We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MIGHT go back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fly South with 30% off
Ranked #6 of 120 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Orlando
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“MIGHT go back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I was going to be in Miami for the night and, having been wanting to try a Kimpton property, decided to book at the EPIC. I arrived at the hotel early, valet parked the car ($36 per night), and proceeded to the front desk to check in. The lobby was modern and sparsely furnished. I was immediately greeted by a friendly front desk agent and promptly checked in to my room.

I booked a city view, but was upgraded to a water view room. Upon arrival in my room I went to check out the view from the balcony. I was surprised to find a nicely sized balcony with a table and two chairs. Oh, yes, there was also a dirty bath towel drying on a chair, an ashtray filled with cigarette butts, and a Sony camera lens cap left behind by another guest. The bathroom also had a dirty make up removal cloth on the floor. Obviously attention to detail was lacking, but everything else in the room seemed to be clean and in order. My time was tight on this trip, otherwise I would have asked to be moved to a 100% clean room.

I was given a $10 mini-bar credit at check-in as a "welcome gift," but the mini-bar was locked. Never bothered to ask for a key, so my welcome gift went unredeemed. I didn't have a lot of free time during this trip, so I didn't take advantage of any of the hotel services, restaurants, lounges, or amenities.

I appreciate the modern style, comfortable furnishings, and spacious rooms, so I may give this hotel another try when I'm in town again. However, next time I'll be a bit more demanding.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
J J
Thanks for sharing your feedback. We are truly sorry to hear about the experience you had as our guest. To receive a room in a condition as you described it is purely unacceptable and we sincerely apologize for this lack of service. We would appreciate a second chance, to provide you with the service you expected and deserve.
Please be our guest again.
Best wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We enjoyed our stay immensely. Beautiful hotel, friendly staff and great food. We stayed here for a Madonna concert (walking distance to AA arena) and loved it. Got upgraded to a 1-BR suite that was spectacular....amazing view, huge balcony, great bathroom, one of the best suites I have ever stayed in. Kimpton knows how to train their staff..excellent service. We will be back!

Room Tip: The suites on the higher floors are spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenn70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
jenn70
Thanks for posting such your excellent comments. We are thrilled you received a complimentary upgrade by our staff at check in and enjoyed your stay even more. Our location is great if you are visiting Miami especially for a concert, show or game, as we are in walking distance to the American Airlines arena and other local attraction.
We are glad you had fun. Please come back soon.
Best wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Surprise you wife with an EPIC evening. I did. What a night. The exemplary service starts in the Entrance to the Lobby. Concierges and Hosts scurrying around to make sure you start your stay on the right foot. I haven't even made it to the check in counter. Come down after setting up the room to a complimentary wine tasting in the lobby.
Walk just outside to the right and wonder in amazement at the yachts parked alongside the hotel-100' plus. Who really owns these?
May as well stay in the hotel for dinner; Area 31 is excellent. .. then off to the show. Spanish singers from Madrid.
Come back for the spectacular view of Biscayne bay, Brickell and surrounds at night from the Wide balcony.

Enjoy

Room Tip: KIng Water View for the Best view ; worth the extra $
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank life77good
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
life77good
Thanks for your wonderful comment. It makes us happy to see that you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed our personalized service, the stunning view of Biscayne Bays, the exclusive yachts at EPIC Marina and your dinner at our award winning restaurant AREA31.
We are glad you had an amazing time and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Best wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stay at the "Epic Hote" for 3 nights. What an amazing hotel.
On the water front. We saw a mother and her babyy manatee swimming below our balcony every day...service is great. Food was good but expensive. Alot of famous people come here to eat, so you know it is good.
The rooms are HUGE and the bathrooms are huge too. Soaking tub and separte shower. Will return again,
HINT: if you go there, go online and register as a new member. This will get you FREE internet in your room on there computer or your wireless tablet or etc. Also one time $10.00 FREE things from the mini bar/ drawer

