We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miccosukee Indian Village

Miccosukee Indian Village
Mile Marker 70, US 41 Tamiami Trail, Miami, FL 33144
305-552-8365
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 122 attractions in Miami
Type: Historic Sites, History Museums, Museums, Art Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This surviving village of the Miccosukee Tribe is located 27 miles west of Miami on the Tamiami Trail.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Its super fun we like it our young driver was so nice showed us alligators turtles birds the airboat ride was excellent

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    29
    26
    14
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Airboat Ride was OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We didn't have time to do both the airboat ride AND the village visit, so we chose to do the airboat ride. We were sent on a wild goose chase! The first booth we went to, they said that they couldn't accept a credit card because their machine was broken.

So they directed us to their other site, which was just up the road by the restaurant. They said that they had a machine that would work. When we got to the second site, the lady there told us, "Cash only!", and that her machine had run out of batteries!

So SHE directed us to the village gift shop, which was across the street from the first booth! They said that they had an ATM machine there where we could get cash. [SIGH] So we drove back to the village only to find out that their cash machine................you guessed it...............could not dispense any money for whatever reason!

SOOOOO, the lady at the gift shop directed us over to the Police Station (of all places), which was a few miles up the road. She said that they had an ATM there. So we drove up the road to the police station to get our cash.

In the meantime, we were working against time for the last airboat ride would be leaving within the next 10 minute! Luckily we were able to FINALLY buy our tickets for the LAST boat ride of the day.

I, personally, was excited to be cruising the everglades! We were taken to an old indian village. Although there wasn't much by way of explanation about the village itself, it was neat to see and walk the place. I really would have liked to hear more about the people who lived there.

What I wanted most was to see alligators. I saw TWO. Not a whole lot, but two more than I had ever seen in my life. =)

Would I go again? Maybe. I don't know if I would go with Miccosukee, but would like to take the kids on the ride!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Miccosukee Indian Airboat Ride - a great time, a great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

We didn't visit the Indian Village but we did take the Airboat Ride. We'd be stopping at all the Airboat operators from Naples to Miami. The Miccosukee ride caught our attention when we talked to the young native men that were selling the tickets. They were warm and helpful and convinced the four of us that they would meet our joint expectations. I wanted to have my hair blown back by going fast, and my folks wanted to see alligators. The ride was fast, fun and we enjoyed some special driving that was thrilling. Wee went to a key where our driver hand fed two huge gators named Papa and Mama. It took our breath away. He also rescued a baby snapping turtle from the highway and brought it out to be rereleased. There seemed to be a culture of concern for the animals and the enviornment. Lastly we nudged the boat up into a narrow grassy channel and watched a mother gator with her squeaking babies. The whoe adventure was a modest $16.00 per person. Other operators were asking $40.00 and up. We had a wonderful time.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“NEEDS TO BE SHUT DOWN, TREATS ANIMALS TERRIBLY.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012 via mobile

Do NOT waist $8 here. Nothing to see, just alligators and turtles in shallow water with no food. Alligator show is disgusting, hitting the alligators with sticks, holding there mouths, hitting there noses to get them to open there mouths. When the Indian alligator fighter walked in the alligators hid in the water. He DRAGGED one out and out the sand to hit and beat for our 'entertainment'. Just disgusting. This place needs to be shut down.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Miccosukee Indian Village”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We visited this Indian Village on Tuesday 04-10-12. The information, native artwork, museum and presentation was excellent. The gator show run by just one Miccosukee Indian was excellent and showed his respect and care towards the gator with which he was wrestling. The wood carvings were extremely intricate and showed true knowledge of the carver. Participants could wait on line to hold a fifteen inch baby gator. This was fascinating. The handler was very caring and kind. I learned a great deal from this visit to the Miccosukee Indian Village.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Miccosukee Indian Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miccosukee Indian Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Miccosukee Indian Village to your Saves list