We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in downtown miami close to southbeach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% Off + FREE Upgrade
Ranked #5 of 130 hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best hotel in downtown miami close to southbeach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We had been searching for a good room and came across several mom and pops places in southbeach, the reviews for southbeach were that they were old and not very customer orientated. We came across the epic hotel and the pictures look exactly like the hotel. We arrived for valet and they were busy but very friendly. Then we met a man working who was also very helpful. After checking in he walked up to us and shook are hand, said anything you need just call. The room had a goldfish which was a cute perk, very good bathroom products, and a city view. There were a list of free complimentary items they would bring up to make you feel at home, such as a humidifier curling irons, basically anything you forgot. Never have I had such good customer service. The pool everything was perfect stay here you won't regret it!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Rk0810
We are thrilled you chose our hotel and had a great time. I am very happy to hear your comment that we provided the best customer service you ever had! Providing heartfelt genuine service is what we are all about and you experienced it first hand. Please come back soon!
EPIC wishes, Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,931 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,414
    346
    93
    50
    28
See reviews for
377
748
101
393
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Everything from the moment I arrived until check-out was absolutely top-notch. Normally I opt to stay in South Beach when I'm in Miami but this time it was between the Epic and the nearby Mandarin Oriental, and the Epic was... well, epic.

Our room was on the Club Level: the club lounge has a pleasant atmosphere and good selection of food, drinks & treats. The room itself was amazing: spacious, comfortable, with every imaginable amenity, etc - you get the idea. Kimpton really understands good service and what travelers need in a hotel room.

I'll likely be a repeat visitor: this is a great hotel not only for business but for Jan/Feb fun when it might be still too cold for the beach (the pool at the Epic is fantastic).

Room Tip: Go with the Club floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Ana M
Thank you so much for your kind comments, We love to hear that you found everything "Top Notch" about your entire stay. I have passed on your comments to our team at the club floor and they were happy to be recognized.
Please come back soon!
EPIC wishes, Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Amazing property, 5-star service. I met my boyfriend at the property for one night and then we were relocating to a new property on South Beach. I was sad to leave our large guestroom with a balcony over looking the pool and the incredible ocean view. We ordered breakfast the night before by hanging our order on the door, it arrived on time and with all of my allergies within consideration.

One of their bellman,Christopher Hunt is amazing! I'm not sure what their service standard is but everyone can take a page from his book. He acknowledged and greeted me instantly, took my luggage, assisted me to an ATM, even went as far as to recommend I don't change my boots as it is a little chilly out and a lot of woman will be wearing them as well. He is a star!

CONS: We requested a late check out; which they accomodated. As we were headed back from the pool the housekeeping manager, I'm assuming, was very disgruntled and bluntly asked when we were checking out so she could clean our room. I work in the industry for a luxury brand, she could have easily ran a report displaying all the late check outs on our floor. Given the late check out policy is 2 or 3pm. She could have assumed it would have been around that time.

Also,the pool is little small and needs some maintenance as there are titles missing from the edges BUT the pool staff and views are amazing! I would never stay at a property with a huge pool as I'm not too fond of the crowd that type of amenity brings.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the pool. You are guaranteed an amazing view of the water and downtown...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Erica S
Thanks for sharing your experience, I am happy to learn that you loved the property and the service. It was my pleasure to pass on your compliments to our bellman Christopher who took good care of you. So sorry about your experience with the housekeeper verfiying your departure time. It''s already been adressed!
Come back soon, EPIC wishes
Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Our stay was just perfect. It's the closest hotel to the Marathon. We literally woke up and rolled into the event. In addition to complimentary morning coffee & afternoon wine, Epic also offered all runners gatorade and bananas at 4:00am on run day! We opted to eat something light in the room. I couldn't find travel size peanut butter so the front desk suggested I go to the restaurant 31 to see if they have any. They doggy bagged me peanut butter! We had pretty good breakfast there too. The staff are all very friendly and helpful.
Our first night we walked to the arena to see the Heat game. On our way back we strolled through the lively Bayside Market. It's about $25-$30 cab ride to/from airport and South Beach depending on traffic. The room was beautiful, spacious & the bed was comfortable. We slept very well with the balcony door opened and AC turned off. In mid January, the breezy wind cools the room. Although at times it was quite noisy outside as it is down town and traffic noise travel high up.
Since it was a bit cool to swim at times, (great pool and lounge area though) we went for runs instead. Our room had a running route map so we used it to run by Brickell Key. What wonderful view during sunset time!
The japanese restaurant inside the hotel "Zuma" is to die for! I think it was one of the best meals I had during my stay. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
RC00
Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We are all about sports at the EPIC and are glad that we were able to add that little extra to your stay such as gatorade and bananas at 4am.
Our staff truly cares in a genuine way and we are happy that you recognized them.
Please come back soon.
EPIC wishes

Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel for 4 nights on business. The room was great - lots of space and great views. The location was excellent for the financial district but also to enjoy the wonderful water activities. Great vibe overall. Perhaps the service in Area 31 restaurant could be improved (was a bit sporadic), but leaving that aside, would thoroughly recommend staying there.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
goco
Thanks for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. Having a great room with lots of space and awesome views in conjunction with a good vibe overall is what we are all about.
We look forward to having you back.
EPIC wishes

Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

we stayed at epic hotel in downtown Miami for the second time and we had a great experience. the hotel rooms are very clean, the staff is extremely friendly and the food is good. I would recommend this hotel to anyone if they are staying in the downtown Miami area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
kenmendo
Thanks for sharing and for being a regular guest of ours. I am happy you enjoyed our clean rooms, great food and certainly our extremely friendly staff.
We look forward to having you back again.
EPIC wishes

Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I recently stayed at the Epic on business and had a fantastic time. The room was great, check in was a breeze and the bar and restautrant were packed on a Thursday night. This is now my favorite place to stay in downtown Miami.

Room Tip: Get as high up as possible. See if you can overlook one of the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Mark R
Thanks for sharing. I am glad we became your favorite downtown hotel. Our views are certainly spectaclar and and we will be happy to upgrade you to a higher floor whenever we have availability.
Please come back soon
EPIC wishes

Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Miami
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#3 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#3 Spa Hotel in Miami
#5 Family Hotel in Miami
#5 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new EPIC Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Miami, a sparkling cosmopolitan destination on the bank of the Miami River where it meets Biscayne Bay. A stunning addition to Miami, this hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, epitomizes urban design while offering guests a level of style and service expected of such a resort. With exceptional amenities, breathtaking views and dining venues like Area 31, EPIC Hotel makes for an unparalleled Miami experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Amex, getaroom.com, Agoda, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epic Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.