We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE this Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% Off + FREE Upgrade
Ranked #5 of 129 Hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersGold level
TN
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“LOVE this Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stay at the "Epic Hote" for 3 nights. What an amazing hotel.
On the water front. We saw a mother and her babyy manatee swimming below our balcony every day...service is great. Food was good but expensive. Alot of famous people come here to eat, so you know it is good.
The rooms are HUGE and the bathrooms are huge too. Soaking tub and separte shower. Will return again,
HINT: if you go there, go online and register as a new member. This will get you FREE internet in your room on there computer or your wireless tablet or etc. Also one time $10.00 FREE things from the mini bar/ drawer

Room Tip: Make sure you are higher than the 19th floor. this way you won't be right over the street or ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,516
    369
    105
    54
    30
See reviews for
405
789
107
428
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We booked a waterfront suite. When we arrived there the lobby was crowded with guests freeloading (getting free wine) and you had to fight your way through to get to the reception desk. Not the best place to be letting freeloaders gather! The room we got was barely waterfront. Just a partial view of a canal or intercoastal waterway. It was 95% city view. We asked to change room but they said no but could change us the next day to a waterview. But that was what we had booked and paid for anyway! The mini bar in our room was locked and it took them 14 hours to supply us with a key to open it. Waiting for valet to bring up our vehicle took a long time. The valet guy we used to get a cab one time was super helpful. The vehicular entrance is a joke and gets really crowded, even grid-locked in the weekend evenings. We have a $250k Aston Martin that they didn't even ramp park. We went out on the pool deck and waited for 30 minutes for bar service. We gave up in the end as nobody was serving. We would not stay here again. The Manderin (just up the street) is waaay better! Oh and by the way, we had another family member stay at the same time as us and had a waterfront room booked. They were given a city view too. They complained and eventually got given a waterview room after a couple of hours wait. This hotel seems to gladly take your booking but when you get there they do not have what you booked so they pass you offer with a lower grade room. That is not professional and it's kind of ripping you off. So, a word of caution... don't expect to get what you paid for and you might have to put up a fight to get it. Will not stay here again and would not recommend the Epic.

Room Tip: Beware to be offered a room that is lesser than what you paid for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
VeryCheekyMonkey
Thanks for sharing your feedback from your stay. We are sorry to hear about the inconvenience you experienced and that we were not able to exceed your expectations. We truly apologize for falling short in the service provided to you. We hope you will consider EPIC for a future stay again. We would love to have you back as our guest to provide you the service we are known for.
Best wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varazdin, Croatia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Nice rooms with ocean view, like them very. The rooms are clean and in very good condition. They also have a free WIFI service in the rooms and all hotel areas. The reception stuff is great and they are able to get invatations for you for special events if needed. The conseriage is also doing a great job, and he managed all my wishies, so next year I will come back !!! Great parties at the pool !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Kristian2004
Thanks for your great comments. We are glad you had an amazing stay and our staff was attentive and took good care of you. We are looking forward to your next stay.
Best wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My first stay in a Kimpton hotel and very impressed.

Arrived late into Miami - major travel delays - but minimal fuss at check in and an upgrade.

Really nice room with balcony overlooking the water. Really good air con - not too noisy!! Wifi that is free if you sign up to the loyalty scheme.

Breakfast good - really friendly staff, although on first day had to ask them to stop drilling in the kitchen during breakfast service as noise was incredible and was having a business breakfast. But no arguments and stopped instantly.

Nice bar area, gorgeous bathroom - standard rooms are also good (managed to get a peek!).

Also needed a late check out - decided the night before, and sorted with a quick call down to reception (albeit at a cost..but fair enough as was another half day after check out time). But other hotels can make this a real drama - all fixed here with one 2 minute phone call.

I would absolutely come back here, but also actively seek out other hotels in the chain (and hope this one is a good indication).


  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Businessclass2012
Thanks for your amazing review. We are glad you had a fabulous stay and enjoyed our prompt service at EPIC. We are happy to hear that you like to check out more Kimpton Hotels in the future. We would like to have you back as our guest again. Please return soon.
Best wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Generally I stay in South beach, I decided to switch it up and pick the Epic hotel. Mainly because I love the Kimpton hotel chain. But the best part was how Greg and Rachael from club level cater to our needs.

