We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Epic Experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% Off + FREE Upgrade
Ranked #5 of 130 hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersGold level
San Fernando, San Fernando, Trinidad and Tobago
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“An Epic Experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Front desk staff was great, room was clean and the bed was reaaallll comfortable, location was great, valet parking excellent... staff went out if their way to ensure that I did not even have to pull my luggage at checkout...My one complaint was that we ordered room service at around midnight as that was the time we checked in, and after more than an hour, it had not arrived... and my husband and I both fell asleep, yet we were charged for it... Overall good, but at the price you would expect at least free water and coffee in the rooms...

Room Tip: High floors make for great photography
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,965 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,439
    353
    94
    50
    29
See reviews for
373
747
101
392
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

The good: Good size room,clean,Comfy beds, Wifi free,loads of towels in bathroom which of big size, service very friendly all over, gym, pool area with great and friendly food/drink service.

The not so good: No free water in room, bathroom light not great for applying makeup, hotel bar is very disappointing (boring/dull) for such a hotel.

Overall really enjoyed it and if looking to stay away from SoBe would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Sailaway1002
Thanks so much for your honest feedback. I am very happy to learn that you enjoyed our comfy beds and the friendly service all over.
When you come back, I will be happy to get you some water in your room!
EPIC wishes, Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My favorite hotel seems to be slipping a bit. I've stayed at the Epic numerous times and have always felt special when there. Upon arrival, you used to be asked your name and the person greeting you as you exited the cab would radio the front desk with your name. I'm not a prima-dona but it was kind of nice! On my most recent visit, my room service breakfast was never delivered. I understand that things happen but I had to leave for a meeting with no time to get anything. It was a very uncomfortable, hungry morning. I expected to return to the hotel with some sort of apology or acknowledgement that this had happened....nothing! When I tried to call and report it, the phone was not even answered on my first try. On my second try, I was told that it was due to "a lot of banquets ongoing". The excuse was given before a feable apology. I felt special.

The carpeting and furnishings are just beginning to show signs of wear. This is a GREAT location and the 16th floor balcony and restaurant have a wonderful view. I will likely give it one more try but I used to chose the Epic over the JW Marquis without second thought. This choice is now not as easy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
pjc1156
Thanks so much for sharing and for being a regular of ours. So sorry you encountered some issues with your breakfast order this time. I have already looked into this to make sure we will not do the same mistake again!
Please come back and I will be happy to ensure that you will experience the great service we are known for. EPIC wishes!
Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Being a true city girl, this was a great hotel for us. The location was great, the view from the room was amazing, the pool was great, etc. The bed was super comfortable: This is a real compliment coming from someone with sleep problems!
The service was just terrific. The team at the conceirge was one of the best I have seen. From the guys helping us to our luggage to them facilitating a car rental for us, it was just super impressive. A special thank you to Jean on the car rental for making it so quick and easy!
The front desk team was super friendly. I can go on!
The only piece where they could do better was the restaurants/food. It was good but could be better for such a great hotel. I would also expect complementary water and coffee in the rooms from such a hotel.
Overall - terrific!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view! Well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Nerry_Luvs_Travel
Thanks a lot for sharing your experience. I am thrilled you did not only enjoy the views, the comfort of your bed and the pool but also the interaction with our staff members. I have passed on your compliments to Jean, one of our highly motivated concierges who was happy to be able to assist you with your car rental.
Come back soon! EPIC wishes
Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Just stay here. It's glorious. The super yachts in the hotel's very own marina make for free entertainment when you've tapped out your budget on the awesome room service and cocktails at the pool. Nice views, awesome balconies, everything is shiny and the staff is lovely.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
eatsshootsleaves
We love to hear our guests rave about their stay with us. Thanks again for sharing, our marina right outside the hotel is quite unique especially considering our downtown location.
Please come back soon! EPIC wishes
Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Have to start this review with this: Free Wi-Fi if you join the InTouch loyalty program (which is free to join) - YES! From the moment I got out of the cab until the morning I left to return home, I had nothing but a relaxing experience. I was down for just two days for business. The hotel restaurant, Area 31, has great food. Yes, a little pricey but well worth it for the convenience. The room was perfect. I had a balcony with a view of the hotel pool and the Bank of America building. It was fun seeing the building lit up at night. I now understand why everyone raves about a rainfall showerhead – the bathroom had one. It is just blocks away from Brickell Ave so it is convenient to many downtown businesses. The shopping around there is a tad sketchy, but the options for eating range from Starbucks to Subway to the Capital Grille. The staff was very helpful and always welcomed me with a hello. Stay at the Epic. You won’t regret it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
jspoke
Thanks so much for sharing the great time you had with us. I am glad you enjoyed our free WIFI as a Kimpton in touch member. Considering our rooms perfect is certainly want we want to hear!
Please come back soon. EPIC wishes
Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Checking in was a little aggravating. The one bedroom suite was not ready and was told the previous guest hasn't yet checked out and couldn't ask them to get out. Okay...After waiting approximately 2 hours for a suite, I was plesently surprised! The view was great and once the sun went down, the great view became fantastic!
The four day stay was really nice. You're not going to want to leave.
Chris, the bellman, was fantastic and very informative about the hotel restaurants, and local activities around the area.
Don't rent a car if you don't have to. Valet/parking is like the Cross Bronx Expressway, (if your from NYC area, you know what I mean).
Overall, experience, I would come back. The staff was very pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view room or suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Vince149
Thanks for sharing your feedback. I am happy to learn that after the initial little challenge of getting your Suite ready for you, you did have great stay with us and did not even wanted to leave.
I have passed on your compliments to Chris, we love our staff members to be recognized.
Please come back soon! EPIC wishes
Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Miami
#3 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#3 Spa Hotel in Miami
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#5 Business Hotel in Miami
#5 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new EPIC Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Miami, a sparkling cosmopolitan destination on the bank of the Miami River where it meets Biscayne Bay. A stunning addition to Miami, this hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, epitomizes urban design while offering guests a level of style and service expected of such a resort. With exceptional amenities, breathtaking views and dining venues like Area 31, EPIC Hotel makes for an unparalleled Miami experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Amex, getaroom.com, Agoda, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epic Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.