We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and very EPIC!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% Off + FREE Upgrade
Ranked #6 of 129 hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersGold level
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful and very EPIC!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We only stayed here before our cruise ship left...wished we would've stayed here longer! The staff were great and helpful. The room was spacious and very well set out, the view was great from the balcony. Pool area was lushous! It was reasonably close to everything and a great walk along the river and out to the bay.

Room Tip: If you want a spectacular view ask for the highest floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
50opd2j
Thanks for your great comments. Even you just had a short stay with us, we are glad you enjoyed every minute of it. Our proximity to the Port of Miami is perfect for guests leaving to or returning from a cruise. We are glad you selected a room on the upper floors; the views are just stunning from there. We appreciate your kind words regarding our employees. Each one of them is truly amazing and caring about our guests.
Please select EPIC again when going on your next cruise. We are looking forward to your return.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,966 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,429
    358
    97
    52
    30
See reviews for
388
754
102
399
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I have stayed at the Miami EPIC Hotel on several occasions and it is always fabulous! The customer service is outstanding and the hotel is spotless and classy. I highly recommend the EPIC to everyone. Spend your money here, it is totally worth every penny!

Room Tip: Request a view of the pool and water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Laffinalot
Thanks for your excellent review. We appreciate you recommending us to other travelers. We promise to continuously wow you with our outstanding customer service and EPIC amenities.
We are looking forward to your next stay with us.
Best wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Wow. We had heard some very good things about EPIC, but really didn't do any research before deciding to make reservations. As Kimpton fans, we were expecting a well-designed, creative, non-cookie cutter experience with nice room and good restaurants. It was all of those things...on steroids. The biggest surprise was the size of the building (half hotel/half residential)--gigantic. Beautiful lobby design and decor.

Check in was simple and friendly, bell staff extremely helpful and friendly, and the guest room truly impressive. We opted for a water-view room, which was well worth the extra $. It is not typical oceanfront, but rather on the Miami River looking out to Biscayne Bay. The juxtaposition of the water and all the interesting buildings made the view very interesting, especially at night. We were up pretty high (34th floor I think), which made it all the more spectacular. Great to have breakfast on the balcony looking out at everything. Just hold onto your croissant--it can be really breezy.

The bars and restaurants were chic and high quality. And the size of the crowds there on a Sunday night were unbelievable. We had some very good and creative drinks at both, and dinner at the Asian restaurant on the first floor. Terrific bartenders--one gave us amazing information on the special ingredients he was using--all fresh juices, purees, and ground spices. Tasty, fancy, great service.

Loved the roof-top pool area (on the 14th floor, not the very top of the hotel). Two beautiful pools, great seating and sunning areas, and helpful, friendly pool staff.

Only 2 negatives I would point out. Parking is extremely expensive for anywhere outside NYC (but the parking staff was efficient and nice). The other was a wanna-be model acting (not convincingly) as a front desk person. I was looking for an area guide, and she said I needed to get it from the concierge, who was literally standing 8 feet away from her, and busy with 5 people. After several minutes I went back to her, to ask her if she could grab one for me. After an audible groan, she asked someone else to get it. The only joy of the situation was when I said "sorry for the trouble", she didn't recognize sarcasm and said "that's alright". Could be worse, should could be a wanna-be model posing as a nuclear scientist.

Any way, a really great experience, and we'll be back.

Room Tip: Book a high floor with a water view. Spend some time sitting at the bars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
TheBuchmans
Thanks for your wonderful comments from your stay and being such loyal Kimpton fans. Sorry for our competitive valet rates and for our ‘wonna-be front desk model’. We are thrilled your overall stay was very enjoyable and you were very impressed with our guest service, hotel amenities and ambience.
We are glad you enjoyed the beautiful sunny Miami weather at our pool area on the 16th floor, overlooking Biscayne Bay and the Port of Miami.
We are happy to hear you will be visiting again, please return soon.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Wow, what a great place. I stayed - in best hotels in Paris, London, Amsterdam, Tokyo, Moscow...this one tops them all. The Spa on 16th floor is amazing. The staff is very attentive. We were welcomed by Alejandra at the front desk. Let me tell you - this girl can win Miss Universe EASY!
Stayed in Rm 2708 - nice view from a balcony.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
obninsk23
Wow – what a great review. Thanks for giving us 10 stars and for rating EPIC above all top hotels in the world. We truly appreciate your comments about our amazing staff and our very own “Miss Universe” Alejandra.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012 via mobile

I have to go 6 times a year to Miami and I stayed always in the mandarin oriental hotel. To be honnest I think the Epic hotel is much better! It's newer and the people working in epic are more friendly! You have to stay in this hotel! A great thing is their club level... For 75$ a day you have free food and drinks as much as you want. The only negative point is that there is no jacuzzi...

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Emmanuel V
Thanks for your wonderful review and for naming EPIC the best hotel in Miami. Your comments about our friendly staff and club level service are truly appreciated. We totally agree – a room on our club level is definitely worth it, as we offer different meal presentation during the day, from a healthy start to good night delights, something for everyone.
We are glad you had an amazing time and looking forward to your return. Please be our guest again.
Best wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

A very nice place to stay. Top end without top end prices. The staff is very helpful. They make you feel welcome.

Room Tip: Make sure walk along the river and dine outside. The views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
Curtbauer
Thanks for your nice comments. It makes us happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations and that our staff was helpful and welcoming.
We are looking forward to your next stay at EPIC. Please return soon.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012 via mobile

We loved our stay in the nice hotel in the downtown part of Miami .
The rooms are comfortable and quiet, with a nice terrace. Overall is pretty clean too. I love it because is out of the busy area of south beach. Inside the hotel there is a fantastic Japanese restaurant.
We totally raccomand it and we will for sure be back!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
ElenaUdin
Thanks for your nice comments. We are happy to hear you loved our hotel and had a comfy and relaxing stay. It is great to see that you had an amazing dining experience at ZUMA, which is famous for its modern and contemporary Japanese cuisine. We appreciate you recommending EPIC to your friends and family. We are looking forward to your return. Please be our guest again.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Miami
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#4 Spa Hotel in Miami
#4 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#5 Business Hotel in Miami
#5 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new EPIC Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Miami, a sparkling cosmopolitan destination on the bank of the Miami River where it meets Biscayne Bay. A stunning addition to Miami, this hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, epitomizes urban design while offering guests a level of style and service expected of such a resort. With exceptional amenities, breathtaking views and dining venues like Area 31, EPIC Hotel makes for an unparalleled Miami experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Amex, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epic Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.