We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everglades Airboat Ride” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miccosukee Indian Village

Miccosukee Indian Village
Mile Marker 70, US 41 Tamiami Trail, Miami, FL 33144
305-552-8365
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 122 attractions in Miami
Type: Historic Sites, History Museums, Museums, Art Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This surviving village of the Miccosukee Tribe is located 27 miles west of Miami on the Tamiami Trail.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Everglades Airboat Ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We live in Fort Lauderdale but had some cousins visiting from Canada. They wanted to see the Everglades, so we went out to the Miccosukee Indian Village. Benny was our guide and, at first, we weren't sure what to expect. As it turns out, what a wonderful experience. We stopped at a little Indian Village and saw how the older generation survived back in the day, and got to meet Papa, Mama and saw some baby gators. Benny was very knowledgeable with the sizes and mannerisms of the gators. We then went to look for another gator in the wild that he had raised himself but she was being shy. We did see her babies, though, which was very cool! We went on a Tuesday, so we had the boat to ourselves, and $16 per person was more than reasonable for the experience. Highly recommend this, and ask for Benny - you won't be disappointed!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    31
    27
    14
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“sad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

you expect to see a nice exhibit of the glory of the indian nation, instead you get a few shops and big discounts on cigarettes - if you smoke. needs improvement

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheridan, OR,USA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Elvis, Thanks for the best ever airboat ride through the Everglades.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We are from Oregon so this was our first experience with alligators and the other living things in the everglades. We are traveling with family from British Columbia, Canada and we stopped at Mile Marker 70, U.S. Highway 41 Tamiami Trail Miamai FL 33194 to take our first ever airboat ride. Much was learned about the history of the Miccosukees and their way of life. Elvis, our Airboat operator, was very easy to talk with and he knew lots of interesting facts about what we were seeing. He never seemed to be a hurry and he actually enjoyed being our guide. Wish the website was easier to get reviews to the people who deserve them. Hope Elvis gets word that he did a good job.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Airboat Ride and More!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My family and I went to the Miccosukee Indian Village looking for an airboat ride, and had much more fun than we expected. We decided to see the Alligator show as well, which granted us access to the village (across the street from where the airboats are). The Village is rich in culture,and there is a habitat where you can see captive alligators. The show was educational, funny and thrilling. We even got to hold a baby alligator!

The airboat ride was much longer than I thought it would be. You are taken out to a little island in the Everglades where you can see wild alligators. Our return trip was longer and more scenic, and since the day was warm, our "captain" was playful and included extra splashes :)

I had a great time. I would recommend this location to anyone.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Suzy Fl
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Air Boat Ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Benny was our guide on what we initially thought was going to be just a quick ride. It turned out to be a delightful and educational experience. The 30 minute ride was closer to 50 minutes. We stopped at an Indian Village and got the grand tour (also saw some gators). Benny then took us to a small island where he hand fed an alligator that he had raised himself. Cool! Riding through the swamp was invigorating! Sixteen dollars a person was more than reasonable and we only had 4 people on our boat. If you're driving by, give Benny a try!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Miccosukee Indian Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miccosukee Indian Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Miccosukee Indian Village to your Saves list