We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My best hotel experience ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% Off + FREE Upgrade
Ranked #4 of 130 hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersGold level
Northern Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“My best hotel experience ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

My wife and I were in Florida for a weekend, taking advantage of a Kimpton sale on suite rooms in this property. Both of us were absolutely floored at the ultimate luxury of the suite we were given. The hotel itself is "sandwiched" between residences both below and above the hotel. You'd never know that unless you were paying close attention. Floors 2-13 are residences, 14-30 is hotel, and 31-42 is more residences. This fact is unobtrusive to hotel guests, however, since residents have their own entrance and elevators.

The professional nature of all the staff, and more importantly the efficiency and caring they show impressed me. The staff at the pool will help you settle in by assisting with towels, a cool glass of lemon water, or adjusting shades. The concierge in this hotel was so efficient at making restaurant reservations (even if the restaurant you want is not on their "list") that the whole process took seconds, rather than minutes. I was stunned!

Take a walk along the Miami River and Biscayne Bay towards the port, walk left to the park, at night. This is a wonderfully romantic and nice thing to do in the evening! The view from the balconies themselves (that's right, two balconies, even the bathroom in the suites have their own balcony) are totally amazing. It's fun to watch the draw bridges open and close as barges and different watercraft come through the channel. The bedroom in the suite had a floor to ceiling bow window on an entire wall overlooking the city! Beautiful... beyond words.

The pools are amazing, one being a warm pool, the other being a chill pool. So you can go back and forth, or stay in one or the other, depending on what the weather is like.

Dinner at Area 31 was exceptional, and not overpriced for fine dining, with their special prix-fixe menu. The caring of the chef and wait staff as to the quality of our meals, and experience meant a lot to us.

Valet parking is on the expensive side, but it was worth it considering it was one less thing we had to worry about. Service is prompt too.

The resort manager Jacqueline made our stay extra-enjoyable, and to her I am especially grateful. Other hotel employees worthy of mention for outstanding guest care are Gene (concierge), Paolo and Mark (pool area).

Room Tip: Get a one-BR suite if you can, higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
midatlantictraveler1
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are so glad you enjoyed your suite, with stunning views over Miami River and Downtown Miami, as well as all the other amenities EPIC has to offer. Thank you for dining in our restaurant AREA31 and taking advantage of our exciting Miami Spice menu. We are thrilled to hear that our service was right on and that Gene, Paolo and Mark stood out in their customer care. It was my pleasure to make your stay ‘extra-enjoyable’.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Best wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,962 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,438
    352
    93
    50
    29
See reviews for
373
747
101
391
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We are a family of 2 adults and 2 children (aged 13 and 11), who stayed for 3 nights at the Epic Hotel. We loved it!!! The service was excellent. Staff could not be more friendly or helpful. Nothing was too much trouble.
Our room was on the 32nd floor, which the children loved. It was quiet, had a huge bathroom, a fridge, very comfortable beds and was cleaned daily.
The pool scene was fantastic. Plenty of towels, chairs and waiter service. The pools were on the 16th floor with great views. My one complaint would be that it got a bit windy and the sun disappeared around 5pm on the terrace - but hardly the hotel's fault!! We loved the 5-6pm wine hour!! Complimentary wine by the pool...definately worth being back in the hotel by 5pm!!
We didn't eat in the hotel as we thought it was quite pricey.
The hotel is situated right by the bay, so is in esay walking distance to restaurants at night. I would recommend the hotel and definately stay again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
RAECambridge_UK
Thank you for your excellent comments. We are thrilled to hear you had a wonderful time and loved our hotel - from the comfy rooms, to the stunning views and the personalized service provided by our staff. We are looking forward to your return and to mingle with you again during our hosted wine hour in the evenings.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capitol Heights
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

