We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Epic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% Off + FREE Upgrade
Ranked #4 of 130 hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Truly Epic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

This had to be one of the best hotels that we had ever stayed in. From the moment you get out of the cab in the lobby, you are greeted kindly. We felt younger (in out 20's) and under-dressed for this elegant hotel, yet we were still treated like royalty. Gene was a wonderful concierge- he was very helpful in creating itineraries for us and helped us make reservations for restaurants, planned out our jet-ski, vespa rental, and even had our itinerary slipped under our door once he was done. The pools were very nice with adequate amounts of chairs around, and the wine hour was amazing! They had a different selection of wine each day to try. The balcony was beautiful and the bed was very comfortable. This hotel definitely felt more than a 4.5 star.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Buttercup
Thank you so much for your kind words. We appreciate your great comments about our hotel, our comfy rooms with stunning views and our pool area, overlooking Brickell and Biscayne Bay. We are happy Gene ensured a flawless and relaxing stay, and assisted with all your needs to explore Miami and surroundings.
We are looking forward to your return and to mingle with you during our hosted evening wine hour again.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,962 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,438
    352
    93
    50
    29
See reviews for
373
747
101
391
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011 via mobile

I own a travel agency so I am very picky however this hotel was great. The staff went out of their way to make our stay excellent. A suggestion might be a pedestrian friendly map to find local places to eat. I used my GPS on my phone and got a little lost

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
TWGeorge
Thank you for your great review. We are happy to hear we met your high expectations and our staff was friendly and took good care of you. We do have walking maps for guests wanting to explore our neighborhood by foot - I will ensure we place one inside your room next time you visit. We are looking forward to your return.
Best wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed at the Epic for 5 nights, it was only 20 mins from the airport, cab cost 25 to 35 dollars including tip each way.

Check in was very quick, very helpful staff. Our room was city view on the 22nd floor. The super fast lifts got us there really speedily!! Room was large, two double beds, big flat screen TV, IPod docking station, computer, big bathroom with two separate sinks and a lovely deep bath!! There was a separate rain shower. The toiletries smelt gorgeous. Air con was good and not noisy. There was also a big balcony with two chairs and a table. Our room overlooked the Hyatt, residential pools and the Wells Fargo building. It was quite noisy out on the balcony with the traffic below, but once you shut the sliding doors it was silent.

We had breakfast included, which we had in Area 31 on the 16th floor. This was buffet style, coffee, orange juice, cereals, fruit, yogurts, muffins, oatmeal, bagels, toast etc. If you wanted to pay extra you could have pancakes, eggs benedict etc. You could sit either inside or outside on the terrace with amazing views.

Also on the 16th floor was the spa and pool area. The staff at the pool would find you some loungers or a bed!! They would lay your towels out for you and bring over a couple of glasses of ice cold water!! You could order drinks and food around the pool too. The pools were heated, it can get a bit windy up there, so this was a good thing. The views from the pool terrace were great, overlooking the cruise port and surrounding skyscrapers, the parks and the main road leading into downtown.

The concierge were very helpful, providing maps of local area, restaurants, things to do etc.

There is eating places within walking distance, aswell as a CVS pharmacy, Starbucks a couple of blocks away, but main places to eat are at Bayside Marketplace, which is 10/15 mins walk or 6/7 dollars taxi ride. Just south over the bridge is Mary Brickell village with eateries. Also Little Havana where there are numerous places.

We went to Aventura Mall for shopping, if you want to do this, it's a fair distance in a taxi, the concierge and internet said it could be 60-80 dollars each way, therefore if you get the local bus it is 2 dollars each way!!!! Walk up to the junction with the Starbucks and the No 3 or 93 bus goes there. Also the S bus via South Beach.

The whole environment of the hotel is relaxing with great service but not pretentious. Nothing is too much trouble, for example ringing guest services from your room. I requested a coffee maker which was then delivered promptly!!! Room service was very nice with big portions. Another feature was coffee in the lobby in the mornings, with take out cups. Also wine hour in the early evening, nice extras!!!

I liked to see that this hotel welcomed pets, and they had lots of extras for them too, providing beds, toys, food etc!! Even a little welcome sign for them in the lobby!!!

Overall we had a great stay, and would recommend it!!!!

Tip: Use Miami Tour Company for trips to Everglades, and city tours!!!

