We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel with awesome service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% Off + FREE Upgrade
Ranked #6 of 129 hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersGold level
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel with awesome service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

My fiancé and I stayed here early April after a conference in South Beach. I researched hotels on Trip Advisor and chose this one because of all the reviews. We were definitely not disappointed. We had a room on the club level- which is worth the price! The night we checked in, Gerald our bellman happily assisted us with our bags. We got to our room and Gerald noticed we did not have an water view. He immediately got us Another room with a beautiful view
for no change in rate. He was so nice and hilarious too. Our concierge Glen was extremely
helpful as well. I had documents to fax and he ran around doing this for me. Mark in the club room was very attentive also and fun to talk to. Racquel in the club room was so sweet- one day my fiancé was asking about the pasta salad we had for lunch in the club room. They were not serving it the next day and Racquel went downstairs to get him a bowl and then delivered it to our room!

The location is great- easy walk to the bay area with lots of shops and restaurants. We walked to Trulucks one night- which is a phenomenal seafood place. Zuma restaurant in the Epic had the best sushi and martinis we have ever had!

The gym at Epic is also a good size and has free weights, treadmills, and other good equipment.

The room was clean and bed was comfy. Our balcony was large with beautiful view. Good water pressure in the shower. Plenty of towels!

We would absolutely stay at the Epic again and would definitely stay on the club level.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2011
chaibea77
Thank you for your fantastic review. We are happy to see that especially Raquel, Gerald and Gene were very helpful and made your stay relaxing and fun. We are glad your room was comfy and spacious and you found the location of our hotel convenient. Thank you for your kind comments about Zuma.
We are looking forward to your next visit.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,970 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,429
    361
    98
    52
    30
See reviews for
388
756
102
400
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

Rooms facing the sea are great feel for Miami feeling. Rooms within are brand new and with all necessary needs. The lawn in front was great and the resturant on 16th(?) floor was great. All in all great place to conduct business seminar and for leisure for those needs other than famous south beach of Miami. you do see some rich and famous around sometimes in the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2011
Mehbub
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are happy your stay was enjoyable and you liked our hotel. Please be our guest again.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

My partner and I recently stayed at the Epic Hotel in downtown Miami....as a frequent visitor to south Florida and Miami Beach in particular, we had never considered staying in downtown Miami. The Epic is centered, on the river mouth, with outstanding views of both downtown Miami and Miami Beach. With a superb roof top pool(s) deck and service and staff that are impeccable, I heartily suggest any traveller to the this area to forgo the hustle and bustle of South Beach and park themselves firmly at this outstanding property and have a summer drink by the pool.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2011
jpet_11
Thank you so much for posting such fabulous feedback from your stay at the EPIC. We appreciate your comments and suggestions regarding our pool area, service and our staff.
We are looking forward to your return.
Best wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

We pretty well always use Trip Advisor to book our hotels and try to get the
highest rated if possible. In Miami's case that is the Epic. Booking only a few
days before departure we got a waterview room at a very good rate. I will not repeat what other guests have raved about, but want to add a few comments about why the Epic is great.

First and foremost - the balconies. They are large by most standards and since
the hotel rooms start on the 18th floor of this partially residential building,
every one on the water side has a spectacular view and is well above the street level noise. Walking around downtown I noticed that most other big name hotels did not have
balconies. Who wants to come to Miami and not be able to sit out and enjoy the
heat. Also, as the sun goes down and it darkens the lights of the city create
fantastic patterns glistening off the buildings across the river. In the case of
the Viceroy which faces the Epic, another buildings shadow created the
appearance of a zebra skin. Later the refelection of traffic lights from cars on
Biscayne Boulevard looked exactly like the torches of the advancing orcs in Lord
of the Rings ... and no, we weren't stoned. It was almost as if we had stepped into Blade Runner..

Many have mentioned the easy proximity to Bayfront Park and the market, but
don't overlook going the other way and taking a walk around beautiful Brickell
Key which provides great views of Miami's skyline and Key Biscayne.

