We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% Off + FREE Upgrade
Ranked #5 of 129 hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I stayed here for a weekend during the ING Miami Marathon. It was a great location for the race, just a short walk to the star/finish line. However, if you're on vacation you probably want to stay closer to the beach. The hotel looks brand new, is very clean and the rooms are really comfortable. We had a great view of the water from our balcony.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,931 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,414
    346
    93
    50
    28
See reviews for
377
748
101
393
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We are currently staying at this amazing hotel, the building itself is fantastic and great location. the room is awesome there are no faults in this area! however we have encountered a catalogue of errors since check in. Firstly after a long drive from Orlando and being very excited about staying at this hotel as we certainly had paid a top rate we were looking forward to relaxing and being looked after however our room was not ready and we had to wait nearly 3 hours!! we were unable to go far as they were unsure how long it would be before it became available. we were very kindly upgraded to a junior suite which is absolutely luxurious and faultless, definitely worth the wait. Alexandra on reception was very friendly and so helpful a great asset to the hotel.

we decided to have an early night in our lovely room but were woken at 11.45pm by room service knocking the door then calling the phone trying to deliver us a complementary bottle of champagne!! Don't get us wrong we would have been grateful for this but it felt very strange to be woken up so late to be given this. We called reception quite disorientated about this only to be spoken to very rudely by Felix who couldn't understand why we were unhappy about being woken up and only concerned with if we wanted the champagne!! in the morning we explained to Julianne on reception who was not forthcoming with any apology but just gave us a hotel credit to use!! again we are very grateful for this as we can have a meal in the lovely restaurant but where was the apology for being woken up? we have 2 days left and i really hope we can enjoy this hotel as we were so looking forward to without all the little errors that are being made like not arranging our coffee maker we requested before checking in then when we did have this we were given 1 mug between us?! silly little things that seem trivial but this type of issue in this calibre of hotel should not be happening. Breakfast in the hotel is great really good choice and lovely environment however our coffee and juice was cleared from the table when we went to get fruit so had to be given another table and order another coffee.

Come on Epic your better than this!!

Based on our experience which could be just a one off, im not sure if i could recommend the hotel but i will say the hotel itself is AMAZING and the view from the room is fantastic.

Room Tip: request a high floor for the view.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is my third time staying at the epic!
Water view high floor is the only way to go, otherwise pick another hotel by the water! If you can get the above room type then you will be thrilled with is hotel! The staff is very friendly and overall the service is great! They are truly pet friendly, no additional charges at all.
The mimosas at Area31 are amazing! Reserve ahead and do not miss dining at Zuma! Killer restaurant in the lobby of the Epic! Seriously one of the best meals we have ever eaten!
I love the Kimpton hotels in NYC and the epic rates up there with them. Clean large well laid out rooms. Pull out couches in all the suites... The 01 room on the corner have huge balconies that overlook the water... So great!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

In my mid 50's the somewhat loud music in public areas of hotel aren't appealing nor the rolls royce parked in front. Long waits for food at bar and around the pool tedious. Air conditioning too high. Lots of street noise.

Room Tip: Understand when you book this hotel that you are in the midst of an urban grind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando, San Fernando, Trinidad and Tobago
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Front desk staff was great, room was clean and the bed was reaaallll comfortable, location was great, valet parking excellent... staff went out if their way to ensure that I did not even have to pull my luggage at checkout...My one complaint was that we ordered room service at around midnight as that was the time we checked in, and after more than an hour, it had not arrived... and my husband and I both fell asleep, yet we were charged for it... Overall good, but at the price you would expect at least free water and coffee in the rooms...

Room Tip: High floors make for great photography
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

The good: Good size room,clean,Comfy beds, Wifi free,loads of towels in bathroom which of big size, service very friendly all over, gym, pool area with great and friendly food/drink service.

The not so good: No free water in room, bathroom light not great for applying makeup, hotel bar is very disappointing (boring/dull) for such a hotel.

Overall really enjoyed it and if looking to stay away from SoBe would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Sailaway1002
Thanks so much for your honest feedback. I am very happy to learn that you enjoyed our comfy beds and the friendly service all over.
When you come back, I will be happy to get you some water in your room!
EPIC wishes, Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My favorite hotel seems to be slipping a bit. I've stayed at the Epic numerous times and have always felt special when there. Upon arrival, you used to be asked your name and the person greeting you as you exited the cab would radio the front desk with your name. I'm not a prima-dona but it was kind of nice! On my most recent visit, my room service breakfast was never delivered. I understand that things happen but I had to leave for a meeting with no time to get anything. It was a very uncomfortable, hungry morning. I expected to return to the hotel with some sort of apology or acknowledgement that this had happened....nothing! When I tried to call and report it, the phone was not even answered on my first try. On my second try, I was told that it was due to "a lot of banquets ongoing". The excuse was given before a feable apology. I felt special.

The carpeting and furnishings are just beginning to show signs of wear. This is a GREAT location and the 16th floor balcony and restaurant have a wonderful view. I will likely give it one more try but I used to chose the Epic over the JW Marquis without second thought. This choice is now not as easy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
pjc1156
Thanks so much for sharing and for being a regular of ours. So sorry you encountered some issues with your breakfast order this time. I have already looked into this to make sure we will not do the same mistake again!
Please come back and I will be happy to ensure that you will experience the great service we are known for. EPIC wishes!
Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Miami
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#3 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#3 Spa Hotel in Miami
#5 Business Hotel in Miami
#5 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new EPIC Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Miami, a sparkling cosmopolitan destination on the bank of the Miami River where it meets Biscayne Bay. A stunning addition to Miami, this hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, epitomizes urban design while offering guests a level of style and service expected of such a resort. With exceptional amenities, breathtaking views and dining venues like Area 31, EPIC Hotel makes for an unparalleled Miami experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Amex, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epic Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.