The Epic Kimoton has definitely earned it's #1 rating! The views are stunning, and the hotel staff are superb! The area 31 restaurant inside of the hotel is excellent as well! We stayed on the club level and were treated the best that we have ever been treated at ANY hotel. I was celebrating my anniversary and could not have picked a better place. This was my first time in Miami and because of this hotel, I did not want to leave! I would like to also point out how attentive the bellman staff were. Especially Christian. He was awesome, very friendly and made us feel very welcome! I loved it! Will definitely come back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
E_Shay
Thank you so much for your charming comments. We are glad you had a fabulous time and were impressed by our service. We are happy Christian went out of his way and took good care of you. We can’t wait for you to return.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egham
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

The facilities and ambiance of this hotel was perfect for our team meeting. The rooms are stunning - bathrooms like a high class Spa and pool deck perfect for drinks reception. All food and service was excellent and I would love to return as a tourist to check out more of this part of Miami.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2011
Je_and_Ja
Thank you for posting such excellent feedback. We are thrilled our meeting rooms were perfect for your conference and our pool deck offered the best ambiance for your evening cocktail reception. We are happy your teambuilding was very successful. Please be our guest again. We would love to welcome you back very soon.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javea, Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

This place has the "wow factor", the room was very nice, comfortable, great views from the balcony, not too noisy and free internet. The night we arrived there was a celebrity party going on, red carpet the lot. Must admit I felt very underdressed. It is a very dressy place. Did not use the pool area we were busy exploring the surroundings. We did eat out so we didn't try the food there although it did look expensive. Free coffee if you are early enough in the reception area. Taxi's on hand just outside so it was easy to get about. Not a cheap place but for a treat great. Walked to lot's of eating places close by but glad my husband was with me.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2011
Ladyinspaing
Thank you for your great review and your ‘wow factor’. We are glad you were impressed with our hotel and your guest room. We are happy you took advantage of our complimentary morning coffee service and started your day from there to explore Miami. It is great to hear you had a good time. Please be our guest again.
We are looking forward to your next visit.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Fantastic friendly service, fabulous views, great staff, and then the room decor is modern elegance and extremely comfortable. The spa is great, wine selection perfect and there is a hot spot at night. The hotel rooms have a computer monitor and keyboard so no need to drag a laptop, and the shower head is the BEST. Huge tubs, gorgeous hardware, vessel sinks. The hotel pool is on the 17th floor and has a great view as well.

Room Tip: water view is the best on a high floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2011
SuzanneM_Dallas_Texa
Thank you for your fantastic review. We are thrilled to hear you loved our hotel, from our design, to the comfort of our rooms and bathrooms to the staff service. Great you checked out Exhale Spa and our restaurant Area31 with it’s fabulous wine selection.
We are looking forward to your next visit.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ortley Beach, NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

This hotel is not cheap, but IT IS WORTH every penny. The pictures on THEIR website (not just the traveler pics on this site) really do match what the hotel looks like. The bathroom in our room was like a trip to the day spa. We ate at the restaurant in the hotel which had fabulous food. Again, not cheap, but a wonderful dinner.

My boyfriend and I stayed here after taking a cruise from Ft. Lauderdale, and it was a spectacular way to end our vacation. We laid in a cabana (free) by the pools and ordered from the restaurant/bar outside and it was just so beautful and relaxing.

One note, it is a relatively new construction, so in 2 different times when we took a cab around the area, the cab driver did not know where he was going and tried to rack up all these charges for driving around. Make sure you keep the address and if possible, a little map with you so that you won't have this experience.

Also, this hotel is in downtown Miami. It is not in South Beach. A cab ride from the hotel to South beach is about $20

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
jillliebean215
Thank you for your fabulous comments. We appreciate your great feedback regarding our guest rooms with a ‘spa-like’ bathroom. We are glad you took some time to relax at our pool area and enjoyed the comfort of our cabanas.
We hope you will be visiting us again.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Miami
#3 Spa Hotel in Miami
#3 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#4 Business Hotel in Miami
#5 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new EPIC Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Miami, a sparkling cosmopolitan destination on the bank of the Miami River where it meets Biscayne Bay. A stunning addition to Miami, this hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, epitomizes urban design while offering guests a level of style and service expected of such a resort. With exceptional amenities, breathtaking views and dining venues like Area 31, EPIC Hotel makes for an unparalleled Miami experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epic Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.