We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% off
Ranked #6 of 112 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
“Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

I would like to say my trip to the Epic hotel was such a great experience, The customer service was excellent I called to tell them it was my honeymoon, Which wasnt a guarantee for anything special. When I arrived we had our room upgraded to a suite, Champagne sent to our room, we were surprised and elated......A very classy hotel...Thank You so much Epic For making our stay there wonderful.. we enrolled into your program to earn rewards, we will be back soon.

Room Tip: I would go directly to the website
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2011
peasha e
Congratulation! We are happy we made your honeymoon very special and unforgetable. Thank you for mentioning our friendly customer service, we are glad we were able to exceed your expectation. We appreciate your enrollment in our Kimpton In Touch loyalty program, and looking forward to your next stay with us or other Kimpton hotels.
Best wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,653
    428
    127
    66
    34
See reviews for
446
865
115
488
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (594)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Great hotel - excellent service at the pool!! The rooms are very nice and clean.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
Nwamre
Thank you for your great comments. We are thrilled you find EPIC ´special` and you enjoyed your stay and our excellent service. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel very soon.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed on the club level of the hotel. We experienced the ultimate in customer care. I would definitely stay in the hotel again, and take advantage of the additional amenities afforded by a stay on the club level.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Thank you for your amazing comments regarding our customer service. We are glad we exceeded your expectations and our staff went out of their way to assist you. We are thrilled you loved your stay and enjoyed all amenities on club level and throughout our hotel.
Please be our guest again.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

After reading the great reviews we decided to give Kimpton hotels a try on this visit to the US. As the trip was for my partners 40th birthday I had arranged for champagne to be waiting in the room. After being allocated our room, we were disappointed to find the room was unmade and there was no champagne. This is where the staff came into their own. We were upgraded to a suite with complimentary champagne and chocolates and were visited to make sure we were happy. We also had a problem with our room keys which was quickly sorted and we received another complimentary bottle of champagne!! That's Kimpton service. The hotel was fabulous, the pool area was great and the staff cannot do enough to make sure your stay is one you will remember. A special thank you to Milena on the front desk and the lady who I think was head of guest services. I know you were from Leipzig originally. Your customer service was fantastic. Thank you again Kimpton, we would find it difficult to stay with any other brand now.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Thank you for you nice comments. We are glad, after some ´hick-ups`. your stay was enjoyable and your partners birthday fun and exciting. We are happy you had a great time at EPIC and our staff was friendly, attentive and outstanding.
We are looking forward to your next stay with us.
Best wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Upon arrival, the reception was not very welcoming, and did not explain anything regarding the rooms, how to use the elevator with the card, etc.
I was not impressed with the lady, because she acted oofstandish.
I believe the reception represents the hotel, and is a big factor in determining how your first impression will be of the place you are staying at.
That being said, I had to ask all the questions myself, and when I did, it was met with a cold indifference, and as if am being a bother. Did not appreciate being treated as if I don't matter.
Went to stay here for a week on spring break, to look around Miami and the beach which is 20 min. by taxi, sometimes longer.
The hotel itself is ok, but not what they make it out to be.
Something weird is with the room. Every night, I woke up with a sore raw throat.
I started to think that maybe it has something to do with the dogs being allowd to stay there. The rooms are carpeted, so maybe the dogs remains are left, and not cleaned properly.
I had to turn down the air-con, so that we could feel better, because the air blowing in was making us all feel allergic. ? No clue why.
All in all, it is ok, but I don't think for a family. Better for business people and their meetings.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Thank you for sharing your feedback from your stay. We are saddened to hear about your arrival experience and your disappointment regarding our rooms as a pet friendly hotel. We can assure you that after a `fury friend´ stayed with us, we deep clean our rooms, including fabrics and carpets. We only release rooms after a detailed inspection. For guests with allergies we do offer pet free floors, as well. We would love to proof to you our excellent guest service and we hope for your return.
Best wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

I just stayed at the EPIC Hotel in Miami, FL on business. What a hotel! The building itself is located directly at the waterfront. Starting with a stunning lobby it just got better. My room was facing the water, had super-spacious bathroom (with shower, bathtub and a separate water closet) as well as an amazing bed. To top things a balcony was attached to the room so I could also enjoy the sunset.

You will find an amazing pool on the 16th floor of the building, with attached bar and lots of lounge chairs. The views from the pool are just stunning with nice lounge-music in the background.

One evening I also tried out the gym which is free for residents. There are lots of almost brand-new machines available as well as water, towels and another little pool in front of the gym, just in case you do want to cool down after your workout.

The only downside was the WIFI was charged to the room. Not sure why a hotel in this price-range can not offer free WIFI where nowadays almost all hotel-chains can.

All in all however I was thoroughly impressed with this hotel and I would certainly stay there on my next trip to Miami!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2011
grungtheep
Thank you for posting such great comments from your stay. We are excited to hear that you enjoyed EPIC, our spacious and comfy guest rooms, stunning views from our balconies and our state of the art gym and pools. Please make sure when returning to EPIC or any other Kimpton Hotel, to sign up for our Kimpton In Touch loyalty program - not only to receive complimentary WIFI, but free goodies from our Honorbar, as well. We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

My wife and I travelled to Miami for our anniversary and stayed at Epic after reading the reviews posted here. Epic did not disappoint. A very well maintained property with excellent amenities (fantastic spa, try the deep tissue massage if you are a fitness buff who has some nagging injuries or 4 hands massage for pure luxury) and service.
We stayed on the 30th floor (club level) and recommend the upgrade as the service levels and the perks such as food and beverage were very much worth the extra price.
Concierge Oscar and guest services provided by Lucia and especially Mark Haskell were unparalleled! Our room was clean and the rain shower was fantastic! Front desk and hotel staff were very well trained and the pool area on the 16 floor was both awe inspiring and sexy. I would NOT recommend this hotel to people with children but children were well taken care of and the hotel staff were very accomodating to guests who brought them. (I say this because the hotel is very luxurious and sexy and the amenities are definately not geared to children. The location is a cab ride away from most places but if you like to walk as we do (1-2 miles) and don't mind doing so in a city then Epic's location is perfect. We really enjoyed our 4 night stay...(40 yr old couple from Toronto, Canada)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
cafguy
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed our amenities, our pools with amazing views over Miami and South Beach, our gym, Exhale Spa and our spacious and luxury rooms. We are happy Lucia, Mark and Oscar went out of their way and made your anniversary unforgetable. Please be our guest again.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Miami
#5 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#5 Family Hotel in Miami
#5 Spa Hotel in Miami
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#7 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EPIC Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Miami, a sparkling cosmopolitan destination on the bank of the Miami River where it meets Biscayne Bay. A stunning addition to Miami, this hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, epitomizes urban design while offering guests a level of style and service expected of such a resort. With exceptional amenities, breathtaking views and dining venues like Area 31, EPIC Hotel makes for an unparalleled Miami experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epic Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.