Room Tip: Make sure you are higher than the 19th floor. this way you won't be right over the street or ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sailinggal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We booked a waterfront suite. When we arrived there the lobby was crowded with guests freeloading (getting free wine) and you had to fight your way through to get to the reception desk. Not the best place to be letting freeloaders gather! The room we got was barely waterfront. Just a partial view of a canal or intercoastal waterway. It was 95% city view. We asked to change room but they said no but could change us the next day to a waterview. But that was what we had booked and paid for anyway! The mini bar in our room was locked and it took them 14 hours to supply us with a key to open it. Waiting for valet to bring up our vehicle took a long time. The valet guy we used to get a cab one time was super helpful. The vehicular entrance is a joke and gets really crowded, even grid-locked in the weekend evenings. We have a $250k Aston Martin that they didn't even ramp park. We went out on the pool deck and waited for 30 minutes for bar service. We gave up in the end as nobody was serving. We would not stay here again. The Manderin (just up the street) is waaay better! Oh and by the way, we had another family member stay at the same time as us and had a waterfront room booked. They were given a city view too. They complained and eventually got given a waterview room after a couple of hours wait. This hotel seems to gladly take your booking but when you get there they do not have what you booked so they pass you offer with a lower grade room. That is not professional and it's kind of ripping you off. So, a word of caution... don't expect to get what you paid for and you might have to put up a fight to get it. Will not stay here again and would not recommend the Epic.

Room Tip: Beware to be offered a room that is lesser than what you paid for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VeryCheekyMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
VeryCheekyMonkey
Thanks for sharing your feedback from your stay. We are sorry to hear about the inconvenience you experienced and that we were not able to exceed your expectations. We truly apologize for falling short in the service provided to you. We hope you will consider EPIC for a future stay again. We would love to have you back as our guest to provide you the service we are known for.
Best wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varazdin, Croatia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Nice rooms with ocean view, like them very. The rooms are clean and in very good condition. They also have a free WIFI service in the rooms and all hotel areas. The reception stuff is great and they are able to get invatations for you for special events if needed. The conseriage is also doing a great job, and he managed all my wishies, so next year I will come back !!! Great parties at the pool !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Kristian2004
Thanks for your great comments. We are glad you had an amazing stay and our staff was attentive and took good care of you. We are looking forward to your next stay.
Best wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

My first stay in a Kimpton hotel and very impressed.

Arrived late into Miami - major travel delays - but minimal fuss at check in and an upgrade.

Really nice room with balcony overlooking the water. Really good air con - not too noisy!! Wifi that is free if you sign up to the loyalty scheme.

Breakfast good - really friendly staff, although on first day had to ask them to stop drilling in the kitchen during breakfast service as noise was incredible and was having a business breakfast. But no arguments and stopped instantly.

Nice bar area, gorgeous bathroom - standard rooms are also good (managed to get a peek!).

Also needed a late check out - decided the night before, and sorted with a quick call down to reception (albeit at a cost..but fair enough as was another half day after check out time). But other hotels can make this a real drama - all fixed here with one 2 minute phone call.

I would absolutely come back here, but also actively seek out other hotels in the chain (and hope this one is a good indication).


  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Businessclass2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Businessclass2012
Thanks for your amazing review. We are glad you had a fabulous stay and enjoyed our prompt service at EPIC. We are happy to hear that you like to check out more Kimpton Hotels in the future. We would like to have you back as our guest again. Please return soon.
Best wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Downtown
Viceroy Miami
Viceroy Miami
#17 of 120 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 1,227 reviews
Hotel Beaux Arts Miami
#4 of 120 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Miami
#5 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#7 Family Hotel in Miami
#8 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EPIC Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Miami, a sparkling cosmopolitan destination on the bank of the Miami River where it meets Biscayne Bay. A stunning addition to Miami, this hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, epitomizes urban design while offering guests a level of style and service expected of such a resort. With exceptional amenities, breathtaking views and dining venues like Area 31, EPIC Hotel makes for an unparalleled Miami experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epic Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing