We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish and well located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fly South for the Winter
Ranked #5 of 129 Hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersGold level
Berlin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Stylish and well located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

I stayed for a conference at the Epic. Excellent and stylish rooms with a stunning view on the harbor and Miami skyline. The service is quite inconsistent from 'ok' to excellent; some stuff did not see when service was required on their own and just reacted when being asked to do so. Where the hotel gets marked down is the management of the venue facilities: The conference room was way too cold for 2 of the 3 conference days despite of multiple complaints. Some speakers suggested to burn the furniture to stay warm or asked the attendees to bring their blankets ;-) From a top notch conference hotel I expect to get such things fixed within hours but not days. Bottom line my perception is one of a very good but not a top notch hotel, although charging as such. Therefore I don't see the the high fees justified yet. They can get there but there is some service and facility management homework left to do.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
medox_de
Thanks for your comments and for not following your speaker’s suggestions…
We work very diligently to keep our guests warm and comfy, even when the weather in Miami gets unexpectedly cold.
We are glad you found EPIC stylish and well located, in walking distance to many local shops and restaurants.
We hope you will be visiting us again and looking forward to your return.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,542
    376
    107
    54
    30
See reviews for
413
798
108
435
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

I hosted a Board of Directors meeting with a group of about 20 people. I received nothing but praises from this discerning group! The rooms were modern, clean, and spacious. The staff was friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurants was top notch and other restaurants are within walking distance. As with all Kimpton properties, there are evening wine happy hours which adds a nice touch after long days of meetings.

I'd recommend giving it a try.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not overlook Biscayne; the traffic can be noisy even on higher floors (I wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Sgoudeseun
Thanks for your review and recommending EPIC to other travelers. We are thrilled you and your entire group had a very productive meeting and an amazing time at EPIC. We are glad you checked out our award-winning restaurants AREA31 and ZUMA and had a great dining experience.
We are looking forward to you next visit, with your group or solo.
Best wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bermuda
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012 via mobile

I stayed 4 nights for a business trip.
I had a great double room, and the bathroom was great: really spacious.

I had business in Brickell, so I was within walking distance. The complimentary happy hour was great, and a perfect end to the work day.

The other reviewers are correct, there is a car show out front every day, and luxury yachts docked alongside the lobby.

The spa and the restaurants were great on site, but room service is limited in variety.

I would have given the Hotel a 5 except on my first morning there I had a wake up call to my room at 6am, and I had not ordered a wake up call. I'm not unreasonable, mistakes happen. I explained to the gentleman some what groggily as I had only checked in some 6 hours previously, that I had not ordered the call. He apologized, and I fell asleep again. Only to be awoken 20 minutes later by the same man, with my 6:20am wake up call!

I can forgive one mistake, but not two. I didn't bother bringing it to management's attention, I just took it as a sign to get up and go to the gym.

But it did leave me with an unprofessional feeling about the staff.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
ceclarke1
Thanks you for sharing your comments from your stay. We are so sorry about the wake up calls – please accept our apologies.
We are glad your overall stay was very enjoyable and you appreciated our complimentary wine hour each evening. We would love having you back as our guest – please visit us again.
Best wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We stayed one night before our cruise and to be honest in hindsight I would have rather stayed at the Epic than go on the cruise....but that is another review in itself :) I loved the room, it was clean and beautifully decorated. The bathroom was really nice with double sinks and an amazing overhead rain shower head. My only complaint would be that the bed sheets were not soft enough. The staff was helpful and friendly and quickly upgraded our room upon realizing the one they sent us to was not ready. I would definitely recommend and return!

