We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 4th TOTALLY AWESOME visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fly South for the Winter
Ranked #5 of 129 Hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersGold level
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Our 4th TOTALLY AWESOME visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

December 23, 2012 to Jan 3, 2013 marked our 4th visit here and it only gets better!

We knew already that everything in this hotel was fabulous but since our summer trip they have made things even better, including bathroom scales in the room which, at this period of the year, helped me to only gain a "few" pounds!
The staff are unbelievably friendly, courteous, and helpful; nothing fazes them and they figure out just about anything.

A few mentions here;
Sonia, Oscar, Galina, and Mary in the club lounge - we love you guys;
Christian at reception - always recognizes us as soon as we enter the hotel (even after 6 months and countless faces)! And makes you feel like you just came home;
Gene the-concierge-with-a-connection-to-everything!
The great housekeeping staff who kept our room spotless;
All the super-friendly staff at Area 31 but in particular the wonderful, happy, smiling, efficient, beautiful Melina who must be an employee-from-heaven - start your day with Area 31's great breakfasts & Melina and nothing can go wrong the rest of the day;
All the valet-parking team who, in spite of an unbelievably busy holiday period attending to what must be "la creme" of Miami, shuttled our car in and out every day with a smile!;
...and last but not least, Jacqueline, who made sure we felt like royalty (although I am still trying to burn off the extra pounds after the chocolate-covered strawberries & champagne she snook into our room)!
Thank you all, you are without doubt, and from our experiences around the world, the best hotel team we've ever experienced.

If you're thinking of going to Miami, don't even bother looking elsewhere, this is the hotel from heaven - just for you.

We will be back at least twice in 2013, and for sure will do the holiday period with you again because it was absolutely awesome! (...and The Heat won both the games we went to!)

Ian & Jocelyne Boughey, Geneva, Switzerland

Room Tip: All the rooms are gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
IanBoughey
Thanks for your amazing review. We are excited to hear about your stay and that so many of our employees went out of their way to make your stay relaxing and fun. It was my pleasure to assist you. My team and I looking forward to welcoming you back in 2013.
Best wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,542
    376
    107
    54
    30
See reviews for
413
798
108
435
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Once again I cannot fault this hotel, we were here for Xmas 2011 and decided to return, and yes a great choice of hotel, not to far from the beach very well situated, room service was fab,the club lounge had everything you would need and more

We were on the club level floor and I would just like to say thanks to all the amazing staff they were great, especially hi to Mary and Galina and of course the rest of the girls in the lounge

There is absolutely nothing to complain about, we are definately coming back Xmas 2013 see you then guys thanks for making our Christmas and New Year xo

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
amanda_cj
Thanks for posting your fabulous comments from your recent stay at EPIC. We are glad you selected our club level again – where we offer complimentary culinary delights, wines and champagnes together with a personalized concierge service. We thank you for your loyalty to us and looking forward to your next visit.
Best wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardmore, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We had an amazing time at the Epic Hotel in Miami! We had a rental car but still chose to walk everywhere because of the wonderful location. The staff was extremly friendly and helpful. We couln't have made a better choice for our family Christmas trip to Miami.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Tammy E
Thanks for sharing your comments from your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you had wonderful holidays at EPIC and felt home away from home.
We are looking forward to you next stay. Please visit us again.
Best wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Hotel was on point . Absolutely no complaints . i have to say every team member is there to please you and make sure your stay is above and beyond. i am extremely fussy and at times grumpy .lol but that wasn;t allowed ..lol
the property was clean the rooms lived up to kimpton standards of being spectacular . the club level lounge staff was Great .. evening time had top shelf liquor available everything you could ask for was there .. i would def stay there again ..

