We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay in downtown Miami” 5 of 5 stars
Review of EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% Off + FREE Upgrade
Ranked #6 of 129 hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersGold level
Baltimore, MD
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A lovely stay in downtown Miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Have to start this review with this: Free Wi-Fi if you join the InTouch loyalty program (which is free to join) - YES! From the moment I got out of the cab until the morning I left to return home, I had nothing but a relaxing experience. I was down for just two days for business. The hotel restaurant, Area 31, has great food. Yes, a little pricey but well worth it for the convenience. The room was perfect. I had a balcony with a view of the hotel pool and the Bank of America building. It was fun seeing the building lit up at night. I now understand why everyone raves about a rainfall showerhead – the bathroom had one. It is just blocks away from Brickell Ave so it is convenient to many downtown businesses. The shopping around there is a tad sketchy, but the options for eating range from Starbucks to Subway to the Capital Grille. The staff was very helpful and always welcomed me with a hello. Stay at the Epic. You won’t regret it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
jspoke
Thanks so much for sharing the great time you had with us. I am glad you enjoyed our free WIFI as a Kimpton in touch member. Considering our rooms perfect is certainly want we want to hear!
Please come back soon. EPIC wishes
Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,966 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,429
    358
    97
    52
    30
See reviews for
388
754
102
399
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Checking in was a little aggravating. The one bedroom suite was not ready and was told the previous guest hasn't yet checked out and couldn't ask them to get out. Okay...After waiting approximately 2 hours for a suite, I was plesently surprised! The view was great and once the sun went down, the great view became fantastic!
The four day stay was really nice. You're not going to want to leave.
Chris, the bellman, was fantastic and very informative about the hotel restaurants, and local activities around the area.
Don't rent a car if you don't have to. Valet/parking is like the Cross Bronx Expressway, (if your from NYC area, you know what I mean).
Overall, experience, I would come back. The staff was very pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view room or suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Vince149
Thanks for sharing your feedback. I am happy to learn that after the initial little challenge of getting your Suite ready for you, you did have great stay with us and did not even wanted to leave.
I have passed on your compliments to Chris, we love our staff members to be recognized.
Please come back soon! EPIC wishes
Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We just spent the weekend at the Epic Hotel Feb 8-10. We were in town to see the Heat / Clippers game. The hotel is in close walking distance (less than a mile) to the arena, good shopping and food. Valet parking was busy.. At least a 15 minutes wait.. not too bad. $$$ but no other parking options if you have a car. Be sure to call down first. The room was nice. Nice bedding, rug a little dirty feeling under feet. I think it was a busy weekend because the rates were higher than I have seen which was too bad because my expectations were raised and it turned out to be underwhelming. Rain shower in bathroom is no good when you don't want to get your hair wet. More toiletries... Shower cap would have been nice. A coffee maker or Keurig in the room would have been nice as well. A/C very touchy, most of the time it was too warm in the room.

Purchased a city view but had a water view over the pool... 20th floor. Not high but still a nice view.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
SLOCain
Thanks so much for your honest feedback. I am glad you enjoyed the room and the bedding.On the same token I am so sorry you encountered some issues throughout your stay with us. We will be happy to get you a Keurig coffeemaker, a shower cap and an AC with a fixed set temperature on your next stay with us.
EPIC wishes, Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Great hotel with superior service and accommodations. Had a great room a few floors above the pool and could not have been happier. Also found the meeting rooms to be good, as well as in house catering. Would definitely return & appreciate how unique each Kimpton property is.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
JPhilly
Thanks so much for sharing your feedback. We apreciate you being a fan of Kimpton hotels and I am happy to learn that you found us to be a great hotel with superior service and accomodations!
Please come back soon! EPIC wishes
Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We have just returned from a trip to Miami for the marathon. Stayed at the Epic in a Club King Waterview room which was fabulous. We were on the 25th floor which is the same level as the Club lounge. Very modern, trendy hotel with a tremendous group of staff - all of the staff were fantastic!

Arrived around 7.00pm and quickly taken to the Club Lounge for check-in which was processed immediately and efficiently. The staff in the Club Lounge were all very friendly and helpful, well able to answer any queries we had.

The room was lovely with a nice water view, especially from the balcony. Extremely comfortable bed, large bathroom, good size room. Extra ammenities/services such as computer with internet access (we are Kimpton members so receive free wifi), twice daily housekeeping service, etc were much appreciated. The Club Lounge benefits were also great, including the breakfast, lunch, and drinks/snacks in the evening.

Spent time each day by the pools which is a great area and yes there is sun all day. Excellent service by the staff in the pool area, Carlos and Steve were particulary great during our visit.

Highly recommend this hotel and we would definitely return! Club room also recommended as the extra special service adds to the enjoyment of staying at this fabulous hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Mel13Uk
Thanks so much for sharing the great experience you had with us. Your comments of being a "very modern, trendy hotel with a tremendous group of staff " exactly describe what we are about,
It makes me very happy and proud that your experience was right what we wanted it to be.
Please come back soon. EPIC wishes
Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We had been searching for a good room and came across several mom and pops places in southbeach, the reviews for southbeach were that they were old and not very customer orientated. We came across the epic hotel and the pictures look exactly like the hotel. We arrived for valet and they were busy but very friendly. Then we met a man working who was also very helpful. After checking in he walked up to us and shook are hand, said anything you need just call. The room had a goldfish which was a cute perk, very good bathroom products, and a city view. There were a list of free complimentary items they would bring up to make you feel at home, such as a humidifier curling irons, basically anything you forgot. Never have I had such good customer service. The pool everything was perfect stay here you won't regret it!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Rk0810
We are thrilled you chose our hotel and had a great time. I am very happy to hear your comment that we provided the best customer service you ever had! Providing heartfelt genuine service is what we are all about and you experienced it first hand. Please come back soon!
EPIC wishes, Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Everything from the moment I arrived until check-out was absolutely top-notch. Normally I opt to stay in South Beach when I'm in Miami but this time it was between the Epic and the nearby Mandarin Oriental, and the Epic was... well, epic.

Our room was on the Club Level: the club lounge has a pleasant atmosphere and good selection of food, drinks & treats. The room itself was amazing: spacious, comfortable, with every imaginable amenity, etc - you get the idea. Kimpton really understands good service and what travelers need in a hotel room.

I'll likely be a repeat visitor: this is a great hotel not only for business but for Jan/Feb fun when it might be still too cold for the beach (the pool at the Epic is fantastic).

Room Tip: Go with the Club floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Ana M
Thank you so much for your kind comments, We love to hear that you found everything "Top Notch" about your entire stay. I have passed on your comments to our team at the club floor and they were happy to be recognized.
Please come back soon!
EPIC wishes, Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#3 Green Hotel in Miami
#4 Spa Hotel in Miami
#4 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#5 Family Hotel in Miami
#5 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new EPIC Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Miami, a sparkling cosmopolitan destination on the bank of the Miami River where it meets Biscayne Bay. A stunning addition to Miami, this hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, epitomizes urban design while offering guests a level of style and service expected of such a resort. With exceptional amenities, breathtaking views and dining venues like Area 31, EPIC Hotel makes for an unparalleled Miami experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, Amex, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epic Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.