We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, but I would have chosen another hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fly South for the Winter
Ranked #5 of 129 Hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersGold level
Norway
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, but I would have chosen another hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Family of 4 from Norway (children 3 and 7 years)

Let me first clarify that this is a very nice hotel, modern, spacious, nicely furnished and clean rooms, and you have a good view. We lived in 21 floor and had views of the city, but parts of the view was limited by nearby high-rise buildings. Check-in went quickly and those who worked the front desk was very friendly. But for us, this hotel is a little too formal and "poche". Picolo who took the luggage to the room, and if you want to park on site, this is a service where they park the car for you, and this costs $ 36 extra per day. Delivery and pickup of the car also took some time as there were several who were waiting for the same service. The hotel has a pool area on the roof of 16 floor, but because there were signs of rain didn't they allowed us to swim, something we had looked forward to after a long car trip. The hotel is located downtown, so there is a long distance to Miami Beach where there is most to see for tourists. It should be noted that the Bayside Mall is only a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel and we enjoyed ourselves here in the evening. All in all a very nice hotel, but as a family, we had chosen a less "poche" hotel on Miami beach with the ability to swim in the sea.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
DanNorway
Thanks for sharing your comments from your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and your nice words about our modern and spacious rooms with stunning views. We are sorry to hear that you were not able to experience our pool service. Fast approaching thunderstorms with lightning and gusty winds force us sometimes to temporarily close our pool area. We take these precautions, as the safety of our guests and employees is very important to us. We are glad you and your kids enjoyed nearby Bayside Marketplace with lots of tourist attractions.
We truly hope you will be visiting us again.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,544
    376
    109
    54
    30
See reviews for
414
798
109
436
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bermuda
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

My stay evened out to a four stars though for all the four stars I've given, this property was at the lower end of the spectrum and here is why:

There are too many doormen! What are they are doing just standing around in the front talking away. Same with the people behind the counter. I'm uninterested in the drama with your friend - even if you are very friendly - I just want to check into my room in peace.

The elevators and the keys - wow what a pain. I had to swap out my card a few times and on more than one occaission found myself riding to a floor that wasn't mine because the card reader was having a fit. And I wasn't the only one with this issue because strangers and co-workers in the elevator with me were giving me their troubles too!

The food for the conference I was at was just ok. The conference rooms had no windows and were cold. I think that's a general experience no matter where you are.

I couldn't get the temp in my room to ever feel right either.

Those are all the detractors to make me say why I like the Westin in New York or The W hotels more than this place. The view here is very nice. Great walk to downtown. The bed was comfy - the room was spacious enough. The pool areas looked lovely. The gym was a good size for a hotel.

I would stay here again and would still recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
imari96
Thanks for sharing your feedback from your stay. We are disappointed that we were not able to exceed your expectation and would like to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. However, we do appreciate your kind comments regarding our rooms, pool area and our gym. We would like to welcome you back to EPIC again. Please return soon.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We visited the Epic hotel during our stay to Miami in Jul 2010 based on our reviews on trip advisor.It was a perfect choice right on the Biscayne bay and overlooking the Miami skyline. We enjoyed the food,service and location of the hotel. Breakfast was delicious and filling.We also liked the proximity of the hotel to other tourist attractions like the Miami beach and other waterfront places.Kudos to the staff of the Epic for making our stay a memorable one..

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool and bay are great..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Sidb80
Thanks so much for sharing your feedback from your stay with us. EPIC is definitely convenient located. You can easily walk to the American Airlines Arena for a game or concert, Bayside Market for shopping or to Mary Brickell Village for local dining.
We are glad we made a memorable experience.
Please stay with us again.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarac, Florida
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This hotel is beautiful, fun and has all their ducks in a row. Exercise classes, pool, creative reuse of Area 31 restaurant for Breakfast vs. dinner...everyday complimentary wine and hors d'oeuvres int he lobby....simply fabulous....

Room Tip: I love the way they set up the continental breakfast in the Area 31 restaurant in front of the bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Francie A
Thanks for posting your wonderful review from your stay on Tripadvisor. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed all our offerings, from Exhale Core Fusion classes, to dining at our award winning restaurant AREA31 and our evening hosted wine hour.
We hope you will be selecting EPIC for your next weekend escape.
Please be our guest again.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

From moment of check in by Christian at front desk to check out, fabulous service!!! Christian made us feel like the most important guests he had! Shared all the hotel had to offer with us and was so kind! Spent time at beautiful pool with incredible views and also received fabulous service. They set up our chairs with towels, brought us beverages quickly and even provided sun care products if needed. Hotel was clean, people were kind and attentive and we would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Miami!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Tayloml
Thanks for your amazing review. We are glad that you enjoyed the attentive service provided by our staff throughout the hotel. Christian is definitely a great asset to our team and we appreciate you recognizing him for making you feel special and cared for. Thanks for recommending us to other travelers.
Please visit us again.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

I have to say I have Never Ever had such Great customer service at any hotel like I did at the Epic!!! First of all I was Greeted with a big genuine smile saying Welcome. I usually do Not remember names however I remembered this guy because he was so kind and helpful. His name was Christian. I would recommend checking out this place and asking to speak to him! The room was 100% perfect with a great view. The resturant Area 31 was super! I also visited the spa named Exhale twice. I am SOOO glad I stayed there v/s the hotel we wanted at first named the Sofitel. Christian I hope your company enjoys your hard work and friendlyness just like our four friends did! (=

Room Tip: Above the pool area view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Kristy W
Wow – thanks for your great review. We are excited to hear about your wonderful stay at EPIC and your dining experience at AREA31 restaurant. Christian is definitely amazing. We are thrilled to have him as a part of our wonderful staff.
We are looking forward to your next stay with us.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

This was our first time to Miami and not knowing what to expect, I can say I was absolutely blown away! Every staff member from the outside leading into the hotel greeted us with a hello and held the door for us as we exited and entered into the hotel. Christian the front desk agent, never forgot our names and always greeted us with his signature smile! Eduardo the concierge, was very helpful with explaining every little detail our room had to offer. The layout of the room was beautiful, all views were breathtaking and I was impressed with the cleanliness of the room during our stay. The ambiance and the music they have playing in the lobby and in the elevators takes you to an entirely different level. Definitely making this hotel our second home!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Marla L
Thanks for sharing your feedback from your first stay at EPIC. We are thrilled to hear that our staff, especially Eduardo and Christian, made a lasting impression and ensured your stay was comfy, relaxing and fun.
We hope you will be visiting us again. Please return soon.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Miami
#3 Spa Hotel in Miami
#3 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#4 Business Hotel in Miami
#4 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new EPIC Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Miami, a sparkling cosmopolitan destination on the bank of the Miami River where it meets Biscayne Bay. A stunning addition to Miami, this hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, epitomizes urban design while offering guests a level of style and service expected of such a resort. With exceptional amenities, breathtaking views and dining venues like Area 31, EPIC Hotel makes for an unparalleled Miami experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epic Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.