We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ONLY place to stay in Miami” 5 of 5 stars
Review of EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% Off + FREE Upgrade
Ranked #4 of 130 hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersGold level
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The ONLY place to stay in Miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011 via mobile

Gorgeous hotel; rooms are unbelievable, the view is breathtaking, and the staff are the nicest we've ever encountered in any hotel around the world. This is number one for a reason, in fact MANY reasons! You can't go wrong.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Seiun
Thank you for your nice feedback. We appreciate your comment to be the ‘ONLY’ place to stay at when in Miami. We are happy our service was right on and you enjoyed your stay at EPIC to the fullest.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,962 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,438
    352
    93
    50
    29
See reviews for
373
747
101
391
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

I know I have seen pretty good review on the Epic but maybe we were not lucky...
First of all, I did not get the connecting rooms I requested and I did book months ago directly through the hotel ; pretty easy to have separate room when you have two young children! But the most unacceptable thing is that I discovered in our room pieces of broken glasses which could have hurt us. Furthermore, I found the service quite average depending on the waiter/waitress. I spoke to a receptionist manager who apologized for the inconvenience. But I do not give a second chance to the hotel. We definitely will not be back! We switched to Fontainebleau.
If you are demanding like me on 5* star hotel, I will not recommend the hotel. Appearance is nice but service is poor.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Ravouth
Thank you for taking a few moments to post your experience with us.
We are completely disappointed in the product and services you received. For this we sincerely apologize. Please allow us the opportunity to win back your loyalty and provide the product & service you deserve. We will be in touch immediately. We are looking forward to your return.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

If you are looking for a more adult (classy) alternative to the year round springbreak vibe at some of the other hotels on SOBE, stay here. We were promptly greeted and checked in. The staff, including room service was polite and professional. Unfortunately we didn't get to take advantage of the free food and wine they offer everyday. We stayed in a water view room, a must. I haven't seen the city view room but the views from the water side are amazing. The room had an effortless yet luxurious feel to it. Quality materials (real wood and stone) were used unlike some other fraudulent luxury hotels. The balcony was huge although there is a small gap in the walls that allow you to see the adjoining balcony. The pool area is comfortable and chic. There were three yachts docked at the hotel and several exotic cars out front which upped the chic value. All of the guests seemed to be mature yet having a good time. No disrespectful wild activity. There is also a bar that turns into a hotspot at night. The crowd there seemed to be a little younger but they were all well dressed and well behaved. All in all we loved Epic. Once again if you need someplace that doesn't break the bank yet makes you feel like your splurging and you don't plan on acting like a fool (saw none of this unlike other hotels) then stay here.

Room Tip: 16th floor room with a water view. Epic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lantana, Florida
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Dramatic lobby with warm welcoming staff. What an amazing combination. Extra large rooms with extra large beds. A sea of luxurious white linens. Terrific terrace with views of the city, Miami River & Biscayne Bay. A desktop PC hooked up and ready to use, at absolutely no charge. I could go on and on about the bathroom, almost as large as the bedroom. Two Vessel sinks, a deep soak tub, separate shower and water closet and more towels than you could use. (One tiny caveat, the air conditioning is motion sensor controlled, it can get a bit warm during the night or if you have been out of the room for awhile). Complimentary coffee service in the lobby every morning. There is also a wine serviced from 5-6 every evening on the 16th floor pool deck. We could not have made a better decision for our Miami stay. Kimpton never disappoints but the Epic exceeds expectations.

Room Tip: Always find out the Kimpton secret word of the month for your free ammenity. For August 2011 it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Roslynpines
Thank you for such an amazing review. We appreciate your comments about our spectacular lobby, our comfy and spacious guest rooms, with luxurious linens and amenities. We are glad you enjoyed our complimentary morning coffee and mingled with us during our hosted wine hour each evening. We are glad we were able to exceed your expectations. Please visit us again.
Best regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

The rooms were spatious with a balcony and large bathrooms in marble stone. The two swimming pools at the 16th floor were perfect especially the one with the sea view. The water temperature was regulated and you could just sit there all day enjoying the perfect view of the surrounding buildings and the sea. The personnel was very very friendly and helpful and they reccomended trips to the everglades and to the city. The breakfast was poor compared to European Hotels (they only offered fruits, cornflakes, toast and cruassants, coffee and juice) but at an additional cost you could order eggs, ommelettes and bacon... At least they offerd some breakfast compared to other hotels that did not!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Dfillos
Thank you for your great comments. We are glad you had a relaxed time and enjoyed our heated pools with views over Brickell and Biscayne Bay. We are glad our staff provided a memorable and friendly service. We would love to have you back as our guest.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011 via mobile

This is a fantastic, modern, high end hotel in the downtown area - which is a good and bad thing. Getting to South Beach is either a $25 can ride or a dubious trip on a local bus. If you're due to start a cruise, this hotel is ideal as it's right next to the port, but if you want some Miami Beach glamour, think carefully before you stay here.

Otherwise, the hotel itself is great. The pool area is stunning and the food at Area 51 good. Service was outstanding and staff enthusiastic. We were upgraded to a corner suite which was huge and great value considering the room rate.

Negatives - we booked a "every third night free" offer via Kimpton's website, which at first wasn't honored and we were charged for the entire stay. However, the front desk was quick to rectify it, which is all you can ask for.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
sb1London
Thank you for sharing your feedback from your stay with us. We are sorry to hear that EPIC’s location in downtown Miami was further away from South Beach as you had expected. Please accept our apologies for the additional charge on your account. We are glad it was quickly corrected. However, we are thrilled you loved our hotel, with its modern and high end design, our stunning pool area and our restaurant Area31. Thank you for mentioning our outstanding and enthusiastic staff. We are glad you had a great time and looking forward to your return.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We've been to the Epic Hotel twice now and truly love our stay each time. Its right in the heart of downtown walking distance from Bayside, Shops and lots of restaurants. We checked in and had a great experience with Jessica the front desk clerk. She was extremely helpful, knowledgable and very sweet. We upgraded to a water view room which overlooks the bay and the port of Miami, it was an incredible view. The room is breathtaking with marble all over the bathroom and modern decor and the Balconys are nice too.

The pool is out of this world with Cabanas and cocktail waitresses. We had appetizers at Area 31 that left us wanting more but we had to go to a concert. Epic hotel- Thank you for always making out trip so enjoyable!

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2011
pvillar810
Thank you for posting such great feedback. We are so glad you chose EPIC again. Thank you for mentioning Jessica who made sure your stay was perfect from the beginning on.
We are looking forward to your return.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Free Breakfast...
Show More
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Luxury, Romanti...
Show More
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Charming, Luxur...
Show More
Downtown
InterContinental Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Charming...
Show More
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Quiet, Pool, Lu...
Show More
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Boutique, Quiet...
Show More
Downtown
Viceroy Miami
Viceroy Miami
#26 of 130 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Miami
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#3 Spa Hotel in Miami
#3 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#4 Business Hotel in Miami
#5 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new EPIC Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Miami, a sparkling cosmopolitan destination on the bank of the Miami River where it meets Biscayne Bay. A stunning addition to Miami, this hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, epitomizes urban design while offering guests a level of style and service expected of such a resort. With exceptional amenities, breathtaking views and dining venues like Area 31, EPIC Hotel makes for an unparalleled Miami experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epic Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.