We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel was a Dump” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Club at Brickell Bay

Save Saved
You added The Club at Brickell Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Club at Brickell Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Brickell Bay Dr, suite 104, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #116 of 130 hotels in Miami
Goldsboro, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“This hotel was a Dump”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

I travel a lot but not normally to the Miami area so when booking through Expedia I expected to find the quality hotel that I normally receive. This one was the exception. When entering I was totally disqusted but was told this was an upgrade because it had two beds.WOW! The beds had no headboards but sheets were up as headboards The couch in the living room was actually on the floor. For someone young this may have been awesome but someone older having to try to sit on it would be a disaster. The last night of my stay. one of the beds actually fell apart. The front desk sent someone up to repair it and it was nailed together for the night. I don't know that it would have been able to hold two people sleeping on it. Since this was a business trip I did not have the time to look for another hotel but I would certainly not consider staying at this one again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    4
    3
    19
See reviews for
4
7
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
connecticut
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Location was good, two blocks from free metro mover. Had studio, one queen bed with kitchenette. Clean, security good, helpful staff front desk, very nice pools and jacuzzi, exercize and activity rooms.. From our balcony you could see city and sea. Room was clean, had towels and toilet paper. In our kitchenette we only had plates, coffee cups, glasses and butcher blck knife set, no pots, pans, coffeemaker or forks spoons. If I had wanted to cook, I am sure the staff would have got us accessories

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

Because of my line of business I travel a lot. Booking through American Express Travel, when I've read the reviews after buying a night at the hotel... I obviously wanted to cancel my reservation. Good I could not do it.
I even took toilet paper and conditioner in a bag waiting for the worst.
We arrived, reception is not big but efficient, they understood my doubts and agreed to show me the rooms first. What can I said I didn't pay for the Fountainbleu by Hilton.. or the Loews-Ritz... but was nothing -at all- of what I expected.
It was clean, kind of 3 star hotel, luxurious but a little run down, big, and comfortable (Studio). There was shampoo, soap, bed linens, and all the things this reviews said there were not included.
Also a stove, silverware, etc... they gave us this 2 rooms and they were really good. View Excellent to the bay and to the city... a little high for my taste (floor 36).
The Gym is as good as in 5 stars where I've stayed. 2 pools in the 14th floor with jacuzzi . At night with all the toll buildings surrounding the pool, each one showing different colors was great.
There was a stain not big next to the bathtub... that is the only complaint if I can say that is a complaint. We had 2 different rooms (each one with walking closet), and both were nice, clean and modern. TV was not flat screen, but... in Downtown Miami with 1 night to stay... the least we did was to be there sleeping. Also bed was not 5 star but more comfortable than a cruise line bed for example -they use similar bed linens-.
After going to hotels from Ocean Drive itself, to others in Washington ave & north Collins Ave &75 St. -H. I.-, I have to say this one is the best one so far.
The manager Alfredo even gave me a card with his cell phone, I had to call at 10 pm... he answered the phone...
Really do what AMEX told me... try it first... not all the reviews describe the reality even they help.
Not a 5 star but for Miami a heck of a deal for 1 or a couple of nights in Downtown Miami, remember is not a hotel per se, but they are very close.
A pleasant surprise for my family and friends.

Room Tip: Ask always if they can show you the room... just in case, and don't loose their key or they will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

I wish I would have found these reviews before I stayed here. I was traveling for business and there was a convention going on therefore my normal hotel was not available. I figured this area was great and being a condo building, how bad could it be. The reviews on Expedia were OK also. I booked myself and my boss a studio. The few things that travelers warned about was that there was no one to check you in if you arrive in the evening and that there would be no towels or toilet paper in the unit. I called twice prior to my arrival and was told that someone would call me back but no one ever did. I was lucky to arrive and someone was still there to check me in. I checked in on Monday November 14,2011 but they did not have any studio's available therefore I wound up with a 3 bedroom condo. The condo was mediocre at best. The balcony was amazingly huge and that was the only good thing I could say about this place eventhough it said the balconies were furnished and it was not. It was like renting a old, dirty, dingy apartment. Looks from the outside are deceiving.

The day prior to my boss arriving, I emailed and called to inform them that he would have a car. They advised that they needed 24 hour notice to reserve parking. Yet again, I did not receive an acknowledgement nor a response from anyone. As a result, we had to valet park the car two nights. Regular valet is $20 for overnight but you must have the car out by 7am. Because we didn't leave each morning until 8am, an add'l $10 was due.

My boss checked in on Wednesday and when we arrived at 6:30pm, there was no one there to check him in. An envelope was left in the hallway with his name on it and a key inside. He wound up with a studio as booked and it was HORRIBLE. We literally walked in and walked out. If you ever saw the movie Physco, this could be compared to The Bates Motel. Needless to say, I had a room-mate for the next two days. My place was by far nice but it was like the tajma hall compared to the studio.

Because there is a cleaning fee and linen's fee, I emailed them to inform them of our dissatisfaction and that we would not occupy the studio. I never asked for a refund, I was simply stating that the add'l fees would not be necessary since the unit was never occupied. And again, no response.

