We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Upgrade Offer
Ranked #4 of 131 hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This place offers 5 star service at an affordable price! Not only was I blown away by the aesthetic of the hotel and the friendliness of the staff but the dining, SPA services, happy-hour, wine hour and ambience of the hotel were absolutely beyond my expectations. I will most certainly be back again!

Room Tip: Always call ahead for deals!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Brooklyn_SS
Thanks for your amazing review and your 5 Star rating. We are thrilled we exceeded your expectation with our hotel ambience, our amenities and warm and caring service.
We are looking forward to you next stay with us.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,848 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,361
    328
    82
    50
    27
See reviews for
354
697
95
376
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
jupiter, FL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

When I jumped on the birthday special offer EPIC sent to me, little did I know what was in store for my husband and me. From the moment we pulled our car in the driveway through check-out, we were extraordinarily welcomed, and we are just regular people who love to get away for the weekend. Everything about this hotel is amazing...our room was beyond comfortable with many amenities...there wasn't a need to wonder off the property with the restaurants on site, the pool area, the spa, the rooftop bar...everything. We will definitely return to this fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Gypsy20
Thanks for your fantastic posting on Tripadvisor. We are glad you chose EPIC for your weekend getaway. It is great to hear that ou had an amazing birthday and enjoyed our resort - from our comfy and elegant rooms, to our rooftop pool are and award winning restaurants. Please be our guest again. We are looking forward to your return.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I stayed at the Epic Hotel in Miami this past weekend, and it was amazing!! The hotel is beautiful, and the staff was very courteous & accommodating. I also found the hotel to be in a great location...very close to the beaches and Mary Brickell Village. If I ever decide to stay in downtown Miami again, it will be the Epic!! I can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Beth M
Thanks for your amazing review. We are thrilled reading your comments from your recent stay with us. EPIC is perfect for weekand getaways with it's convenient locating in the Brickell area of Downtown Miami – close to South Beach, the Port of Miami and the Arts and Design District. We are glad you will be visiting us again when returning to Miami. Please come back soon.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

We are sold on Kimpton and this property was no different. Beautiful, comfortable and great location ( we didn't want to stay on South Beach). The pool/cabana area was very nice and we had a great view of Biscayne Bay. One of the best bathrooms ever!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Jsbevis
Thanks for your great review. It makes up happy to hear that you loved our oversized guest and bathrooms and enjoyed our pool area with deluxe cabanas and stunning views. Thanks for being so loyal to Kimpton hotels. Please visit us again.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Excellent option, needs a little more in the hotel eating options, more considering that Zuma is always packed. And rooms near the 16, 17 and 18 floors can receive a lot of noise on happy hours friday. For the rest, everything was great.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Santiagood
Thanks for your excellent review. We appreciate your feedback from your stay. Our award winning signature restaurant AREA31 is serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. ZUMA is another great dining option. Don’t worry, our concierge always find you a table there. Since we are so conveniently located, there are many other local restaurants just in walking distance. As for happy hour – you have to visit AREA31. We recently got voted ‘Best Happy Hour in Miami’.
We are looking forward to your next stay with us.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Family of 4 from Norway (children 3 and 7 years)

Let me first clarify that this is a very nice hotel, modern, spacious, nicely furnished and clean rooms, and you have a good view. We lived in 21 floor and had views of the city, but parts of the view was limited by nearby high-rise buildings. Check-in went quickly and those who worked the front desk was very friendly. But for us, this hotel is a little too formal and "poche". Picolo who took the luggage to the room, and if you want to park on site, this is a service where they park the car for you, and this costs $ 36 extra per day. Delivery and pickup of the car also took some time as there were several who were waiting for the same service. The hotel has a pool area on the roof of 16 floor, but because there were signs of rain didn't they allowed us to swim, something we had looked forward to after a long car trip. The hotel is located downtown, so there is a long distance to Miami Beach where there is most to see for tourists. It should be noted that the Bayside Mall is only a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel and we enjoyed ourselves here in the evening. All in all a very nice hotel, but as a family, we had chosen a less "poche" hotel on Miami beach with the ability to swim in the sea.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
DanNorway
Thanks for sharing your comments from your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and your nice words about our modern and spacious rooms with stunning views. We are sorry to hear that you were not able to experience our pool service. Fast approaching thunderstorms with lightning and gusty winds force us sometimes to temporarily close our pool area. We take these precautions, as the safety of our guests and employees is very important to us. We are glad you and your kids enjoyed nearby Bayside Marketplace with lots of tourist attractions.
We truly hope you will be visiting us again.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

My stay evened out to a four stars though for all the four stars I've given, this property was at the lower end of the spectrum and here is why:

There are too many doormen! What are they are doing just standing around in the front talking away. Same with the people behind the counter. I'm uninterested in the drama with your friend - even if you are very friendly - I just want to check into my room in peace.

The elevators and the keys - wow what a pain. I had to swap out my card a few times and on more than one occaission found myself riding to a floor that wasn't mine because the card reader was having a fit. And I wasn't the only one with this issue because strangers and co-workers in the elevator with me were giving me their troubles too!

The food for the conference I was at was just ok. The conference rooms had no windows and were cold. I think that's a general experience no matter where you are.

I couldn't get the temp in my room to ever feel right either.

Those are all the detractors to make me say why I like the Westin in New York or The W hotels more than this place. The view here is very nice. Great walk to downtown. The bed was comfy - the room was spacious enough. The pool areas looked lovely. The gym was a good size for a hotel.

I would stay here again and would still recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
imari96
Thanks for sharing your feedback from your stay. We are disappointed that we were not able to exceed your expectation and would like to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. However, we do appreciate your kind comments regarding our rooms, pool area and our gym. We would like to welcome you back to EPIC again. Please return soon.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Also Known As:
Epic Hotel Kimpton
Address: 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Miami
#3 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#3 Business Hotel in Miami
#5 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new EPIC Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Miami, a sparkling cosmopolitan destination on the bank of the Miami River where it meets Biscayne Bay. A stunning addition to Miami, this hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, epitomizes urban design while offering guests a level of style and service expected of such a resort. With exceptional amenities, breathtaking views and dining venues like Area 31, EPIC Hotel makes for an unparalleled Miami experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, Amex, Venere, Asiatravel.com Holdings, getaroom.com, Priceline, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.