Lastly, try to get up as high as possible, both for the view and so that the
music emanating from the lounge area makes for nice background rather than an
irritation.

Room Tip: Insist on a waterview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2011
Maritimeexplorer
Thank you for posting such wonderful and poetic comments about our hotel, the views from your balcony and the proximity to other attractions in Miami. We are looking forward to your return.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

Really enjoyed our stay here. A few miles from the hotel and a short hop over the bridge to the beaches. Cool, modern, urban look, Zuma downstairs, great club lounge facilities including free drinks and snacks, staff really helped us with planning and bookings. Once or twice the staff were a little lacking or slow but on th whole very good. Excellent gym here is thats your thing.

Room Tip: great gym facilties
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2011
DelfromLondon
Thank you for posting your feedback from your stay. We are sorry that we fell short not providing a swift service at all times; but we are cheerful that your overall stay was very good and you enjoyed our hotel.
Please stay with us again.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

Where to start? The email a week before our arrival with greetings and a request for anything we might need to make our stay special from Gene Ruotolo the "Club" level concierge. I told them it was our first visit to their city and we'd be celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary. Upon arrival we were escorted to a personal check in with Gene at the Club desk on the 29th floor. We asked him if he could get us a reservation at Zuma, the world renowned restaurant located in the hotel. He said he'd try but they were usually booked up 30 days in advance. We then went to our room and found a chilled bottle of fine Champagne and two flutes. The rooms were fabulous, beautifully decorated and appointed. Everything from flat screen HD TV, computer with free internet access, thick robes, slippers no detail missed. After a nice dinner at Area 31 their in house restaurant located on the 16th floor we went back to the club lounge and found a full open bar. We found out that the amenities of the club level include the open bar from 7 to 11, breakfast , lunch and after dinner snacks. Incredible!! We had after dinner drinks and a cigar on the patio overlooking downtown Miami, Biscayne Bay and the Miami River. I have to mention Raquel one of the great staff at the club lounge. She made us feel like royalty and I cannot compliment her enough. Throughout our stay her service and humor were the frosting on the cake of our visit. Gene Ruotolo our concierge gets equally high marks for service and attitude beyond the ordinary, By the way he managed to get us the coveted reservation at Zuma. As they are in but not part of the hotel that's another review. 5 stars is not enough for this fantastic hotel!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2011
13boxers13
Thank you so much for your 5star review. We are happy to hear that you entirely enjoyed the amenities of our Club Lounge. We are thrilled to see that Gene and Raquel took very good care of you and made your 20th wedding anniversary unforgettable.
We are looking forward to your next visit.
Best wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Valley, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

Even though we are actually traveling to Miami in May for our 10 year anniversary, I am SUPER EXCITED. I actually booked our reservations last July 2010. Since, I booked our reservations (we are meeting our best friends who will be celebrating their 9 year anniversary) I have found price comparisons and they have matched the price with no hassle and we even upgraded to a waterview room. We also just found out that our travel agent with our cruise line lives around the corner. He mentioned that it was a great pick. So far all of my conversations and questions have been answered with a smile and no question is too silly for whomever I have talked to. Again, I am impressed and CAN"T WAIT for our stay.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2011
RMJohnson8960
Thank you for your kind words. We CAN’T wait to welcome you as our guest and make your stay comfy, fun and relaxing – but most important: to make your 10year anniversary super special and unforgettable.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#3 Green Hotel in Miami
#4 Spa Hotel in Miami
#4 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#5 Family Hotel in Miami
#6 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new EPIC Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Miami, a sparkling cosmopolitan destination on the bank of the Miami River where it meets Biscayne Bay. A stunning addition to Miami, this hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, epitomizes urban design while offering guests a level of style and service expected of such a resort. With exceptional amenities, breathtaking views and dining venues like Area 31, EPIC Hotel makes for an unparalleled Miami experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Amex, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epic Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.