We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait til our stay at the Epic......” 5 of 5 stars
Review of EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% off
Ranked #6 of 112 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Spring Valley, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Can't wait til our stay at the Epic......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

Even though we are actually traveling to Miami in May for our 10 year anniversary, I am SUPER EXCITED. I actually booked our reservations last July 2010. Since, I booked our reservations (we are meeting our best friends who will be celebrating their 9 year anniversary) I have found price comparisons and they have matched the price with no hassle and we even upgraded to a waterview room. We also just found out that our travel agent with our cruise line lives around the corner. He mentioned that it was a great pick. So far all of my conversations and questions have been answered with a smile and no question is too silly for whomever I have talked to. Again, I am impressed and CAN"T WAIT for our stay.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2011
RMJohnson8960
Thank you for your kind words. We CAN’T wait to welcome you as our guest and make your stay comfy, fun and relaxing – but most important: to make your 10year anniversary super special and unforgettable.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,660
    431
    128
    66
    34
See reviews for
447
869
115
491
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

We loved the EPIC Hotel in Miami! This was our first trip to Miami and our first stay at a Kimpton Hotel. We had a spectacular one-room suite with a view overlooking the sunset off one balcony and enjoyed a warm, sunny breakfast from another balcony the next morning. The staff was considerate, helpful and especially friendly and welcoming to our dog. They brought special treats, a clean, if not new, bed and bowls to our room for the duration of our stay and always remembered her name and pet her when she came through the entryway. Our family loved Miami and we would only stay at the EPIC when we return!

Room Tip: Ask for a one-room suite above the 25th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2011
goldilox057
Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad you and your ‘doggie’ had a fun and relaxed stay. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the EPIC very soon.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

This hotel was an amazing place to stay. It was within walking distance to Bayside, and a short cab to the cruise port. The hotel was extremely clean and all the staff was very polite and friendly. The only meal we ate at Area 31 was the buffet breakfast and it was delicious. The pools were clean with an amazing view. There were several little things that added to the whole experience like the ice water with fresh orange slices to quench your thirst just prior to entering the elevators. Upscale hotel well worth the money.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2011
hockeyparents45
Thank you for your amazing review. We appreciate your kind comments about our rooms, restaurant, pools and our staff. We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Best wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at EPIC on April 8 before leaving for a cruise on the 9th. I booked this hotel based on the TripAdvisor reviews I had read, and we were not disappointed. From the second we got there, the staff was friendly and accommodating and even though we had an early flight and got in well before check in time, they did not flinch and got us into an amazing room right away. B at the front desk and Michael who brought our bags to our room were awesome and made us feel so welcome. The room was beautiful and the view was spectacular (waterview room).

We spent the evening at Area 31 for both dinner and drinks afterwards and had both an amazing meal and exceptional service. The only negative I can speak of was one bartender who clearly was not happy to be there and liked to ignore us when we were waiting at the bar to order (a quick "sorry, I'm slammed -- I will grab you guys as soon as I can" would not have been that tough), otherwise everyone else was extremely friendly and customer service was fantastic.

We did not have time to experience the pool or any of the spa services, but the hotel alone would bring us back to Miami in the future. We could not have been happier with our accommodations and not only will we be back to EPIC, but I will now seek out other Kimpton properties as a result of this wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Book early and go for the waterview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2011
mkj1214
Thank you for posting such a fantastic review. We are thrilled that our staff, especially B and Michael, took good care of you and that you had a great time while being our guest. We are so excited that we “kimptonized” you and that you will be seeking out other Kimpton hotels. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to EPIC very soon.
Best wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerusalem
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

but dissapointed...
The most crucial moment for me in a hotel is my first impression and feeling I had at the minute I got into the room and see it for the first time.
This time I was disappointed.Although we booked the simplest room with the city view(1 night prior to a cruise) it seemed different than what I expected .It looked smaller,the bathroom's floor all scratced seemed old ,the balcony not attractive since the "cityview" we got was a swimming pool of a building nearby,bed compy but simple (the big part at the back that the heads should lean on is not not a masterpiece criss-cross...) .
We went up to check on the swimming pool and the whole area was a mess,not as a neat and a well maintained place should be.The pool's size was smaller than we thought we have seen on the web..And the whole athmosphere was more of a building filled with Miami residents rather than hotel guests..
The proximity to Bayside Market Place is nice although at night we somehow did not feel comfortable to go back to the hotel-it was dark and scary.
Next time we will take a hotel in South Beach and take a short taxi ride to the Bayside Market Place.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2011
dafneJerusalem
Thank you so much for taking the time and sharing your feedback from your stay with us. Please accept our sincerest apologies for not meeting your expectations. We are sad to see that the size, design and view from your room were different than expected and that our pool area appeared not as crisp and large as you anticipated it. We would love to have you as our guest again and hope your will give us a second chance. We are looking forward to your return.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

Nice location in downtown Miami. Close to Bayside Marketplace and Brickell. Also A 15minute bus ride to south beach. Quiet location but also a busy hotel with restaurants and a pool. Waterview rooms are the best!

Room Tip: Waterview room best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2011
Christinoua
Thank you for taking the time and sharing your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and location. Please visit us again.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roslyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

My wife and 16 year old daughter spent 5 wonderful days at the Epic, and we could not have been more satisfied. Everyone, and I do mean everyone, was incredibly friendly and helpful.
Our water view room was not available during the check in process, they upgraded us to a Jr. Suite the following morning. Location to nightlife and daily activities were perfect, a 30 second drive to I-95. Price to Valet was steep, but location dictates this...
Loved, loved, loved Zuma, the restaurant off the main lobby. Also, the staff at the pool were utterly amazing, especially Cesso. Cannot wait to return...which we plan to do next December.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2011
kellysig
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are so happy you had a great time, loved Zuma and were spoiled by Cesso. We are looking forward to your return in December. So long,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Miami
#4 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#5 Spa Hotel in Miami
#5 Family Hotel in Miami
#5 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#7 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EPIC Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Miami, a sparkling cosmopolitan destination on the bank of the Miami River where it meets Biscayne Bay. A stunning addition to Miami, this hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, epitomizes urban design while offering guests a level of style and service expected of such a resort. With exceptional amenities, breathtaking views and dining venues like Area 31, EPIC Hotel makes for an unparalleled Miami experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epic Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.