Room Tip: club level
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
coolvibe_13
Thanks for your excellent feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed our attentive service, friendly staff and our comfortable hote. We are looking forward to welcome you back – ‘not grumpy – not fussy’ - just happy and relaxed.
Best wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed at the EPIC for 3 nights right before christmas to celebrate my BFF's birthday. The staff at the Epic is superb (especially Christian at the front desk), they are just wonderful. The staff was very attentive and accomodating; The rooms were nice and clean, we had a spectacular view being on the 30th floor and the bathrooms are amazing. Anytime we had to call the front desk for requests such as extra pillows, they were at your door in a jiffy. I enjoyed the complimentary breakfast each day as well as the complimentary wine in the evening. I had such an awesome experience that I will stay there on my next visit to MIA.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Jan W
Thanks for posting your wonderful comments on tripadvisor. It makes us happy that you selected EPIC for your ‘BFF’s birthday’ getaway. W are thrilled that our attentive staff made a lasting impression. We hope to welcome you back soon again.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

To kick off my first cruise, I decided to head to Miami a few days early and enjoy getting away from it all. The hotel is beautiful, I had a wonderful club level room with a water view. The rooms were clean, the bed was comfortable, there were plenty of outlets including 2 USB ports by the bed! Etc, etc. These are all things you expect from a hotel at this level. It's very nice.

But what really makes the Epic stand out is the staff. Hands down the best hotel staff from any hotel I've ever stayed at around the world. They are friendly & courteous. They aren't overbearing. They are very personable and make you feel like a friend coming to stay for a visit rather than just a guest at the hotel.

The Club Level rooms are definitely worth the little extra. You can skip a lot of room service by staying on this floor. Very nice and simple offerings + cocktails in the evening. I snacked here often before heading out to late dinners. haha. And again, the STAFF is brilliant here. One morning, I missed breakfast by about 30 min as I slept in and arrived between services. A bit bummed, i went for an apple & some coffee. Well, since there was still some food in the back they hadn't taken down yet, they made me a plate! Who does that? The Epic hotel does.

It's a clear choice, really. This is the only hotel I will stay in whenever I'm in Miami.

Room Tip: 2105 - Club level w/ water view balcony. Worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
ThatGirl3
Thanks for sharing your wonderful feedback from your stay at EPIC. We are happy you selected us and you were impressed by our attentive and very friendly service. We hope you will be returning as our club guest again.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Frances, Canada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My family of five stayed at the Epic Hotel one busy night after Christmas, having read the terrific reviews on Tripadvisor. The place was jumping; the drop off out front was full of Ferraris and Maseratis, with a shiny backdrop of multi million dollar yachts bobbing on the Miami canal. Just arriving at the hotel was a spectacle.
Check-in was unusually friendly, competent and speedy. There were plenty of staff on board which is a pleasure that many hotels fail to offer.
I booked two rooms online as we no longer fit in one room (the kids are refusing to sleep three in a bed) for approximately $275 per room. It is worth the price as the rooms are beautifully finished and the hotel is in a great location. I remember thinking I must mention the beautiful, lush towels in my review - a real pleasure.
Our rooms had modern and generously-sized bathrooms with separate bath and shower and a window connecting the bath to the living space. I was surprised at the luxury of our standard room. The bedroom was large and bright and very comfortable. Free wifi is available if you sign up to be a Kimpton In Touch member, which is easy online. The kids loved the two rooftop pools though they were a bit cold for me, mid winter.
The Epic Hotel has a free wine hour at 5pm which is a real treat. Who can say no to a glass of wine after being on a plane all day with three kids? The Japanese restaurant on the ground level was recommended by everyone we spoke to although we didn't have a chance to try it. The hotel is around the corner from a large park with a decent playground for the kids to run around and you can go for a lovely walk along the water with pretty views of the Miami skyline.
The Epic is a great place for people watching. At one point, we saw a man casually stroll in with an enormous Italian Mastiff. What a blast. If you want a real 'Miami' experience, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: We had a standard room without a water view and it was just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
CaramutJane
Thanks for your excellent review. We are thrilled to hear that you had an EPIC stay and you and your kids had a fun and exciting vacation. We are glad you enjoyed all perks we offer complimentary to our guests. We hope to welcome you back soon. Please be our guest again.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Miami
#3 Spa Hotel in Miami
#3 Family Hotel in Miami
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#3 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#4 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new EPIC Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Miami, a sparkling cosmopolitan destination on the bank of the Miami River where it meets Biscayne Bay. A stunning addition to Miami, this hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, epitomizes urban design while offering guests a level of style and service expected of such a resort. With exceptional amenities, breathtaking views and dining venues like Area 31, EPIC Hotel makes for an unparalleled Miami experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epic Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.