We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miccosukee Indian Village

Miccosukee Indian Village
Mile Marker 70, US 41 Tamiami Trail, Miami, FL 33144
305-552-8365
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 122 attractions in Miami
Type: Historic Sites, History Museums, Museums, Art Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This surviving village of the Miccosukee Tribe is located 27 miles west of Miami on the Tamiami Trail.
Naples, Florida
1 review
“Loved!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I visited the "Village" on 09/7/13 and I must say my family and I really enjoyed it! It was great cultural learning and the kids left with the "Indian Mentality" lol. Our favorite part of it all was the "Alligator Wrangling" show. That man (I believe his name was Nelson) was so brave and courageous! He definitely new what he was doing. We learned a lot about Gators! Above all, the experience was very educational and I am definitely recommending this spot to family & friends!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    31
    27
    14
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deerlijk, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Miccosukee air boat ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We enjoyed very much the air boat ride in the Everglades with Miccosukee. It's about half an hour for a reasonable price. You visit an old indian village (don't expect much of this though). The boat ride itself is great - Hector was very handy with the boat, gave some general info on the allegators on how they live and also showed us baby alligators - highly appreciated by our kids. Very nice experience in an a superb environment. We were a bit reluctant at first for the mosquitos, but did not saw one. We did not visit the other attractions at Miccosukee.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley Chapel, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Waste of time, money & gas”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

What a rip off!!!! We paid $8 each to see the Alligator show. Nelson starts by poking at the alligator with a stick, had no rapore with the audience, I'll give him his due that he seemed to know what he was doing, but needs to learn showmanship. He just walked around pulling the alligator by his tail and sniffing after every other word. It was as if he didn't care whether yoiu were there or not. The children enjoyed it, but then at their young age they would. There was only one lady making her bead jewellry, no other booth was manned. Thank goodness we didn't pay for the tour as there really was nothing to see, other than the little museum, which didn't have an awful lot in it either. Don't waste your money!!!!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Something different in Miami”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is an inexpensive activity for travelers that want a different kind of cultural experience than what is usually found in Miami. We were met outside while taking pictures by tribe member that told us about the tour, so since it was about to start and was only $10 for adults and free for the kids that were with us we decided to try it. We were given a lot of historical information about the tribe and shown around for a bit until it was time for the alligator show which consisted of a young man doing the typical show of holding the mouth under their chin and sticking their hand in the mouth but after the show he also gave us a more intimate Q and A session and let us take pictures with a little alligator.
There is an optional $16 airboat ride that stops at another little village where we were allowed to get off the boat and walk around to see more alligators up close. Both the adults and the kids in the group found the whole experience quite interesting so this is a good activity when traveling with people of various ages.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Total disappointment!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

*****DO NOT RECOMMEND******

I literally just left the establishment and feel ripped off .... I paid ten dollars to go inside the "village" and no guided tour was available because they were short staffed. Luckily I arrived ten minutes before the alligator show started so I go and grab a seat ... (On the walk to the show I noticed all this huts were all empty)....I'm excited waiting for the show to start and then Nelson starts the show (he had no mic and i heard every other word) and nine minutes later he jumps out and walks away .... The show was over!!!
Ok so I go into the the little museum they have and no one is present to talk or answers ... I go back to the entrance and stand at the first hut and the man could only direct me to ask for a guided tour ... He unfortunately couldn't do it himself .... I learned nothing about the tribe when I asked for information I was handed a piece of paper that was photocopied with information I ultimately can find on the Internet

So ladies and gentleman if u feel like driving wasting some gas and spending ten dollars and waste a day for that then I guess enjoy the mighty adventure !!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Miccosukee Indian Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miccosukee Indian Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Miccosukee Indian Village to your Saves list