We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience for air boat ride” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miccosukee Indian Village

Miccosukee Indian Village
Mile Marker 70, US 41 Tamiami Trail, Miami, FL 33144
305-552-8365
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 122 attractions in Miami
Type: Historic Sites, History Museums, Museums, Art Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This surviving village of the Miccosukee Tribe is located 27 miles west of Miami on the Tamiami Trail.
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Experience for air boat ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stopped here while driving up from the keys to Tampa. Had planned to go choose one of the airboat rides in everglades city but after seeing the many signs I decided to give it a try. I have never been on an airboat before but it has been on my bucket list for quite a while. It was early on a friday morning so the only people there at the time for the ride was a family of 3 who spoke no english and myself. What a great time it was! Our guide Hector made it so personal and explained so many things to me about the glades and how the indians lived there in the past at the village we stopped at. We saw huge gators as well as baby gators. Hector even was able to bridge the communication gap with the non-english guests - I knew this by the genuine smiles on their faces. I would recommend this adventure highly and plan to do it all again if I ever pass that way again.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    31
    27
    14
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Go West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Looking for popular sites that locals forget to visit we hit the Miccosukee Indian Village followed by an air boat ride with Elvis. Yes he lives! Our timing was great and walked into a reasonably priced attraction for a fun and intense alligator show. No wrestling but very cool. Add in that would can hold and take pictures with baby gator at no additional charge makes it a great value. There could have been a few more things to see besides the museum and with a bunch of casino money a few guides to explain the variety of exhibits would have been nice. The staff on hand were very pleasant and helpful. The place as a whole very clean. For an additional charge we crossed the street for an air boat ride. Elvis took us on an exciting tour over the river of grass arriving at a dock in the middle of the Glades where we saw more alligators and had a bit of history lesson. Elvis was very polite allowed us to take pictures on the airboat was very patient with family and the long lost art of customer service in Miami was remembered. Worth a trip for sure.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Airboat ride in the Everglades”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

During our recent family visit to the Everglades, we wanted to experience an Airboat ride. We had a coupon for the Miccosukee Indian Village near the Shark Valley entrance to the Everglades. The airboat ride was fun. The tribe member who took us on the boat ride was friendly and knowledgeable about the 'river of grass'. He called out to an alligator by making baby alligator sounds. That was cool.
The other attractions at the Village such as alligator wrestling, and the museum were average.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“airboat ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This was the best adventure ever, the awesome beauty of the everglades , We had a guide Named "ELVIS" . HIS SKILL driving the airboat was outstanding, his presentation of information about the glades and its wildlife was delivered with a true love for his Home and enviroment. I always wanted to try this and was SO HAPPY i did , ELVIS made me a believer, If you go to florida and want the experience of a lifetime find "ELVIS" at the Miccosukee airboat park YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPOINTED...Im going back for sure

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“It is a must see attraction.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

My family and I enjoyed the Miccosukee Indian Village all the. The natives were very friendly and enjoyed taking pictires with us. We especially enjoyed the air boat tour. Our air boat guide Elvis was great and we enjoyed all he had to share with us. We're ready planning to go back and do the air boat tour again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Miccosukee Indian Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miccosukee Indian Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Miccosukee Indian Village to your Saves list