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epic Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.