We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missing the Mark in 305” 3 of 5 stars
Review of EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% Off + FREE Upgrade
Ranked #5 of 130 hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersGold level
chicago
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Missing the Mark in 305”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Just returned from a 4 night stay at the EPIC. I usually love Kimpton Hotels: attention to detail, high level of guest attention/service, quirky and fun. Unfortunately this spot had a much more generic, big hotel feel. We usually stay in Miami Beach but decided to give the city a try this year largely due to our previous positive experiences at Kimpton Hotels. Unfortunately this hotel caters to big groups: corporate, wedding parties. It is not a good choice for the average leisure/vacation traveler. We stayed in room 2602 which had a nice water view and a balcony. The room is a nice size with a fantastic bathroom (deep tub, ETRO products, two sinks). The balcony was a good size as well, furnished with two chairs and a small table. The chair and table on the balcony both appeared to have some mildew/staining problems that should have been obvious to the housekeeping staff. The website mentions the cocktail hour and the signature mojito cocktail. Instead we were served bad wine (red or white) that was not worth a trip to the lobby. One of the days we returned to our room at 4:30P after being out all day to find the room had not been cleaned/serviced. Lukewarm coffee service in the lobby. $37 overnight parking fee. Chipped/missing tiles around the pools. Room service trays and dropped food in the hallway for far too long. Final complaint: the incredibly loud club music by the pool on Saturday was unreal. There was no way to escape the volume of this unfortunate music choice except to leave the pool. Overall, if you are in Miami for business and are working all day, this is probably an okay enough hotel. If you are traveling for fun or leisure, skip it.

Room Tip: The water view is not worth extra money, and it may be better to face away from the pool if you pref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,962 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,438
    352
    93
    50
    29
See reviews for
373
747
101
391
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

just checked in now.
and this is how they welcomed us.
saw around 10-12 cigratte buds in my balcony, you don't expect this from one of the best hotels in town. On top of that, I got a twin bed which wasn't discussed while i was checking in.

check in formalities were quick and reception staff were great.
hotel over all looks very good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Our flight from Miami to London was delayed due to a technical problem, the ground crew took about 80 people to this hotel as they promised 74 rooms.We stood in a line at 4am for over 1.5 hours waiting for the very slow checkin staff to book us all in. We were made very unwelcome, no offer of seats or water. After 1.5 hours they said they only had 50 rooms. Why did they make us wait so long ? There were 3 staff behind the desk, one was more interested in talking to any passing female guest than helping us as a group. In the end after lots of shouting the remaining people were taken to the Conrad were we were made most welcome. I would not stay at this pretentious hotel.

Room Tip: Try the Conrad instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tegucigalpa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The Epic has so much working for it. The location is ideal, walking distance to so many exciting places. The service is very professional and very friendly. The different restaurants offer high quality dishes. Tasty options!!! The spa and pool are wonderful options to feel better. Every area is well maintained and very new. In the rooms there is enough space. The beds are comfortable. The bathrooms are designed well and with luxury features. Every aspect of the Epic is in perfect coordination and harmony that a master hotel should consist of. Congratulations to it's employees and the people making the decisions in the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The only thing that this hotel is missing is the beach. Otherwise, it would be perfect! Great staff, great service, gorgeous spa (exhale spa) and a fantastic experience. We stayed there over a very busy weekend, and the service was just outstanding. I highly recommend this, especially if you would like to stay in downtown.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Definitely not worth the prices they charge. . .you feel like an anonymous person throughout your stay except for the pool attendants. My phone line didn't work the entire stay but despite asking for it to be fixed and an engineer coming once and saying it wasn't the phone but the line, nothing changed. I called for ice and after 30 minutes called again and was told to go get it myself. . .they claimed they called my room and left a message but I was in the room and there's no message. The tv got horrible reception and I was told it was the tv channel not the tv. The spa pretends it's completely separate from the hotel. . .you can't charge to your room. Definitely not returning here

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Last year we stayed a week and it was amazing. This year we returned for 4 nights. Once again, the Epic did not disappoint. The desk girls are as beautiful and helpful as ever. They let as check in two hours earlier and let use the facilities. Will definitely return in 2014 to soak up Miami sun at Epic. Stayed in Room 2733. The view was better last year in Room 2708 - opposite side of hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Miami
#3 Spa Hotel in Miami
#3 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#5 Family Hotel in Miami
#5 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new EPIC Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Miami, a sparkling cosmopolitan destination on the bank of the Miami River where it meets Biscayne Bay. A stunning addition to Miami, this hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, epitomizes urban design while offering guests a level of style and service expected of such a resort. With exceptional amenities, breathtaking views and dining venues like Area 31, EPIC Hotel makes for an unparalleled Miami experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epic Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.