We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meeting hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% Off + FREE Upgrade
Ranked #5 of 130 hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersGold level
Fort Myers, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great meeting hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Our group had a meeting at the Epic in January having been worked over by hotels on the coast before. This meeting was outstanding due in no small part to the venue, the location, the facilities and the staff. The rooms were outstanding with many upgrades and great decor. The internet is free and fast for Kimpton members. The food in the Sushi place was good. Access easy and parking is efficient. The staff are very helpful. This is obviously a meeting place for Miami. We will probably return next year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
canuck33907
Thanks for sharing the great meeting experience you had with us. We are happy to be able to contribute to it with our great, caring staff and our outstanding rooms.
Please come back soon to enjoy for yourself or to have another meeting with us.
EPIC wishes
Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,964 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,438
    353
    94
    50
    29
See reviews for
373
747
101
392
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orono, MN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed at the Epic for just one night, prior to a cruise and would love to go back! The valet was friendly and efficient, with a quick check-in and up to our beautiful room. He stepped out on the lani with us and pointed out several good spots to check out. The lani itself is quite spacious and the view was gorgeous. The room was very comfortable, spacious and had a pretty, fresh decor. We appreciate the spacious bathroom with double sinks and separate bath and shower and private toilet area. There is a roman shade over the tub (between the bath and bedroom) that can be raised so you can enjoy the sea view while washing up. We decided to dine at Zuma that evening and had a great time! The food was superb and the atmosphere was fun and energetic. The pools and workout rooms were very nice as well. We would certainly go back to both the Epic and Zuma our next time in Miami.

Room Tip: Higher floors viewing the sea are quiet and have nice, big balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
HappySail0r
Thanks so much for your positive feedback! I am happy to learn about the great experience you had with your room and our staff. Kimpton and EPIC are about style and we love your comment about the room being "pretty, fresh decor"
Please come back soon to visit us. EPIC wishes.
Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here one night before leaving on a cruise - with our two teenagers. The hotel is a 10 minute taxi to the port, 10-15 minute walk to Marshall's and Macys. The rooms are huge and beautiful as is the hotel. The room had a big stand alone tub in front of blinds that opened to allow you to look into the main bedroom. There was a magnifier built right into the mirror in the bathroom. There was a great workout room with top of the line equipment and a yoga room. We ate dinner in Area 31 which was extremely noisy -- it was a Friday night and seemed to be a popular bar and restaurant. You had to strain to hear your party in conversation. We didn't enjoy our meal for that reason and were in a rush to get out. We did come back for breakfast and enjoyed it thoroughly. Area 13 also has an outside patio which was also very popular. It meant that you could hear the noise from the patio until the bar closed around 1 p.m. I would recommend that you get a room on the other side of the hotel.

Room Tip: Get room on side of hotel away from Ar3ea 31 Bar and Terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
OakvilleMatriarch
Thanks for sharing your feedback.We are thrilled you have chosen our hotel as a start to your cruise. We are just a quick taxi ride away being located in the upcoming Miami downtown area. Considering our rooms huge and beautiful such as the entire hotel is certainly a nice compiment and I would personally like to thank you for it!.
We can't wait to have you back. EPIC wishes.
Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coggeshall, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Our Virgin flight was delayed for 22hours and after a frustrating wait at the airport several of the 380 passengers were transported to the 'Epic' hotel in downtown Miami.
Despite it being 4:30 am the staff were extremely polite and helpful, the rooms delightful with everything you could wish for. There was an excellent view from the balcony too. We didn't have time to enjoy the spa and pool, but had a very substantial brunch which was really appreciated after a number of hours without food. Would recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in this area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Lexie2Hawick
Thanks for sharing your feedback. I appreciate you recognizing our extremely helpful and friendly overnight staff. Our views are really spectacular by night and day. Too bad you did not have a chance to take advantage of our pool located on the 16th floor.
Please come back and visit us soon and you will not regret it. EPIC wishes.
Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at The EPIC after we completed our anniversary cruise. We arrived to the hotel about 10 am and was accomodated on our request for an early check in. We did spend about 30 mins in their Executive Lounge for breakfast until our room was ready. Gabe,one of the conciereges, even gave us spa passes that we didn't get to utilize (next time)! Racquel was another great concierge (congrats on the engagement!) It was very quiet and relaxing in the lounge. We ate out on the balcony and took in some of the beautiful Miami views. Our room was very nice! We had a suite that included a computer (free WiFi), balcony, very comfy bed, and a lovely bathroom with oversized soaking tub! We ate at Area 31 that evening and wow, wow, wow! We were greeted with a robust "Happy Anniversary", seated and then noticed our menus said Happy anniversary too! Nice touch! The food was great, review to follow. We had such a great time we extended our stay one more day! It was very hard to leave this place they were great! We even met the Miami Heat cheerleaders in the lobby one evening and got a picture of them! Everyone was amazing and we really appreciated the personal touch that they added to everything that they did for us! Amazing stay!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
regmcole
Thanks so much for sharing your feedfback. I am glad we were able to grant you an early check in. Having great rooms with awesome views is certainly a great feature. However ultimately it's the personable touch of our staff members Racquel and Gabe who went the extra mile that made the difference. Both of them were happy to be recognized!
Please come back soon. EPIC wishes.
Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I'm a regular. It is big. It is busy. But when you approach the front desk you will be greeted by caring, professional people such as Aubrey. I first encountered Aubrey when I had an issue with my room. She addressed my concern, she notated it, and I've never had to worry again. This attention to detail and attention to my needs will keep bringing me back. Thank you Aubrey and thank you EPIC.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
RWandPW
Thanks so much for sharing and for recognizing our highly motivated Front Desk agent Aubrey. It's the genuine care and attention to detail that you appreciated and you made her very proud. Our employees are what we are all about and we always strive to make them and our guests happy.
Please come back soon. EPIC wishes.
Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Due to it's location, we were forced to pass and do a u-turn to be able to get to it. Valet area was severely congested but they were nice. Upon entering, you are met with the smell of flowers, beautiful decor, and friendly staff. We were kindly told about the onsite restaurants if we were hungry after our travels as it was 9pm. We were on the 20th floor. We walked in the room and it had some pleasing details like sliding doors, rain shower head, pretty bowl sinks. We were thrilled there was a small terrace with small table and chairs. You could however hear the music from the Area 31 outdoor bar area which was techno beat. It disrupted the enjoyment of being outside. We would have liked to have gotten a drink out of the mini bar but it takes a key, which we were not given. We took the lid off the ice bucket to discover old dried food on the inside of it. Thank goodness they leave a plastic bag to line it and I just did not put the lid on since it was gross. We were hungry and went to Area 31 where we were asked if we were there to eat. We said yes and were told the dining was closed but could sit in the indoor or outdoor bar aread and be helped for drinks and appetizers. We sat for around 40 minutes waiting and were never waited on. We also noticed the others around us were never waited on. One couple gave up and went to the bartender inside to get a drink. We gave up and left. We then tried the other restaurant Zuma where we were denied admittance due to a dress code. FYI You might train your staff to inform people of this so called dress code so they arrive dressed for it or avoid it all together. We chose to avoid it all together and gave our money to the Chophouse across the street along with the big tip to the nice server there. I give the Chophouse two thumbs up from the hospitality who didn't mind my expensive destroyed jeans and expensive brand of low heeled sandals or my husbands Polo jeans. Zuma didn't seem to think this attire was good enough for their establishment. Try the Chophouse, their sushi and surf & turf was great as were there drinks. They saved the evening for us. The beds at Epic are some of the most uncomfortable I have ever slept on. Add in the noise from airplanes, road noise, etc and I did not sleep well. We did order room service breakfast and it arrived in the time slot they said and was good. We left to enjoy the day. We arrived back and once again had to pass it due to the congestion of traffic at it. We made a second attempt and still could not pull into the driveway due to all the congestion of the valet area, taxis and a bus blocking the area. We had cars honking because we were stopped behind all this waiting to pull in the driveway. The valets are always nice though, props to them. As we enter in the hotel, we hear the loudest techno music. We discover an event is being hosted in the pool area on the 16th floor. We are tired from our full day and went back to the hotel to relax. We decided to skip trying to go to either restaurant and decided to order room service. Don't try the numbers provided on the phone as they are all wrong. We finally get the number from calling the valet number provided on our ticket. Our room service food was great but we would have liked to have enjoyed it from terrace but the music was so loud that you absolutely could not eat out there. It was extremely loud in our room with the sliders closed as it was. What is the point of a terrace if you can not enjoy it?! NONE!!! The music was so loud that with the doors closed, the curtains pulled, we could not hear the tv and it was vibrating the walls of our room. It was techno dub step beat or whatever you call it. If we could not hear ourselves in a conversation, I can't even believe how loud it was for the people at the event or for the ones even closer to the pool area. If you are thinking we are just old people who do not enjoy music, you are wrong to both. It was just this extremely loud beat over and over and over. At 9:30 we called to ask when the unbelievably loud music would stop and were told 11:00PM!!!! It was a THURSDAY. Thank goodness not there on a business trip! Feel sorry for the tired souls who needed to think and work or those who wanted to sleep, like us. At 11:15 after getting even louder in it's last hour...the horrid loud techno beat stopped. Is this a hotel or a nightclub?! I would NEVER stay there again.

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel unless you are into loud obnoxious music and obnoxious door men at their rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
PJ J
Thank you very much for your honest feedback. I am so sorry you experienced some challenges with us throughout your stay. We did host a one time DJ event on our pooldeck on the 16th floor and feel bad that you were bothered by it. We take critique very seriously and are currently looking into all issues you had brought up to ensure they will not happen again.
Please come back soon and contact me prior to your visit. I trust you will have a much better time with us next time. EPIC wishes.
Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Miami
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#3 Spa Hotel in Miami
#3 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#5 Family Hotel in Miami
#5 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new EPIC Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Miami, a sparkling cosmopolitan destination on the bank of the Miami River where it meets Biscayne Bay. A stunning addition to Miami, this hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, epitomizes urban design while offering guests a level of style and service expected of such a resort. With exceptional amenities, breathtaking views and dining venues like Area 31, EPIC Hotel makes for an unparalleled Miami experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Amex, getaroom.com, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epic Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.