I travel quite extensively and this was one of the worst expediencies ever. The area is a great area to stay in, just be sure to stay at a reputable place if staying in the Brickell area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

I arrived late from Chicago and drove from Ft. Lauderdale to Brickell looking forward to relaxing in my guestroom. BUT never crossed my mind I was there to have the most disgusting and frustrating experience I ever had in my life. The room/studio was in the most horrendous condition, the place smelled like urine, cigarette and sweat… truly REVOLTING! I couldn’t believe my eyes looking at these totally dirty floors, black mold building up everywhere, in the bathroom, the floors by the bed, the kitchenette, the bathroom, everywhere! Closet door hanging, burned lamp shades, the linens cheap and dirty; Mold All Over the Walls! But the most disturbing of all was the bathroom; I was ready to vomit taking pictures of this place, YES, I TOOK A LOT OF PICTURES OF THIS UNBELIEVABLY NAUSEATING PLACE, Bathtub with filthy foot prints, pubic hair, mold and trash in the drain; one of the wall has a stain that looked like EXCREMENT, the shower covered with layers of mold and corrosion; used soap and dirty towels in the sink. The fire alarm, a basic Safe and Security Element in a Hotel Room was MISSING, someone removed and left behind the screw driver in the night stand; no parking garage, I had to park my car a block away in the street. I can’t express my feeling looking at this place. I when down stairs looking for the Manager on Duty or the guest services manager or someone who move me to another room, it was NONE!! NOT HELP WHATSOEVER!!! Just an old man who doesn’t speak any English and who was totally rude and helpless, he told me (in Spanish /Cuban) that I needed to call “The Owner of the Unit”…!?!?!???? to complain. Unbelievable! so, I called Hotels.com Customer Service to realize that they won’t move me to another room or hotel or somewhere else with basic standards of cleanness … the agent over the phone told me that “I agreed to stay in this room when I paid for it in advance” .. I was almost in tears begging this “supervisor” to help me, it was no help… I felt disgraced, humiliated and literately robed since this supervisor argued that he can’t do anything and my money was not refundable. It was already 1:00 am, I was looking for hotels over the phone where I can spend the rest of the night, but Miami was sold out, was no room in the area, so I took my luggage and left this place to stay in my rented car for hours waiting for the daylight to find a place to stay. I am a business woman traveling for work and never experienced something like this. This is the worse place I've ever stayed in the entire world.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ECR_Management, Manager at The Club at Brickell Bay, responded to this review, June 22, 2011
I am very sorry for the experience you had. I assure you that we are transforming the business as we speak. We take full responsibility for the lack of integrity we had in the past. ECR has less than 5 employees who run the show. Not only do i personally thank you for taking the time to write a review here, but i also want to thank you for giving us the opportunity to fix the problems you pointed out. I invite you to please come again and experience The Club at Brickell Bay by ECR with our new management team.

I could only imagine how you must of felt. I would be furious if i was in your shoes as well.

Please come by our Facebook page for special deals and info created by our new PR and Marketing Team.

-Erik B. ECR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

These appear to be apartments that are going through foreclosure and whose owners are making a few dollars by having them used as vacation rentals.

Ours was not as bad as some described below in that it was basically clean with clean sheets & towels and a comfortable bed. No luxuries such as bedside lamps or clothes hangers though. We had not expected maid service and are used to "self catering" type arrangements so the lack of that was fine. The base boards could have done with a dust and the walls a wash down in places but it was OK - not good for $200 a night but survivable.

What was outrageous was the description of the apartment having "a fully equipped kitchen" - this was the reason I risked the booking despite the Expedia reviews (note: I had for once failed to check Tripadvisor! I would never have booked had I read the reviews below). We were in Miami for a specific purpose not a vacation and needed to be in Brickell and I liked the idea of being able to make breakfasts and maybe have the odd dinner at home. The kitchen had 4 cups, 3 bowls, a couple of plates and a miscellaneous mismatch of flatware - 1 spoon! No toaster, no pans of any description, no cutting knives, no coffee maker...... basically if it came with the apartment (microwave, fridge) it was there - if not then it wasn't.

There was also no DVD player or Wifi as advertised. In fact no internet at all as far as we could ascertain. And yes, we had to buy our own toilet roll as there was only 1/2 a roll in the apartment. We didn't bother complaining - by now I had read the reviews below and we just got on with our trip - and after all, you complain if you are missing a corkscrew or the toaster is broken. It seemed unlikely they were unaware that there was no kitchen!

One good thing was it was nice and big so my brother in law and nephew came down to visit with sleeping bags and spent the night in the lounge!

This place has passed over from being an inadequate version of a 3 star hotel and is basically indulging in false advertising. Avoid!

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

Unclean, unaccommodating, poorly supplied rm, booked 1BR apt./actually studio with black mold, no coffee maker or DW …good area, find another accommodation!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Club at Brickell Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Club at Brickell Bay

Address: 1200 Brickell Bay Dr, suite 104, Miami, FL 33131
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 130 hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Club at Brickell Bay 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small company that rent out daily and monthly condominium apartment rooms. Our apartments consist of studios, one bedrooms, two bedrooms, and the penthouse. We are located in the heart of Brickell and is a great value for your buck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Club at Brickell Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Club At Brickell Bay Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Club at Brickell Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.