Room Tip: Club level is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Cari0ki
Thanks for your review and for selecting EPIC for your stay while visiting Miami. We are glad you enjoyed our club level service and that Greg and Rachel made a lasting impression.
Please be our guest again.
Best wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Something is wrong at the Epic. I've stayed on the club level before (and was a big supporter on Trip Advisor) and this past stay (7 nights) was a disappointment. Firstly, room at checkin was "off." Radio didn't work and left bathroom sink was clogged. Mattress was lumpy and bed was never quite made properly (despite leaving 20$ tips every other night for housekeeping). What was truly perplexing was that after leaving laundry on the second day they omitted to give me new laundry bags and/or laundry forms. I subsequently requested from the "club level" concierge that new bags be left in my room. They never gave me more bags despite requesting every day. Bizarre! I actually had to carry my laundry through the hotel to the concierge and ask for a plastic bag on 3 different days. I also requested an additional "Duvet" which I used every night but was never actually added to the bed. They would simply leave it on a chair. The final amusing anecdote was when I had the "Do not disturb light " on the laundry service came and knocked on my door and then proceeded to call me in the room repeatedly. No nap for me. Ultimately, I have had good experiences and hope this is an outlier and I was just in the wrong room on the wrong week.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Picardnj
Thanks for sharing your feedback from your recent stay at EPIC. We are truly sorry we fell short in our service during this stay. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconsistent and inattentive Housekeeping and Club Level Service. We hope you will be giving us a second chance and promise to exceed your expectation again next time you are visiting.
We appreciate your business and would love to have you back as our guest.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Generally when I visit Miami I stay in South Beach, but I was sent here last minute because of Hurricane Sandy. I am quite happy with the hotel. The location is great - right on Biscayne Bay Blvd and in walking distance to the office and restaurants in the area. There is a pier at the hotel, so you can park your yacht - which there was one.

The room is spacious. It has flatscreen TV, computer, cordless phones, and mini fridge. I also requested a coffee maker. Comfortable bed. Not sure who makes the sheets, but they were more than adequate. Also rooms have a balcony with two chairs and table overlooking downtown.

The bathroom modern and well appointed. It has separate shower and tub with toiletries by Etro and bath fixtures by Villeroy & Boch and Toto. Robes by Frette.

They offer coffee and tea in the morning, and wine and snacks in the afternoon, at the lobby.

Gym is much better than your standard hotel fare with Life Fitness machines, free weights, treadmills, and ellipticals. There are also a dance studio and yoga room.

The pool area is great and well serviced by attendants. Lots of beautiful women in bikinis - what's not to love? Plus they offer cabana rentals.

There is a spa, but not well know. You'd be better off booking the Biltmore Hotel's spa.

Parking is valet only and an extra per day charge, but my company paid so I am not sure of the cost.

The hotel also has a lounge called Kyma on the ground floor (which is always empty), a hotel restaurant on the 16th floor called Area 31 (which is overpriced and average). However they also have a super trendy restaurant on the ground floor called Zuma, which books a month in advance - excellent food, drinks and decor.

This not a 5-star luxury hotel a la the Oberoi or Aman groups, but a very hip business friendly hotel. All in all the Epic is THE PLACE to stay in downtown Miami and would come again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
PD2K
Thanks for your excellent review. We appreciate your kind comments regarding our location in Brickell Miami, our comfy and modern rooms, our gym and amazing pool area.
We are glad you enjoyed our complimentary coffee and tea service each morning and mingled with us during our hosted wine hour in the evenings.
Thanks for naming EPIC as ‘The Place to Stay” in Miami. We are looking forward to your next stay, please return soon.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Miami
#3 Spa Hotel in Miami
#3 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#4 Family Hotel in Miami
#5 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new EPIC Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Miami, a sparkling cosmopolitan destination on the bank of the Miami River where it meets Biscayne Bay. A stunning addition to Miami, this hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, epitomizes urban design while offering guests a level of style and service expected of such a resort. With exceptional amenities, breathtaking views and dining venues like Area 31, EPIC Hotel makes for an unparalleled Miami experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epic Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.