We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fly South for the Winter
Ranked #5 of 129 Hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersGold level
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“poor breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

very good hotel in a good location. there is a wonderful restaurant inside, that is ZUMA, the best Japanese restaurant in Miami. but the breakfast that is included is very poor. you will have to order and pay for additional food.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Luiz Gustavo P
Thanks for taking the time to give us feedback. It pains us to hear the not-so good stuff, but it helps us learn and improve. That's actually the case with the breakfast.
We hope to have you back!

Best.
Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,542
    376
    106
    54
    30
See reviews for
413
797
108
435
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
276 reviews 276 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We moved to this hotel after a bad experience at another Miami hotel. We have been very pleased. The price we paid for the weekend rate was as good as I could expect for this quality of a hotel. Magnificent views, incredible common areas and amenities and some of the nicest appointments for the money. We paid $279 per night and thought it was a bargain. This has now become our "go to" hotel when in Miami. Very nice staff who swarm over you. They were always attentive to your needs and always available. I am not sure you could do any better when comparing the value of this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Check their on line specials frequently and browse them all. They have 411 rooms here and run diffe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
onceinawhile31
Thanks for sharing. We love to hear about our great views and staff members swarming over you. We look forward to welcoming you back to your new "go to" hotel in Miami

Best,
Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The Epic was a great. It has a great view if your room is on the south/water side. The rooms have a lot of room.
The 16 floor bar is crazy on Friday nights with happy hour. It’s worth a visit just to look around. The hotel has free wine in the lobby from 5pm – 6pm every night. It’s only one red and white to choose from. They change flavors monthly but wish it was daily. They also have coffee and teas in the morning in the same location as the wine. The hotel has a Vegas/Miami/W hotel feel.
My experience was positive at the hotel but wish they could correct the following problems.
Wish they had newspapers at the front desk. It seemed the only papers I saw in the mornings were the couple on the tables near the front desk and most times people are reading them. It would be nice to pick one up on the way out in the mornings.
The hot water at the coffee and tea services was always an orangey color. Was that coffee or iron in the water?
Wish the Front desk person was more informative during check in. She was new but also had someone with her supervising her performance. She forgot telling me about the amenities above and found out from my co-workers also at the hotel.
Wish the internet was truly free. They tell you have free internet in your room but it to their site only.
Lastly, I had a loud hum noise coming and going from my closet in my room. It was in the ceiling were there was a metal box.
That’s about it and possibly plan to come back there again next year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
AudioTraveler
Thanks for your great review. We appreciate you sharing your feedback and we are happy to address these items you pointed out. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay at EPIC and we are looking forward to your next visit. Please be our guest again.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Several great friends traveling into Miami for my milestone 30th birthday. From the moment we arrived down to the seconds we checked out , we had an EPIC stay. We rented a double bed room and were upgraded to a junior suite. And we also rented the corner one bedroom suite. Both rooms (next door to each other) were great. The junior suite is kind of small so if you plan to entertain, be sure to book a 1 bedroom suite. Within minutes a delivery of strawberries arrived to my room sent by family who couldnt join us. The presentation was great but they were not edible.... (they were defrosted frozen fruit) . Do not think your stay will be quiet. The night of my birthday they had six additional events happening so all of my guests were either stuck in line to valet park or I had to reroute them to the courtyard marriott or hyatt parking. This made my event from 8pm-10pm run from 9pm to 11pm. When I checked in with Aubrey (who is AMAZING) , she offered my group a glass of proseco at Area 51. It was so lovely. We had a special birthday toast with all my friends at the posh restaurant. It was certainly a night to remember. We ended up in the lounge on the first floor of epic afterwards. They were so kind to our guests and even gave us a comp bottle! The hotel then referred us to a nearby rooftop bar to remain nameless to finish the rest of our night. Very VIP of them to do this for our group. Overall our stay at Epic was EPIC! It is worth the price. Look out for deals or check to see if your employer has rates for you. ALso, if it's your birthday they will send you a coupon! Sadly I didn't know this and I paid full price :-( and noone mentioned it to me when i checked in or out during my actual birthday. That would be my recommendation for Kimpton to honor birthday deal if you choose to spend yours with them.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
freqflyer4
Thanks for posting such a great review on tripadvisor. We are thrilled that you selected EPIC for your 30th birthday celebration. It makes us happy to see that Aubrey created a lasting impressing and invited you for a round of bubbly to our restaurant. We hope you and your friends will be returning to EPIC soon.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed three nights for business, the hotel is really nice, it's a "fancy" hotel, whith pretty nice ambient and night life.

it's pet frindly, so you see people with its dogs, which is a bit rare but not a problem at all.

Rooms are new and with standard furniture, modern style.

I recommend it for business or young couples, looks like it's not the best place for families with little children

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Agilito
Thanks for sharing your nice comments from your stay at EPIC. We are happy to hear your compliments regarding our comfy and modern rooms and our fancy hotel ambience. We appreciate you are recommending EPIC to other travelers. Please be our guest again.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I had wonderful bridesmaids and wanted to treat them to a special night as a thank you for being so wonderful. The Epic was the perfect spot. We were served complimentary champagne upon our arrival, which started the night on the right path. The staff was very friendly. The rooms were lovely. We started our night with drinks at Area 31 before heading into town for a night out.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
LenoreMichelle
Thanks for your wonderful feedback. We appreciate you selected EPIC for your bridesmaids-getaway. It makes us happy to hear that you had a fun time and great kick off with champagne. We hope you will be visiting us again. Please return soon.
Best wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barfrington, IL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We just returned from a three night stay at the Epic in a junior suite city view on the concierge level. It really was not worth the money. The first night we arrived on Friday, we asked at the front desk what the club level included and they told us to go to the concierge lounge and they would explain everything. We went straight up there and the person at the desk acted like she didn't want to bother and responded by handing us a welcome letter. We wanted to know what food and drinks were available and she wasn't helpful and seemed more concerned with talking to her friends and a guy who worked at the hotel. Also, the housekeeping was not good at all. Towels that were left on the counter stayed there and were not replaced, wash cloths in the shower were left there day after day and not replaced with new ones. We were supposed to get housekeeping twice a day on this floor and it never happened and the room was barely straightened up. There were no sheets and blankets for the pull out bed, had to call and ask for them even thought they knew we had two kids in the room. Also, there was food in the halls from room service that was left there all day and night, really looked bad walking through the halls and never recieved a newspaper the whole time we were there. We would not stay again, probably would stay at the Loews which was the same price and so much nicer when we stayed a few years ago.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Patti H
Thanks you for sharing your feedback from your stay. We are sad to hear about your experience and we would like to apologize for not providing the service we are usually known for and you expected.
We hope you will be giving us another chance and returning to EPIC. We would love to have you back as our guest.
Best wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Miami
#3 Spa Hotel in Miami
#3 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#3 Family Hotel in Miami
#5 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new EPIC Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Miami, a sparkling cosmopolitan destination on the bank of the Miami River where it meets Biscayne Bay. A stunning addition to Miami, this hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, epitomizes urban design while offering guests a level of style and service expected of such a resort. With exceptional amenities, breathtaking views and dining venues like Area 31, EPIC Hotel makes for an unparalleled Miami experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epic Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.