Room Tip: water view is beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
J M
Thanks for your wonderful comments about our rooms, spacious bathrooms and our friendly and intimate service. We appreciate you recommending EPIC to other travelers and planning on returning soon.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

The Epic has some great amenities. They have a wine reception every evening and coffee and tea available in lobby each morning. We ate dinner in the restaurant on the 14th floor. The inside area was way too noisy. We asked to be seated outside and it was much better (ask to be seated by a heat lamp). Food was good, not great. There is no gift shop in the hotel but there is a CVS pharmacy two blocks away. There is also a nice walk/run you can take out of the hotel and around Brickell point. The hotel is very modern looking with sleek lines and very clean. We did have room service which was prompt and good. The staff was always willing to help and direct. I took the yoga class in the spa and it was fairly hard. I have been doing yoga for a few years and we travel a lot. Usually yoga classes in hotels are geared for the guests and aren't too hard. This class had a lot of locals in it and was pretty hard (level 2 plus). So, if you are new to yoga you might want to pass. I was ready for an easy class and had to amp up my energy level! Anyway, it's a nice hotel and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
cliffview12
Thanks for sharing your feedback from your stay. We are glad to see that you loved our modern hotel with well appointed and super comfy rooms. Your comments about our prompt and friendly service is very much appreciated. Please make sure you bring your sneakers with you again when you visit next – we love to stay in shape at EPIC and invite our guests to exercise with us – either Tuesday mornings for an awakening power-walk or a sunrise run each Thursday morning, around Brickell Key. Try out different Yoga classes at EXHALE – all levels all welcome.
We would like to have you back as our guest and looking forward to your next visit.
Best wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

I would love to give the Epic 5 stars but I just can't. Not yet. I would return here again in a second, though. I stayed for one night and had wonderful service from housekeeping and valet. Thank you Housekeeping for cleaning my clothes last minute. The rooms are great and I had one with a wraparound balcony on Biscayne Bay. It was fantastic. Heard the planes land at Miami Intl and it sounded like they were landing on the roof.
Why not 5...Front Desk was a bit standoffish as was the restaurant hostess. When I checked out, they had one Front Desk agent and about 15 valet attendants.
The hotel is not in South Beach but a wonderful area with tons to do.
I love Kimpton but am hoping they can improve here to 5 star level.

Room Tip: Pay the difference for a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
BulldogMatt
Thanks for sharing your feedback from your stay. We are glad you had a good time and fell in love with our rooms, views and EPIC’s location in Miami, at the edge of Miami River and Biscayne Bay. We are thrilled our staff was able to assist you last minute with some requests. We are looking forward to your next stay and for exceeding your expectations throughout our hotel, next time you return.
Best wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

The Junior Suite was nice but having traveled practically the world except for Australia and South America, found that the hotel provided nothing for free despite the very high room rate...not even a cup of black tea (which cost us $12 for room service!). Even the parking is $32 ans they insist on Valet service. Had to wait for 20 minutes for car and they was a congestion mess at the front of hotel..seemed very disorganized.So I say 5 star facilities with 10 star prices and 2 star service! Haven't had the breakfast yet... afraid might get disappointed! Like my wife said, even the cheapest of hotels provide a kettle with tea and coffee packets!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Kulwant P
Thanks for your comments. We are glad we had to opportunity to easily resolve these items while you were still our guest. As a part of our “Forgot it?-We got!” program, we do offer kettles, coffee makers and all condiments complimentary to our guest. Just give us a quick ring and it will be delivered immediately. Each morning we provide coffee and tea gratis – come by our lobby and help yourself. Please make sure to join our hosted wine hour in the evenings, were we serve our guests complimentary whites and reds from sustainable wineries. We hope we could convince you through our attentive service and have you return in the future.
Best wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Miami
#3 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#3 Spa Hotel in Miami
#3 Family Hotel in Miami
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#5 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new EPIC Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Miami, a sparkling cosmopolitan destination on the bank of the Miami River where it meets Biscayne Bay. A stunning addition to Miami, this hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, epitomizes urban design while offering guests a level of style and service expected of such a resort. With exceptional amenities, breathtaking views and dining venues like Area 31, EPIC Hotel makes for an unparalleled Miami experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epic Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.