We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everglades tour” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Miccosukee Indian Village

Miccosukee Indian Village
Mile Marker 70, US 41 Tamiami Trail, Miami, FL 33144
305-552-8365
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 122 attractions in Miami
Type: Historic Sites, History Museums, Museums, Art Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This surviving village of the Miccosukee Tribe is located 27 miles west of Miami on the Tamiami Trail.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Everglades tour”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We enjoyed the airboat ride, our guide took us zipping thru the glades. We stopped at the village - nothing to see which was a shame. Staff at the village were not interested in telling us about the attractions and not very friendly. Fun boat ride, but really that was it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    29
    26
    14
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galveston
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The Alligator Show”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Went for an educational alligator show and maybe a little history of the tribe. The gentelman doing the show,"Bear",seemed bored and a little ticked off.It seemed that he was very mean to the alligators. He kept poking at and hitting one with a stick,making it snap so hard and often its mouth started bleeding.There was no interested interaction, no personable informative chat,and we finally had to tell "Bear" to quit hitting the alligator.Few days later,we went to the Safari Park down the road fro the Village. What a difference!!! At the alligator show there was no hiting and poking, the guy giving the demo was informative and engaging. The alligators were responsive without cruelty, and there seemed to be an interest in their well being.We were so glad we saw the difference in treatment, and I would far prefer any children going to a show to get to see the kinder version!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Nice ride”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

This was a nice ride. Lasted roughly 30 min. Stopped at a island out in the swamp. It was village for a family of 9. Nothing going on there. Nice boardwalk around island. Only saw one alligator & a few birds. I think there is a difference between an airboat ride & an airboat tour. There's no info or narration with this ride.
Did not go to museum nor shows, which are directly across street from rides. Did go into their store tho. Very nice jewelry for sale. Decent prices.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not much happening on a Sunday”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My wife and I decided to visit the village on a Sunday afternoon and there was hardly anything there. The only demonstration was the gator wrestling which was okay. The chap was only interested in showing how brave he was (a bit OTT) That was it, the people on the reception should have advised us that nothing was going on. It is a long journey wasted.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A liilte climpse into the past.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This would be a fun place to bring children/teens if you are certain the will be doing an alligator wrestling show...class first...it doesn't always happen. You can tour through an Miccosukke Indean Village. It is a long drive from Miami. They also have a great gift shop and air-boat rides

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Miccosukee Indian Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miccosukee Indian Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Miccosukee Indian Village to your Saves list