Room Tip: Ask for high floor. Also join Kimpton online for free wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Lrmd
Thank you so much for your very detailed and amazing review. We are so thrilled to see that you had a fabulous time at EPIC, and enjoyed our spacious rooms, amazing views and our close location to local bars, restaurants and shops. We are glad you splurged at AREA31 for breakfast and dinner and were pampered by our team while relaxing at our pool area. We are very happy our staff made the difference and ensured, you and your pets felt welcomed and well taken care of. We appreciate you recommending EPIC to other travelers and we are looking forward to your next visit with us.
Best wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

You realize you're about to experience something different when you walk through the front door. From the warm and friendly staff to the room designed for comfort my stay was a perfect kick off to my vacation. Will absolutely be back hopefully sooner than later.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Mike G
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our warm and welcoming ambience, our ‘like home’ guest rooms and our attentive and friendly staff.
We are looking forward to your return.
Best wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

WomeninPR.org hosted their inaugural summit at this wonderful hotel over the course of 3-days. The ambience of this resort-like hotel is pure tranquility. The staff is kind and look forward to serve your every need. Every evening around 6-8pm a maid rings your doorbell to offer you anything from water - toiletries. The entire hotel is clean, slick and fresh. For my summit we utilized the meeting rooms which were also nice. After our workshops were complete I noticed the staff was preparing for a wedding reception in the ballroom next door and I had to take a snapshot of the beautiful set-up (which you will see attached). The hotel is in the center of a lot of local shops like Bayside Marketplace. They also have a very spiffy yacht parked on the side that you can rent.

I cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: No matter what room you book, you will get an astounding view of Downtown Miami.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2011
Nicole S
Thank you for your wonderful review. We appreciate your kind words about our resort-like ambience, our spacious guest rooms and upscale meeting space. We are glad you were able to stroll to local shops and restaurants and enjoyed the high-end yachts at the EPIC Marina.
We are looking forward to your next stay with us.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011 via mobile

The hotel was lovely. Staff was great and friendly. The room was nice--clean. I loved having spacious bathroom with the double sinks.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2011
Rnladyg
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed EPIC and felt like home in our spacious and comfortable guest rooms and bathrooms with double vanities, glass showers and soaker tubs.
Thank you for pointing out our attentive and friendly staff service.
Please be our guest again – we are looking forward to your return.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

I had planned one leg of my honeymoon in Miami and as I live in the UK used Trip Advisor to help me decide the hotels to stay at. All the review pointed me to Epic. So I went for it and booked 4 nights at club level and also booked 3 nights at Mandarin Oriental down the road (spread my bets I guess). I was blown away by the hotel. From the minute we arrived in our taxi we were greeted by a porter (Luis) who was great. We gave our names at the lobby and the lady behind the counter came around the desk and congratulated us on our marriage and honeymoon. She told us we had a private check in and we went up in the fastest lifts ever to 29th floor. The concierge greeted us and gave us an overview of facilities. Then we were shown our rooms. Amazing view of the bay on one side and Miami skyline on the other. Gorgeous during the day and absolutely magical at night / sunset. The staff at club level were outstanding and a BIG THANKS to Andrew, Gene, JP, Lucia and Luis for making our stay truly special. You need to know what to do or where to guy these guys are the experts and get everything printed and directed for you. I was so sad to leave when I went to stay at Mandarin (which was great but not on the same level as Epic). I even came back for more advice on things to do (whilst staying at Mandarin) and the the guys still welcomed us back and provided us with their time and knowledge to really help us out. As non guests this is something I have never experienced at any hotel and is truly special. Well done guys!!

Ikki & Harvey

Room Tip: Book Club Level - well worth it for service, breakfast and top line drinks all included Do not forg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2011
Ikki & Harvey
Thank you so much for your amazing review. We are happy you spent some days of your honeymoon with us. It is great to hear that our club level team made your stay so special, unforgettable and enjoyable. We are glad our entire team recognized you and showed you all the care and comfort we are known for.
We truly hope you will be returning and staying with us again, next time you are visiting Miami. We would love to have you back as our guest.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Miami
#3 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#3 Spa Hotel in Miami
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#4 Business Hotel in Miami
#5 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new EPIC Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Miami, a sparkling cosmopolitan destination on the bank of the Miami River where it meets Biscayne Bay. A stunning addition to Miami, this hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, epitomizes urban design while offering guests a level of style and service expected of such a resort. With exceptional amenities, breathtaking views and dining venues like Area 31, EPIC Hotel makes for an unparalleled Miami experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epic Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.